We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for one night last week in the single room. The hotel is in a great position right on the green and near the windmill. I was promised a partial sea view which this was not unless I shuffled into a tight corner behind the bed. It was a street view in anyones book apart from the hotels description. Although the room was adequate, it was very small and I found the dark old fashioned furniture quiet depressing. Very small bathroom which although it had a nice shower did not have a bath, which I prefer for a good soak when on holiday. I also missed breakfast as this finished at 9am which is very early for a Saturday. The pub itself is very nice with plenty of seating inside and outside on the patio. It is however very expensive. Nearly £4 for a pint of Old Peculiar and nearly £16 for burger, chips and Onion Rings. There was an extra £1 charge for toppings which I didn't realize. So cheese, bacon and black pudding toppings £3 extra. I had initially booked for 3 nights, but checked out after one and moved to St Annes.

Room Tip: Don' expect anything other than functional in the very small single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the queens head in one of the luxury rooms, on arrival we were shown a couple of rooms to choose from.our room was very nicely decorated and have a great dual aspect view.We liked the unusual drinks option and had pear drop vodka cocktail & ate in the pub and had a very nice Sunday dinner. After a very comfy night we had a great breakfast, all of the staff were very friendly and we are already planning a return visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sweetytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had our wedding anniversary lunch here last week.
Food and service fantastic.
Planning a reason to return.
The salmon platter was excellent. The surroundings relaxing , made better by the dogs that are clearly welcomed .
Could not have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hattielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in a superior room with a bay window overlooking the prom and a roll top bath in the room, it was idyllic. With a delicious pint of old peculiar from downstairs I watched the sunset. The staff were really nice and breakfast was fine. The food looked good as we walked through the bar but we had already booked for the wonderful Novello. We had a perfect break

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtdestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Despite the appalling weather we had a warm welcome at the Queens Hotel. The staff were all extremely helpful and very polite although I wish we had been told about the guest access door. We were given two key passes but did not realise that there was one for a side door and we ended up knocking on the pub door to be allowed in prior to the pub opening which was a little embarrassing!

There isn’t any parking but you can be lucky enough to park on the front or up the side street by the hotel depending what time of day it is. Public car park directly opposite though for £4.30 a day and this is refunded by the hotel at the end of your stay (just keep hold of your tickets) so no complaints there.

We had the family room which was really spacious for two of us but you need to know that it does not have a proper shower just an attachment over the bath which is fine for a couple of days. There isn’t any heating in there either so it was a little draughty.

Breakfast was a laid back affair and very enjoyable but the food on both evenings was excellent (we decided to dine in both nights due to the weather).

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and one that we will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We live locally and frequent the Queens on a regular basis, with family and on occasions with our dog. Agree with the feeding small dog from the table comment, that's not appropriate but otherwise, well behaved dogs (and owners) are part of the tapestry that makes this a welcoming pub, just like the inn at whitewell and many in the lakes. The food and service is always great and the only points we'd ask for is some more vegetarian options and a fresh menu as this one has been there for a few years now. We are sure the head chef would relish the chance of giving some fresh ideas a go.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedmonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you like excellent uncomplicated food and good beer this is the place to go. We have been here probably once a week for the last 12 months. We have never had a bad meal! Some reviewers have complained about the service - that has never been an issue - if the food takes a little bit longer - chill - have another beer! This is a great location and a must visit when you are in the area

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
955 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,020 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Hotel - Lytham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel - Lytham

Address: Central Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £75 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Hotel Lytham is a Victorian Grade ll listed building, situated right on the heart of Lytham Green with fantastic views over the Ribble estuary and windmill. We are located just 1 minute walk from the centre of Lytham where you will an array of vintage & boutique shops, cafes, restaurants, parks, Lytham Hall & market stalls. Lytham is perfect for short breaks, family holidays, romantic weekends and business trips alike. Within a few minutes drive of St. Anne’s, Fairhaven & Blackpool there is an abundance of activities and sites to see. Coastal and country walks are readily available as are sandy beaches. The Fylde coast boasts of 4 excellent and challenging golf courses including Royal Lytham, home to The Open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Queens Hotel - Lytham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Hotel - Lytham Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing