We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive and with a few small improvements would be perfect!”
Review of The Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Impressive and with a few small improvements would be perfect!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Wife and I stayed here for one night in June, went walking in the nearby countryside and wanted somewhere for the night. Its not cheap at £125 for the night (though thats not to say it is expensive either I actually think its fairly reasonable at that price) but seemed worth it.

The room itself was superb - right on the top floor and superbly finished. Whoever designed and specified it has obviously put a lot of thought into getting the details right and it shows. It was also spotlessly clean. Very comfy bed and superb bathroom / wetroom although the lack of a bathroom door whilst not an issue to us could be a little offputting for some.

Breakfast - cooked to order was superb in terms of taste and quantity and sat out in the garden enjoying it you felt as though you were in Greece rather than Lancashire (obviously it was one of those few warm days we had in early June!).

Service was superb although the requirement to be there at a specific time whilst understandable was a little unusual. My only real complaints - and complaints is perhaps too strong a word - is that wifi coverage on the top floor is quite poor so bear that in mind if this is important to you, I went down to the groundfloor with my laptop to get a signal and that the website advertises an extensive dvd library. After we'd been out for an evening meal we thought it might be nice to watch a film but alas the library was presumably locked away downstairs and unavailable to us.

That aside it was very good and for a night away it did the job pretty well and on that basis I would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4F6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
85
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is my wife's second visit here and my first. On her first visit she was somewhat disconcerted by the strange arrangements to be met at a very specific time to be let in and then left in the house apparently completely on her own but it was convenient for a family visit and well presented in a stylised "contemporary" manner so another family visit brought us to the area again and we booked a night's stay.

The same ritual of gaining entrance and its attendant feeling of unease left unaccompanied in the house and wondering what would happen should there be an emergency; we were at the top of the house with the front door the only means of escape.

But that pales into insignificance when my wife went to use the loo and found the unmistakably evidence of previous use. 2 phone calls and a protracted wait later someone arrived with cleaning paraphernalia, however to my wife's utter dismay the emergency cleaner demanded to be shown the offending marks as the "room had been thoroughly serviced by the cleaner".

All of this is totally at odds with the extensive breakfast menu cooked to order and the much heralded bucks fizz accompaniment, however the cliché first impression count mean that sorry Rooms you will not be on our repeat visit list.

Room Tip: Room 2, unlike room 1, does not have the benefit of a door on the bathroom which is a few steps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themaninroom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked this B & B for one night and after looking on their website it sounded amazing and were happy to pay £125 for the night. A bit above average but it looked superb.

There were definitely good points. Comfy bed with a great ceiling fan. Very welcoming people and made to feel comfortable. There were good points about the room - great shower and nice towels and really good TV. It was also very close to Lytham so in the evening we could just walk into the town in about 10 minutes.

There were only two sachets of coffee but the worst bit was that the shelf with the dusty kettle on was really quite dirty. Put me off a bit.

There was a lovely back garden and in the afternoon we thought it would be nice to sit there. The doors to access the garden were locked so that was totally out. It was a really pretty back garden so it was a shame. They enticed you with the garden on arrival and then locked the doors!!!!

The breakfast promised smoothies, loads of fruit and sumptuous food. It was a very pleasant breakfast and again the people were more than friendly. They gave us a glass of Bucks Fizz which was very nice and a menu for us to choose what we would like. We picked full english and chose not to have haggis and black pudding. We felt they could have provided a bit more than one rasher of bacon and one thin sausage (very small pot of baked beans, mushrooms, a small circle of fried bread and tomato.) - it was a very sparse plate. The rest was very nice but no sign of fruit or anything like sumptuous. Very pleasant though!

It is listed as one of the top 12 B & B's in England by The Times but I have to disagree. At £125 we did not feel it was worth the money.

Overall opinion Good place - just lacked something and definitely wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrogatetraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was our first visit to The Rooms and we loved it. We stayed in Room 1 on the 2nd Floor - no good if you struggle with stairs but well worth the climb. The room was very large and the open plan bathroom was at one end of the room. With 'his and hers' wash basins, a free standing bath big enough to float in, and heated floor this was real luxury. The shower was a partially enclosed unit in this area as well and readers will be pleased to know that the toilet area was enclosed by a sliding door! The bed was queen size and very comfortable with high quality sheets and pillows. We had to ask for polyester duvets and pillows as the standard is a more luxurious Goose down to which I am allergic. The lighting controls were somewhat technical but we fathomed it eventually. White Company toiletries were supplied but it was a little disappointing that there was no bubble bath for that gorgeous bath.
Breakfast was very good. We were planning to have Buck's Fizz to start but due to a little too much partying the night before, settled for a home made fruit smoothie. Delicious! There was an extensive menu of hot dishes for breakfast including the usual Full English but also Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine, in fact Eggs any way you wanted. Toast was served with home made conserves and the Lemon Cheese was to die for!
Whilst not the cheapest B&B (we paid £125) we thought it was reasonable value and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 on the second floor which was very quiet and despite being on quite a busy road, we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed here several times now and love it every time. Going up to Glasgow to see family, staying here on the way is a treat to ourselves and we are always made to feel so welcome.

Room wise, they are all lovely, but if you want something a little special, room one is really great with a big roll-top bath and huge rainfall shower.

Breakfast is a real highlight, with so much to choose from and wonderful hot plates cooked freshly for you. The weekend is really nice if you are not driving as there is champaign as well. For those who like things a little healthier, ask for one of the smoothies - they are so fresh and yummy you know straight away they are from the blender and not a bottle.

The Rooms is the best b&b I've ever stayed in and I'd recommend them to anyone. Although not the cheapest b&b in the area, they are wonderful and if you want to treat yourself, go and stay with Andy & Jackie, they are definitely more than worth it.

Room Tip: Room 1 is really special but if out of your budget, try room 2 as it is at the back and a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Well decorated and maintained. Friendly staff and comfortable stay. Breakfast was great too! Everything was as it should be and for the price I was very impressed. I would not hesitate to recommend that place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed here three times in total ! Generally food and accommodation is very good! Last time we stayed owner was away and we served breakfast by an employed middle aged lady and a teenage waitress. This hotel prides itself on breakfast menu and service! NOT THIS TIME!!!!!!!!!!!! Food was luke warm, eggs benedict, service was shocking rest was average! I am really disappointed as twice stayed b 4 and was great!! Price does not warrant 1nd class food and service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
766 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#10 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#13 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rooms

Property: The Rooms
Address: 35 Church Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rooms is boutique accomodation in the heart of Lytham. All of our rooms are individually designed to an extremely high spec, with flat screen TVs with built in DVD, iPod docking stations and DAB Radio. They are not only stylish, but each has a contemporary twist, you really will want to stay tucked up in the luxurious king size beds with Egyptian cotton bed linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rooms Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing