We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 17:00 - 21:30
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing CQB Site

If you’ve never played Airsoft CQB before, trust me, try the Gaol. It challenges you in open combat... read more

Reviewed 13 April 2018
Andy C
,
Stevenage, United Kingdom
via mobile
Excellent site

This place is truly awesome, amazing staff, excellent games all very well run, and a top notch... read more

Reviewed 23 May 2017
tez_wogan
,
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
18
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prison charlotte airsoft marshalls pew cars
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

If you’ve never played Airsoft CQB before, trust me, try the Gaol. It challenges you in open combat skills along with intense indoor CQB. NO TREES, cars, vans and security fences with 3 large buildings and two with upper floors. The host is great chap along with very good Marshall’s that don’t discriminate against newbies. Non of the if your not a regular it’s your fault. Been a few times, always worth the drive. Burgers are defiantly worth the return.

1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Booked a private day for my stag do... ended up being about 34 of us in total. First time for me at this site, I can't begin to say how good it was. The games are well thought out and the variety of indoor outdoor is perfect. I even loved the two stag games we played at the end of the day, so much fun even for me as the stag!!! The marshalls are fair and approachable, even the lamb burger at lunch was good. Would definitely do it again. I would highly recommend a private day if u can as I've heard it's so popular that On an open day there are hundreds of people there but I can see why!! Well run awesome site. Well done guys and thank you for a great day.

Thank martinmL351QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This place is truly awesome, amazing staff, excellent games all very well run, and a top notch kitchen to top it all off, well worth a visit

Thank tez_wogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Public Relations Manager at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and glad its been a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

This place is just awesome, I've bounced around from site to site in the midlands and consider this one home, an absolute joy to play at. Justin and Charlotte run the site really well and the marshalls are a great example of how the game should be played and monitored, Justin frequently comes up with new games and scenarios to keep things fresh and interesting, or sometimes just to punish the regulars.

Lunch is provided, cooked by Charlotte's own fair hand and is always good.

It's Airsoft in a prison, what more do I have to say, get booked in and get your pew pew on.

Thank Bigduley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Public Relations Manager at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your Pew-Pew Review! Its all about the people behind the business and the excellent support from marshals and indeed the players that make it happen. Delighted to hear such positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Where do I start?

This was my first visit to the Gaol so expectations were high, and they did not disappoint! Owners and Marshall's were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, and were always on hand to help with any questions we had.

The site shop was adequately stocked with a variety of useful bits from batteries to ammo and sustenance to keep you going and all at very reasonable prices.

The site itself was a lot bigger than expected and due to its mix of outdoor and cqb play areas the games were varied and interesting, from ducking and diving between cars to getting up close and personal in corridors lined with rooms to the slightly creepy music piped through dark rooms the adrenalin was most definitely kept pumping!

Can recommend this site to new and experienced players alike, I know I'll be visiting again soon :)

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Public Relations Manager at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Thank you for your very positive feedback and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave the review. This really helps the site to grow and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Attended the Wednesday evening games many times, and it has been brilliant every time. Good location including plenty of parking, good facilities (toilets, on site shop, food and drinks, seating etc) the games are brilliant with a big variety of styles to play. The darkness really adds tension to the games and really gets the adrenaline going. It's a unique site that should be on everyone's list to visit.

Thank liam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Public Relations Manager at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Hi Liam and thank you for taking the time to review The Gaol. We're always delighted to receive and respond to feedback (especially when its positive!) so keep us in the loop and let us know if ever we can be of assistance. Otherwise, keep on enjoying it!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Our team has played at the Gaol for a couple of years now, We can safely say it's our home.

The layout of the Gaol plays into various genre's of airsoft, from CQB to Urban. One minute you're outside in the bright sunshine 'ducking and diving' behind cars and other obstacles to being emerged in complete darkness reaching for your torch.

The games are usually fast paced and up close. Their is a good buzz here; Justin,Charlotte and the marshals are friendly and always helpful. The safe zones are big with an abundance of tables and chairs, there is plugs available if you need to charge batteries etc.
There is also a well stocked shop and an excellent canteen that serves hot/cold food & drink all day. Which adds to a great day of shooting. I cannot speak highly enough of this venue.

Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Asset Investment Manager, Rutland County Council at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gaol Chris. We're delighted to hear that you regularly enjoy the site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing site,it's a Prison,what more could you want,scary spooky sounds played out in the dark,got you covered,amazing day out or evening depending on your preference,amazing games with plenty of variety,fantastic marshals,The site owner is a lovely guy always ready to help out with any problems or even if the teams a short :) even though he looks scary he's a puppy dog really :) fantastic food prepared by his better half :),lovely people to play pew pew with get your game on and give it a go,if playing a weekend event pre book early sells out fast,you will see why!!!!

Thank Pete6696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Asset Investment Manager at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gaol Pete. I'm sure Justin in particular will be pleased to hear your kind words. Please keep the feedback and suggestions coming if you have any. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Been a few times now and I cannot bring a negative comment to mind! Great community in the area that attends, great games run their by the crew and always great food.

Thank Lonelywing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland_Jim, Asset Investment Manager at The Gaol Events, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review The Gaol and we are obviously thrilled that you only have good things to say about the site. Please let the team know if you have any suggestions for improvements. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Run by great people who always come up with new and fantastic game types to keep things fresh. Airsofts always a fun sport but shooting in an old prison makes it all the more fun. Oh and a flashlight can come in handy.

Thank Howard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews