We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howarth House
Nearby Hotels
St. Ives Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$119
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton Park Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sea Croft Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mode Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$131
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chadwick Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$81
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Prom Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lindum Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dalmeny Resort Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel - Lytham(Lytham St Anne's)
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
364
75
19
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
364
75
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomb blaura ashleybeautiful place to stayboutique hoteldressing roomlovely loungecomfortable bedgreat night's sleepbreakfast was delicioussingle roomfull englishfeel very welcomevisiting lythamground floorone night stayhigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Yet again what can we say another fabulous stay in this boutique hotel with such friendly & helpful staff.This time we stayed in annex with our own patio which was a bonus with the hot weather.We can't praise the staff & cleanliness of rooms enough.Thanks again Sue see you next year.Maureen & Billy

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

thankyou so much for your lovely review it was super to see you both again and were glad you enjoyed yourselves look forward to you coming again soon take care love sue & the gang xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I'm stopping here whilst working in the area and it works out brilliantly. Firstly I like some flexibility in terms of turning up late in the evening and moving dates from time to time- that's where the good service starts. Sue and staff are really in touch with their guests and do everything they can to make sure everything is as easy it can be.

I like my own space, familiar comfortable surroundings, great locations and a super brekky to start the day- and I enjoy all of them in spades at Howarth House. I'm a bit fed-up with the big chain hotels and like the home-from-home feel I get here. The individuality of the decor of the downstairs and each of the bedrooms is a refeshing blandness of most of the places I've stayed.

Also highly recommend the ApartHotel linked to the same owners in and around St Annes. I stopped in the 2-bedroom apartment and it was all of the above as a spacious, well-appointed accomodation.

Big loves to the staff and other guests of Howarth House for helping make my summer of 2013 a happy and productive time!

Room Tip: ask for one you've not stopped in to see what you find!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

thanks martin for your lovely review it is always a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to your next visit x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I booked the family room for my myself,wife and 2 kids. We stayed on Friday June 28th 2013.

The decor in the common areas is dated and showing signs of wear. The red carpet in the hallway and stairs is like something from the 1970's. Our room was really tiny with hardly and space for e.g a suitcase. The decor in the room was pleasant enough. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was clean and modern, however the electric shower was barely functional only producing a trickle of hot water.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

This is definitely not a boutique hotel, I would rate it as a very average B&B. Not worth the £110.00 a night we were charged.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndyGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

(BOUTIQUE HOTEL) FROM WIKAPEDIA boutique hotel is a term popularised in north america and united kingdom to describe intimate,usually luxurious or quirky hotel environments Typically boutique hotels are furnished in a themed ,stylish or aspirational manner Boutique hotels have typially been unique properties operated by individuals. Boutique hotels are always individual and therefore unlikely to be found amongst large chain hotel groups !! we have also just recently been voted by an international company the 3rd best BOUTIQUE hotel in the country. I would also like mention to you that my staff were very upset that you had left your children unsupervised to run amoke in the hotel for over an hour they managed to climb over the gate and let the dogs out into the dining area they were also found downstairs in my private living area and then caught jumping all over the tables in the lounge. May i suggest that next time you visit our area the larger chain hotels would be more suitable x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Once again we were really looked after and made to feel most welcome, if you enjoy a nice 'home from home' feeling then this is the place for you! high standard is still there with everything spotlessly clean, room service the best its the only place where we have stayed where not only the Tea/Coffee/Biscuits replenished daily but fresh bottled water as well.
Breakfast cooked to order and nice and hot. The train station is but a few minutes walk away, bus services to either Lytham or Blackpool every 10 mins. Miles if nice sandy beach and a lovely walk o the prom with plenty of seating for those who like to sit and watch the 'world go by'. St. Annes is one of the nicest places to stay, with plenty of places to eat out.

Room Tip: They have nice ground floor rooms with a shared private patio at the side. We have found the rooms we have stayed in to be nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will be back again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a group of golfers overnight playing 2 great local courses. Hospitality of proprietors excellent and I can see why this hotel gets very good reviews with high standard of cleanliness and care. If I may add one area that could enhance service: Lovely breakfast but setting out a small self service table for cereals, juice, coffee and tea would enable the kitchen team concentrate on dealing with the cooked breakfasts and toasts. This would speed things up but not detract from the personal service which is really very good. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferbillPrestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for your review and lovely comments, we do like the personal touch of table service for our guests and as the dining room is not overly large having a self service table would be more of a squeeze with guests all up and down helping themselves which is why we try to do it for you, I do hope you will visit us again when you are coming back to play golf, we realy enjoyed having you all to stay. thanks again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews