We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not everything is great - AVOID Room 23”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Reviewed 1 April 2009

I stay regularly at this hotel - I have previously written about it in quite glowing terms. Maybe this was a one-off. Time will tell. Anyway, checked in around midnight and in room 23. Oh dear. Room was a bit like a bad day at MFI. Furniture was a mixed bag of non matching furniture. Worse was to come - the bed was very low and on closer examination it was a "temporary" bed which could be lifted up into the wall. Not only was it low it was also VERY uncomfortable with wooden lathes supporting a tired mattress.. Tried it out, went back to reception - no one there. Rang - no answer. After 20 minutes I gave up and endured a poor nights sleep with my feet over the edge ( bed too short). Certainly the worst night sleep I have had in many years. On check-out I told rec eption to which I got "oh dear". £89.00 - too much. Would I go back - maybe, just maybe. Can't risk a night without sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whittimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2008

I stayed here on the way down to a wedding in Aylesbury, travelling from Glasgow, so after a long journey a good hotel was what we needed.

I thought this Holiday Inn was nice. We spent a couple of hours in the bar in the evening, staff were friendly, seating area was nice. Breakfast good too. No problems at all.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights and I have got to say that this is one of the better hotels in milton keynes and I have stayed at most of them!
It is in an almost rural position and so lots of peace and quiet, also the hotel has a fantastic courtyard which was nice to sit and relax with a drink at the end of a hard day.
Great service and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, and the food is great.
The road works on junction 14 can make your journey into MK a little slow but its worth it and besides once this work has finished at the end of July it will become a breeze!!

Thank you for a great stay and I will be back........

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank charlie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLKLR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2008

Thank you for your comments they are very pleasing to read. We endeavour to meet all of our guests needs at all times. The roadworks at the hotel will indeed soon be completed and this will enable easier access to and from the hotel and onto the M1.
Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
David Jones, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

I booked in here for a Friday night so that we had a good head start up the M1 the next morning for a wedding. We'd seen the hotel from the outside previously and thought it looked quite nice, so booked in for £55 for the room.
When we arrived, the place was deserted - so much so that we wondered if it was open! But the chap on check-in desk was very pleasant, as was the barman who found us some food.
Apparently the hotel was empty because it's full of businessmen during the week and wedding parties on a Saturday, but Friday nights are a bit of a no-mans' land.
The only criticism was that the bathroom looked a bit tired with mouldy sealant (seems to be the same at every Holiday Inn throughout the world!) and that the duvet was very thin. But overall it was great for the money and so much nicer than the Travelodge alternative!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stolengrapefruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Myself and some friends had a reunion here over the New Year holiday. We couldn't have wished to be anywhere else. The food was fab, people fantastic, staff exemplary (particularly Alex), entertainment brilliant and it will be a New Years Eve I shall remember for a very long time. Thank you for making our stay such a memorable one. :-)

Wendy

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

I stayed the weekend of the 7th September 2007. We arrived at around 8pm on the friday night to discover the restaurant closed due to a wedding party taking place. However we had a really nice meal in the bar.

We stayed in the Enigma Suite. A super room but it was very hot and the air con was next to useless. So we opened a window. Wrong....we were next to the road and the road this hotel is situated on is very busy....all night. The bed was fantastic.

On the saturday night we got back again to discover the restaurant closed again. I wasn't happy but the manager arranged for room service at no extra charge and i have to say the food was exceptionally good. We really enjoyed it.

The only other issue was the shower. To be honest it did struggle somewhat and they really need to get a decent pump installed.

Check out was good and the reception staff where first class.

Remeber to check to see if there is a wedding party on as this hotel is not close to anything...and set in the countryside.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank topfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 nights during August 2007.

The Hotel was clean, quiet and the room was well appointed.

The property has well maintained grounds and a lovely court yard situated within its centre which is an ideal place for having a light refreshment.

It is however situated in a semi rural location, Milton Keynes is only a short drive away and has numerous restaurants if you don't want to partake in the Hotels food.

The breakfast was just above average, maybe because the hotel was quiet, the choice of items was less than other Holiday Inn properties. We ate twice from the bar menu, the portions were fine and the quality was above average for hotel food.

If your looking for somewhere to stop off whilst travelling the M1or for visiting local attractions (we covered Woburn Abbey, Bletchley Park and Gulliver's Land) this hotel is ideal.

If I was in the area again would I stay here again? Certainly would.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Officerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Pagnell
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
3.1 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#7 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel
4.8 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14

Address: Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct Holiday Inn 14 London Road, Milton Keynes MK16 0AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Newport Pagnell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Price Range: £49 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes-East M1, Jct. 14 hotel is situated in a rural location with views over open countryside and within easy reach of the M1 and central Milton Keynes. Blending Georgian elegance with modern comfort the Holiday Inn Milton Keynes - East M1, Jct. 14 provides relaxed surroundings for business or pleasure. The ideal meeting location for the M1 corridor, the hotel is located just 1/2 mile from the M1 on the A509 towards Newport Pagnell. Meet with friends or colleagues in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge bar. New for 2008, outdoor area ideal for event days, teambuilding activities including motorised events and company fun days. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes - East M1, Jct.14 has long been established as a premier wedding. A DREAM WEDDING FOR A DREAM PRICE…2012. Our wedding package includes all the following features...• Dedicated wedding coordinator to help you every step of the way• your very own personalised website to share information with your guests• The services of our master of ceremonies• Arrival drinks and a 3 course wedding breakfast for 40 guests• Wine to compliment your chosen meal• Sparkling wine for the toast• Table linen, cake stand and knife hire• Evening buffet for 70 guests• Resident DJ• A complimentary bedroom the night prior, for either the bride or groom• Complimentary overnight accommodation for the happy couple • Special overnight rates for your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes East - M1 Jct 14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes - East m1, Jct. 14 Hotel Milton Keynes
Holiday Inn Newport Pagnell
Newport Pagnell Holiday Inn
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing