We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You couldn't ask for more !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gaydon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gaydon Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more !”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Spent one night at the Gaydon before heading out of Blackpool Airport. What a gem of a place situated on a quiet street just a few minutes walk from the sea. Rooms are comfortable with everything you need and are spotlessy clean. Sue and John have to be the most friendly and hospitable hosts you could meet making you feel instantly at home, they provide you with excellent service and great information about the local area. Breakfast was delicious and we would not hesitate in returning to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humblepie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
106
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed Monday evening for just one night and had a very nice stay. Our room was a very nice size and our son had an actual bed, not a cot, which was pleasing.
Susan and Jon were kind enough to make us breakfast earlier than the stated time due to my husbands early tee time, which was greatly appreciated!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvmeninkilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What more can I say when its already been said!
Excellent. excellent excellent!!
Sue and John are lovely,
The Hotel is very clean, breakfast is good with a vegie option, Location is just off the main drag.
The sea is about 2 miles out at times, however, the beach is lovey and very clean.
Lytham is worth a visit a nice little place with some quaint places to eat. If you are in to walking its a nice walk along the sea front about 3 miles each way but a bus is available.
All in all a lovely place in an excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: quiet location, close to front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainetrixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Gaydon. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Sue and John, you were great hosts and accommodated our need for an early breakfast without any bother. Great room, plenty of space and spotlessly clean. Will definitely return. Bit hot for the half marathon we were there to run but we got it done!

Room Tip: Room one was perfect for couples. Huge bed and loads of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon-Lucy230711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent the best part of 12 months staying here with work. John and Sue are fantastic hosts who go out of there way to make you feel extremely welcome. The rooms were always spotless and very comfortable, and breakfast was always delicious. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spacious clean room, John and Sue very welcoming hosts ,very much home from home , yum choccie buns in the room - a lovely added touch , tasty breakfast too
15 min walk to main st
Good value for money
Dawn & Carl

Room Tip: room1 has a huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad4staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just had a stay with Sue & Jon & would like to express our thanks for a warm friendly welcome & stay. We stayed in the family room along with our 2&1/2 year old grandson. We introduced ourselves & were from then on called by our names whenever we saw our hosts. Our grandson was warmly welcomed & all his needs catered for. Sue & Jon gave us lovely advice about where to eat & local events. To say they were helpful is not enough. The breakfast was DELICIOUS & cooked perfectly to my fussy needs!!! Also it was plentiful. There was nothing to fault the family room we had was spacious spotlessly clean & what a bathroom. So if you are looking for a first class B&B we highly recommend The Gaydon Hotel. But please don't pinch our spot when we book again. Many thanks Sue & Jon see you again soon Keep Smiling!!!

Room Tip: Spacious family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaydon Hotel

Property: The Gaydon Hotel
Address: 33 Derbe Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small yet perfectly formed this family run guest house is situated just 100 yards from the beach of St Anne's. If visiting for pleasure or business every guest is important to us and we try to cater for every need, with free Wi Fi and all modern facilities. The ideal base to enjoy the four championship golf courses within a two mile radius with Royal Lytham a short walk away.Good transport links into Blackpool and the surrounding area. Close to BAE systems with long term special rates.And can offer a room only basis if required Please note we do not allow dogs and never have done ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Gaydon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gaydon Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing