We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Oakham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Delicious and creative cuisine with friendly service in a unique character building
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had eaten at The Barn on a number of occasions and enjoyed the meals and service, so we decided to hold our wedding reception there on the 21 June. From the first meeting through to the reception itself Karen and Neal understood the kind of event we wanted and did their very best to make sure it was so. They listened carefully to our requirements and communicated well. On the day they delivered a quality meal in a friendly and professional manner. It was just the right atmosphere for our wedding celebration all our guests enjoyed both the meal and the surroundings,
Would recommend highly for up to 30 people for similar occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen and neil h, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you and we wish you well in your new life together as a married couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed Lewis's birthday lunch. Was looking forward to it and was not disappointed.
The creme brulee to die for just the right proportion of heaven. I had a pork dish with apple and pears yum. Lewis of course loves fish. The service was excellent looking forward to the next meal. We now know where to go in oakham for an extra special meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen and neil h, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are pleased you had a good time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a little gem ! We had a lovely lunch last Sunday . Food was delicious beautifully presented good size portions . Service was excellent . Not tried the theme nights but will in the near future. If you are in Oakham this is the place to eat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen and neil h, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Attentive friendly service and the usual good food - this restaurant never lets us down whether a special meal, afternoon tea or just a quick bowl of soup. Popped in for lunch with my family and a close friend - they are always very accommodating if you wish to change things about especially if you have a picky 4 year old with you!!! Great home made chips - tasty soup and the desserts are a must!!!! They also do a great salad combo where you have the base and then you can customize it to your liking. Would recommend this over any of the other places in Oakham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeachyWaves30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen and neil h, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There are not many really good places to eat out in Oakham. This is traditional English food with has been lovingly prepared, good size portions and politely served. We enjoyed the selection which was sufficient for everyone in the group but not too much variety. The smoke salmon and prawns were delicious, we also had seafood chowder and pate. We could not fault the main courses too. The only negatives were the crudités had gone soft by the time we were served them at approx 8.40pm so must have been done well in advance, there were no cold bitters kept in the fridge and the upstairs lacked some atmosphere. All in all, good value and certainly worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen and neil h, Owner at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank very much. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing