We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About what we expected no more no less”
Review of The Claremont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Claremont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We are speaking as very experienced bed and breakfasters! We normally stay at higher rated establishments than this ,but its all relevant when we consider price, for the price this one was ok on theplus side it was very clean, on the minus side beds were a bit uncomfy
the cheaper thin spring type, memory foam or pocket springs would have been better,
There was no shampoo provided and a few biscuits would have been nice, a small outlay to be more customer focussed , the towels were very good quality , for the price it is good value , and its one of the better ones we have stayed at in sea side resorts,it was certainly very clean, brekkas was about what you would expect, for a few days break though it would fit the bill its all about opinion and others seem to rave about this establishment so its ach to their own, in summary its not bad its not great

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Hello Letitrock
Thank you for your review.
We have tried unsuccessfully to contact you via Trip Advisor as your name is not clear and we wanted to check when you stayed and in which room.
Your comments were fair and balanced although we were sad that you found the beds not to your liking as they are all pocket sprung. In fact we receive many compliments as to their comfort.
It is a pleasure to know that you found us to be one of the better B & B’s you have visited at the sea side especially as you say you usually stay in higher rated establishments.
We have been at The Claremont for over eleven years now and agree that customer focus is our main priority.
We focus on a warm, friendly welcome. Clean, comfortable, well maintained rooms and serve a breakfast with high quality ingredients including locally sourced and produced bacon and sausage and fresh free range eggs.
You are correct we do not provide shampoo. Our experience tells us that the majority of guests prefer to bring their own toiletries specific to their choice and not the basic quality that is found in other B & B’s.
Thank you for your positive comments on our cleanliness, towels and good value

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for The Claremont
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

I use this B&B a lot when in the area on business and frankly it is by far the best I have used - I much prefer it to the many faceless impersonal hotels in the area. Alison and Ray are great hosts, the rooms are warm and very comfortable and its also nice and quiet. Superbly located for the beach, the prom and both St Annes and Lytham. I would highly recommend Jacks Bistro in St Annes - a great little find, tremendous food and good value. TF

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Trevor
Ray & I sincerely thank you for finding time, especially when you are on holiday from work to right such lovely things about our B & B.
Maybe when you return we can persuade you to try some of the other excellent restaurants that St Annes has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A very good 4 nights sleep & good breakfasts very clean would/will stay again away from the noisey night life up the road ( blackpool) but near to all attractions by frequent public transport till very late ... we vists this area approx. every 5 years best so far. We hope they will still be herewhen we are in area again ,guest house owners,can and do give you personal attention that the bigger hotels cannot

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerryand her w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hello Linda & Gerry
Just to say many thanks for your very complimentary feedback on your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure knowing our guests have enjoyed their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again but, hope it won't be as long as five years.
Best Wishes
Alison & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We only live 30 miles or so from St Annes so don't go there for holidays, but we do occasionally find ourselves in need to stay overnight in the area. We tried the Claremont and have been back several times since. Alison gives a warm welcome to her guests, the rooms are excellent - spotlessly clean and comfortable, with good sized bathrooms.

Breakfasts with a choice of juices, cereals etc, followed by Ray's cooked breakfast set you up for the day.

Hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Glenys
Many thanks for your lovely comments.
Having checked back on our records you have been staying with us since 2008!
How quickly time flies and we hope it's not too long before we welcome you both again.
Cheers
Alison & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stopped here last night (28/7/12) in the family room, my in-laws were stopping also, we had 3 rooms in total. Its just as the recent reviews are saying.
Ample safe and free parking on a very quite road, a very warm welcome upon arrival and a lovely clean, warm, modern room awaited us. Have to admit, the bed here was probably more comfy than my own! The whole place has a very content, relaxed and respectful atmosphere.A folder in your room is full of local interests and tips for places to do and things to see.
Breakfast was an absolute triumph, compliments to the chef, piping hot and very tasty, set us up nicely for getting soaked to the bone at the pitch-n-putt just down the street!
This was our first visit to Lytham St.Annes, it certainly wont be the last. Such a lovely, clean, quiet area with still plenty of shops and places to eat.

Thank you for a lovely stay, the whole family enjoyed it, and no doubt we`ll see you again soon!

Room Tip: Any room you get will be lovely
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carlislejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Debbie
We appreciate so much your lovely, kind comments about your recent visit to St Annes including your first stay with us.
We are so pleased that all your family were comfortable with their rooms and Ray is very happy to receive such glowing compliments on his breakfast.
We are so sorry you got wet at the ptich'n'putt, we hope you went on to watch the kite festival as the weather brightened up later in the day.
We look forward to welcoming you all when you next visit St Annes.
Many thanks again
Alison & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Claremont this past week and we believe we have discovered a St Anne's secret and a wonderful place to stay. The whole guest house is spotlessly clean - it showed up some hotels we've been in over the years - and the bedroom was a delight. All the furnishings were immaculate, the carpet looked as if it had been laid just before we arrived and it was a pleasure to go into the bathroom. We could think of nothing missing from the tea making tray - a particular pleasure was having enough pots of milk to make several cups of tea, which is not always the case - and the towels would not have been out of place at the Hilton!

Breakfast was really well cooked by Ray and Alison was a superb waitress. Everything appeared as if by magic, we could not possibly have gone off hungry on our day's activities. Both she and Ray welcomed us into their home as though we were invited guests not paying customers and we are in no doubt that our first and only choice of accommodation in St Anne's will always be the Claremont.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martinman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Well Ian & Joy we are blushing at your wonderful, kind comments following your recent stay with us. We do aim to please and are happy that your first visit was such a success.
We hope to welcome you again soon when you next come to explore more of St Annes and the area. Many thanks Alison & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our family of three have stayed at the Claremont now three times, every time we stay we find the family room to be spotless. The bathroom looks like new and there are always plenty of fluffy towels on the beds. We always look forward to breakfast in the morning as we can pretty much have what we feel like. Ray's poached eggs are delicious. Alison is always very chirpy and helpful. The family room is very reasonably priced considering that the place is clean comfortable and relaxed. We all come away feeling rested having enjoyed our stay.
Thanks Alison & Ray, see you again soon.
Mrs Sarah Candlin

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1mapfan, Owner at The Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Hello Sarah & family, many thanks for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to welcome you. We hope you enjoyed your swim on Sunday. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again, Alison & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont

Address: 1 Derbe Road | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £24 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE WIFI, BREAKFAST INCLUDED, En suite Shower rooms,FREE on street unrestricted parking. Direct bookings always for best availability with card or cash payment on arrival. Convenient for BAE systems,Aegon, Innenco, Serco, DWP & HP & AXA. Royal Lytham & St Anne's, Fairhaven, Green Drive & Old Links GOLF all nearby. We provide various options of en suite rooms with twins, doubles and singles available. Sorry no ground floor rooms. All rooms have towels, beverage trays, flat screen tv's and hairdryers. Ray freshly prepares your order for breakfast and Alison serves you at your own table in our bright, spacious dining room. Orders for breakfast are accepted from 7:00am. Business guests are pleased that this helps them to continue early with their work day. Whilst those staying for many other reasons can choose to place their orders up until 9:00am. Dining room also available afternoon and evening for consuming own food,takeaways etc. Plates & Cutlery provided. Nordic Walkers don't forget your Freedom Card, Alison can help you to book a leader and walks locally. For the benefit of deaf or hard of hearing guests we provide a text number which can be found on our web site. Alison completed Signature Level 2, a few years ago so is a little rusty with her BSL, but always welcomes the chance to put it into practise. St Annes & Lytham have an excellent range of restaurants and cafes to suit all tastes and budgets. We are always happy to help and advise where you choose to dine. Find "The Claremont Guest House" on Facebook & Twitter for more information of the many things that will tempt you to come for a visit. We are pleased to announce receiving a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor. A big Thank You to all previous guests for reviewing your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to our quiet Bed & Breakfast very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claremont Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing