We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotlessly clean, sea view and bus ride from Blackpool”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carlton Hotel
england
Level Contributor
215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Spotlessly clean, sea view and bus ride from Blackpool”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Eight of us spent a night at the Carlton in November and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean with parking for several cars. Two rooms had a sea view while the third looked over what was a carehome car park I think.
The rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean but as the rooms are quite spacious they did get a bit chilly, meaning we needed to use the extra oil filled radiators on top of the wall mounted ones.
The hotel is well positioned, facing the sea, close to Toby Carvery and a short walk into the town.
Breakfast is served in the airy and bright basement and was served at 9am prompt - there didn't seem to be any choice in the time you got breakfast which is a bit odd but the food was nicely prepared. Would have been nice to see hash browns on the menu too (just a personal favourite of mine!!)
You can catch a bus into Blackpool (about 20 / 25 minute journey) from the main town area which is a ten minute walk from the hotel.
We bought £3.50 all day tickets from a newsagent (costs more if you buy on the bus), these allow you unlimited trips on certain local buses and trams. Just check before you buy as there seem to be different tickets and they can all only be used on certain buses and routes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
32
42
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is on the front, has some parking and is reasonably clean and comfortable. Bedroom nice and warm and cosy with all we needed, shower didnt work too good tho and had a bit of gunge at the bottom. The downside was the when we arrived the owner was out so the bar manager checked us in which was fine, however, I went down a couple of times to ask a couple of questions and there was no one about at all, until a bit later. Owner very pleasant lady who served the breakfast herself, which we felt had been pre-cooked, bacon was burnt, but good quality, no choice of egg - poached, served on a slice of toast which of course became soggy!! the cooked breakfast wasnt brill, but there was fresh juices, grapefruit and prunes, cereals plus toast and marmalade, coffee and tea in large flasks on the table for you to help yourself. No signs to the dining room, but plenty of other notices everywhere, so wondered why no sign to this, we found it however. All I can say was it served our purpose for a one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here, it was a pleasure. My sister-in-law was with us & she is disabled, so it was a Godsend that there was a lift. Both rooms were on the 1st floor with seaviews, rooms 7&8.
The rooms are very clean & spacious, the breakfast was delicious & ample. We found an excellent Chinese/Thai restaurant - The Zen not far away from the hotel. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms 7&8 on the 1st floor are superb with seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouserinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Fab clean and comfy room and shower room. Breakfast very tasty with lots of choice. Nice to see kids helping to serve breakfast. Hosts friendly and helpful.

Didn't dine in the cafe bar but very pleasant looking.

Great position across from cinema and Toby Carvery, and close to shops and cafes etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebearChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Carlton for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is in a great spot on the front overlooking the sea. It is very handy for a stroll along the prom and the pier. There is a pitch and putt, several amusements for children, a cinema and bowling alley plus swimming pool. There is a Toby carvery which also does breakfasts. We had quite a big room at the back with a double and single bed. There was a small bathroom with shower. A hair dryer was provided and a hospitality tray. The decor is a little dated but it didn't bother us. The owner and her son seemed very nice and friendly. The breakfast was served very promptly and was really enjoyable. There was a choice of cereals, grapefruit or prunes followed by full English and plenty of toast. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk into town, where there are several eating places. We ate at the Toby carvery the 1st night, and the Sandhills in town the 2nd night. The carvery was £5.99 per head and the meal at Sandhills was amazing value, 2 meals for £6.99 and 2 desserts for £2.99. We went to Blackpool zoo which was only a short drive away, they had some really unusual animals like aardvarks and anteaters. The cost was £15.50 for an adult and £13.50 for a senior. The beautiful weather made it a really pleasant stay in St Anne's, and we would definitely return to The Carlton, it was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra_case
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for one night a Saturday staff spot on friendly and helpful situated just ten easy walking minutes from the town centre. With ample cafe's shops and food serving pubs at reasonable prices. There is also a punch tavern directly opposite with a large outside seated area if the weather is kind. There is a regular bus service into Blackpool at at a cost of £2.30 pp each way about 20 mins as I have said the people are great the rooms are bright and airy just enough room for a comfy bed and storage just enough room for a small shower and wash basin with wc just enough tea and sugar etc for two cups. Breakfast was very fair with a good selection of cereals fruit and a 7 out of 10 for the full English. All in all a pleasant experience woul stay again and recommend the Carlton. There may be larger rooms here if you are of a large stature may be best to enquire on booking.

Room Tip: front rooms have a view of the sea but are also next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthWalesRigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

stayed at carlton Friday night Saturday night, lovely room, comfy beds, nice and clean.
good choice of cereals and fresh orange before grilled breakfast.
lovely people, like to wish Andrew good luck with, bright new conservatory bar

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennymottram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton commands the finest position on the South Promenade, an excellent view of the sea, rock gardens and pier. The hotel is in walking distance of the main shopping centre, bus routes and Ashton Gardens, and within easy reach of the four championship golf courses and bowling greens. It overlooks the miniature railway, pitch and putt course and putting greens. St. Annes is the perfect base for day trips to the many beautiful attractions the North West has to offer. We are a family owned and managed hotel, our main concern is for your relaxation and comfort, and to provide good home cooking and a pleasant stay in St. Annes. St. Annes is an attractive resort offering entertainment for all the family. Blackpool, with all its many attractions, is only a few minutes away but St. Annes retains a quieter charm in a restful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing