We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad if you're looking to stay central”
Review of Swan Revived Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swan Revived Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad if you're looking to stay central”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked in for overnight stay when visiting friends for a night out in Newport Pagnall. Clean it was and some of the staff were very polite. Large room was still small and third bed was an airbed on legs. If you want a little bit more I would suggest the Holiday Inn a short drive away. It served its purpose and loved the building. Missed breakfast so cannot comment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front of the building and not the newer extension at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    68
    62
    14
    16
See reviews for
45
50
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The Swan hosted our wedding ceremony, meal and evening celebration in June. The food was great, venue charming and full of character but the real stars were the staff. They made everything go brilliantly and with no hassle, and made our day excellent. All guests reported great service and the rooms were good. I love the history and atmosphere of the place and can't wait to go back to the restaurant. Definitely recommend, even if you're not getting married.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have found myself at Swan Revived twice now for business meetings nearby. I admit that we ended up there the first time because other hotels were fully booked. It is old, the amenities are a bit dated, and it has a peculiar design not atypical of hotels built over one hundred years ago. But it is also charming, comfortable and has a pleasant front desk staff. Breakfast, which is included in the room fee, is very good, although the service is somewhat distant. And free internet with decent bandwidth is also a plus. Finally, the hotel is connected to a pub with a nice range of ales. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is only accessible by stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotoole01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We celebrated my Mother's 90th birthday with an afternoon buffet party at the hotel. The room was well laid out with excellent table linen, tables and chairs as well as the buffet table. We could have booked a separate bar in the room but declined.
The buffet food was excellent, far better than it had actually looked on the list we had selected it from and there was plenty provided.
Best of all were the staff (and I am sure the kitchen team too) who were brilliant. There were two function staff and they could not have been more helpful especially as a number of the guests were elderly and had mobility problems.
We would certainly use this hotel again for a function; as we live locally we would not need to stay but would still recommend it happily to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K3ntishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We based ourselves at the Swan Revived, Newport Pagnell for the second time during an extended tour of the region. There is plenty to see outside Milton Keynes.
This is in our opinion a great hotel to stay in. Plenty of parking. We had very nice meals both in the Restaurant and in the Lounge. The service provided by the staff we encountered was first class and without exception they are an extremly friendly bunch.

Room Tip: Refurbished second floor rooms just as good as the first floor rooms recommended last time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

First time visit we meet friends for Sunday lunch we found the menu good but limited and the service was first class.the starters were good and well cooked the pie it had was taste gravy was good texture and veg was also good
The Resturant is one. I shall go back to

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Mattress had lumps and springs sticking in my back, ridges along the mattress making my night very uncomfortable. I have not written many reviews, ones I have are positive but I felt I needed to write this review for other people thinking about staying here (which I will never again). Staff did not really care when I advised them of this on check out which topped it off. So if you ever need to stay in Newport Pagnell or Milton Keynes DO NOT stay here if you want a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: do not choose room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Illson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport Pagnell hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Pagnell
2.1 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
349 reviews
3.9 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.2 mi away
Novotel Milton Keynes
Novotel Milton Keynes
#9 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Milton Keynes
Ramada Milton Keynes
#3 of 5 in Newport Pagnell
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Revived Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Revived Hotel

Property: Swan Revived Hotel
Address: 33 High Street, Milton Keynes MK16 8AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Newport Pagnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newport Pagnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Revived Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Revived Hotel is a former Coaching Inn dating back to the 15th century, situated in the heart of the quaint Buckinghamshire town of Newport Pagnell; just two miles from junction 14 of the M1and 5 miles from central Milton Keynes. The Swan Revived has 40 bedrooms all of which are en-suite and include tea & coffee-making facilities, direct-dial telephone, free broadband access and satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swan Revived Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Revived Newport Pagnell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing