We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fly Fishing Experience”

Rutland Water Fly Fishing - Day Trips
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Oakham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fly Fishing on Rutland Water. Learn to fly fish. Tuition, guided fly fishing, fishing trips, groups, corporate team events, gift vouchers. Probably the best stillwater trout fishing in the UK.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Fly Fishing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent two afternoons on guided fly fishing tours on Rutland Water with one of Rob's guides. We had one experienced fisherman and one complete novice, and both were well accommodated. Provided guide was most excellent and really kept us in the best spots for near constant fishing action for the vast majority of both days. Trout caught were both numerous and fairly sizeable, really an excellent fly fishing experience and highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ace day out all round.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was my first proper attempt at fly fishing. The instruction was top notch. Rob was the perfect host. The experience was made by staying in the lodge prior to the day fishing. A hearty breakfast, relaxed but very informative briefing, lunch and then off on the lake. Rob is an informed and experienced guide to get to the best areas. Slept well that night. Faultless.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great first experience of fly fishing. The morning spent learning about the sport and how to cast was very interesting and taught really well by Rob. This was followed by an afternoon's fishing on the lake, catching some great trout in a superb location. Many thanks to Rob for a top day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

wonderful setting superb teacher vast knowledge of the subject nothing to much trouble all done with great attention to detail and made easy to grasp and understand for a complete novice like my self the fishing tackle placed at our disposal was first class
rob is a man who is great fun to be with and has a unique way to make you feel relaxed and confident while he is teaching you new skills and yes once out on the water we caught some good sized trout all in all it was a marvellous day out
many thanks rob top man
roger guppy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandrob, Owner at Rutland Water Fly Fishing - Day Trips, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your super review. It's a great pleasure to introduce people to fly fishing and when it involves super people, as is normally the case as I seem to get really good guests coming to learn fly fishing, then it's even more of a pleasure. I thank you for your great company, and jokes! also. Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for novices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I knew nothing about fly fishing before coming here but that really didn't matter in the slightest. Rob was fantastic and arranged everything for us, equipment, permits boat hire etc. We spent a couple of days on the water with one of his best guides, Cameron, and had an absolutely brilliant time. I’ll definitely be back for more!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adjawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rutland Water Fly Fishing - Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Rutland Water Fly Fishing - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing