We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our stunning stay in Autumn Cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Autumn Cottage - Luxury Thatched Cottage near Oakham / Uppingham, Rutland and Stamford.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn Cottage - Luxury Thatched Cottage near Oakham / Uppingham, Rutland and Stamford.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Autumn Cottage - Luxury Thatched Cottage near Oakham / Uppingham, Rutland and Stamford.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oakham, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kommer K
1 review
“Our stunning stay in Autumn Cottage!”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Through the years we have stayed in many a lovely home all over Europe, particularly in Britain. We rate Autumn Cottage as certainly one of the best. Of course the county of Rutland and the quaint village of Preston are to a certain extent responsible for this, but the house itself is in a league of its own. Well-furnished, very comfortable and in everything showing the owners' great sense of detail in making their guests happy.
Highly recommendable and we sure hope to return again in the not too far future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very difficult to say as everything was excellent.
Liked least: Nothing really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback & indeed for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas week stay at Autumn Cottage & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viajera d...
Puerto de la Cruz
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our british home, cosy, quiet and so many details”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It is difficult to write our sensations, as I am sure, there will be no availability for us after I do so, beiing then fully booked.
Great, very personal receivement, absolutely clean and every little detailed cared after.
Quiet location, all possible facilities available within the cottage which is an understatement in the definition. Very comfortable beds.
I have never had such a well equipped holiday home.
The caring of Martin of Julia left not one wish open. They have good suggestions of what to see and enjoy in the area.
A big thank you from a hotelier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal attention, and all the loving details
Liked least: Just one toilet for three persons
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Autumn Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & found the cottage so much to your satisfaction!
Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Wellow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Autumn Cottage....what a find!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a find!

Autumn Cottage provided all we would have hoped for and even more besides. Every little detail has been considered and catered for by Martin & Julia. This quintessential English Cottage is situated in the wonderful county of Rutland that has so much to offer for either a relaxed or active break. There are many delightful places to see on your doorstep and fabulous pubs to eat at as well.

We cannot recommend Autumn Cottage too highly and will certainly be back, book it now before the world finds out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: None of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you for looking after the cottage so well and indeed for taking the time to post such lovely feedback. It makes all the hard work worthwhile! Hope to welcome you back soon. Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allisoncs...
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you are looking for a traditional chocolate box cottage in a very peaceful location to totally relax and recharge your batteries then a Autumn cottage is the place for you.

It is decorated and equipped to a very high standard and if you need it autum cottage will have it.

We were made to feel most welcome on arrival with flowers, a welcome message and a home baked cake, which was amazing.

Any issues are quickly resolved and I would not hesitate to book this cottage again.

There is nothing really to do in the immediate vicinity of the cottage but that is part of its charm. Saying that we spent a week and had no trouble finding amazing things to do and places to eat every day within a short drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind feedback. As you say, Preston old village is a sleepy haven. A short walk or hiking over the fields & footpaths are the only real activity for the village itself.
Hope to see you again before too long. Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real find, beautiful ' chocolate box' thatched cottage in idyllic village setting”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here with my son and friend for a long weekend. The cottage is dreamy. One of our teenagers actually said he was really going to miss the place after only the first couple of nights. It has been beautifully finished and decorated inside and out and owners Martin and Julia have it well stocked with quality everyday essentials. A real find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments & taking the time to post a review. Delighted that our first guests at Autumn Cottage were extremely happy ones! Autumn Cottage is the closest of our 3 thatched holiday lets to Rutland Sailing Club so we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Hope the boys' competition went well.
Warmest regards, Martin & Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BundH K
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Entspannung
Liked least: Abreise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing