We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new County”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Lytham St Annes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We decided to try The County after being told it had been refurbished with a completely different menu. We were not disappointed. The interior is vey nicely set out with a modern look, without losing a friendly feel. Plenty of tables and room inside. A good selection of drinks including real ales. Friendly staff and a good, varied menu.The pizza's are especially good, and freshly made. We received a loyalty card at the bar which gave us 20% off the final bill. We will be definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianOgden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I revisited The County after enjoying a meal there around a year ago.
Since this time, the restaurant / bar area as well as the hotel has undergone a transformation, and definitely for the better.
I visited on a Friday night and the bar was busy with a great atmosphere, with a range of customers from groups of golfers, to couples, business men and people having a Friday evening drink all with smiles on there faces.
The new menu is strongly geared towards their new pizza oven, but this doesn't cause a problem, it was the best pizza id eaten in a long time!
Great for both couple wanting a night out or a family meal, id recommend visiting The County.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We've just had 3 nights at The County on a golf trip and it was the ideal choice of accommodation. There were 12 of us and we were looked after really well - the rooms were clean and well appointed, the staff were uber friendly and the hotel itself is ideally located. Great pizzas too! Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just a one night stay on business 21st Aug. Room on second floor - clean and freshly decorated; excellent bed / mattress - very comfortable. One minor gripe that shower was a bit weak, but otherwise everything was good. Freshly cooked breakfast (so much better than hotels who leave the hot stuff in warmer trays). Well located with access to shops, bars, restaurants. Pub itself seemed lively and friendly but not too noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were very impressed with our stay at the County Hotel. We chose this hotel becouse of the price to be quite honest we had read the reveiws and believed the hotel to be quite tired and dated. We got a very, very pleasant suprise, the whole place has had a referb. The rooms were very light and airy,all freshly decorated with new carpets throughout, new mattress and crisp white linen on the beds. Room service was second to none with an abundance of clean white towels daily, the place was spotless. The staff were very friendly and the location was great.The pub is a great place with good food at reasonable prices and a very friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be booking again next year and recomending to our 1940s reenactor friends.
Thank you all the staff at the County Hotel for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Have stayed at this accommodation on many occasions as we like to visit Lytham a couple of times a year. Chosen for its location and price it suited our needs, however the past couple of stays have progressively gave cause for concern, similar to previous reviews, shabby, dated, poor shower power, showers that leak or don't work, needing to change rooms etc. On our last visit in May we were told of the upcoming refurb and as we were rebooking for August for the 1940s weekend were delighted with this and eager to see the changes. Having just returned from our weekend ( on original price of £57 per night) here are my thoughts:
POSITIVES: The bar area has been extended and a pizza oven added, new menu, larger seating area which now includes the breakfast area, lovely decor. The stair/landing carpets have been replaced and walls repainted, bedroom doors painted and all bedrooms redecorated giving it a fresher feel. I can only comment on our room at the moment; newly painted room, clean bedding, new curtains, new shower fitted and clean towels. Room and bathroom looks and felt fresher.
Bed very large and lovely comfortable pillows.
NEGATIVES: Now I am a woman and I am amazed no-one else has picked up on this......the plug sockets, or rather the lack of them and the placement of them!! There is one that houses the kettle but you cannot charge up your phone using this as it is fitted so low on the wall that the charger plug won't fit, nor will the hair dryer. The only other socket available was next to the door, which, when drying/straightening your hair is nowhere near the mirror, I had to sit on the floor and guess what I was doing!! Is it so difficult to actually fit a socket next to the mirror, or vice versa?? Or remove the pointless canvas picture over the dressing table and put a mirror there instead?? Basics!! this wont be an issue for many people reading this but I come to Lytham to enjoy the evenings too. The showers still have no power and would take a month of Sundays to rinse your hair! One of the overhead spotlights was not working nor was the main light. I mentioned this to the manager when we went down to the bar, who seemed disinterested and said he will see what he can do.......which turned out to be nothing! There was some noise in the evening from the music downstairs and from people outside so ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper.
OVERALL: Enjoyable stay, comfortable and fun weekend. hotel in a great location and if they just concentrate on the finer details ie the sockets then it would be perfect and worth the price increase, which I am lead to believe Is going to be £70. For that I will be expecting the lights to work and a socket next to a mirror, or a mirror next o a socket!!

Room Tip: Our room was one of the larger apparently, room 114, nice room but music from the bar could be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
310 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
382 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Lytham St Annes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Lytham St Annes

Address: 1 Church Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5LH, England (Formerly The County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £69 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Lytham St Annes 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a complete refurbishment of all our bedrooms in September 2016 we now have a complete new experience for our guests. Our rooms have been transformed with lovely muted purple and cream painted walls, complemented by artwork depicting the local area. And you're guaranteed a great night's sleep when you snuggle down in bed with the quality Hypnos 1000 pocket spring mattress with topper. When it comes to eating, you won't have to go far as our Pizza Kitchen & Bar is the perfect place to sit back and relax and enjoy our signature handmade stone baked pizzas, freshly prepared every day from scratch and topped with global flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Lytham St Annes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Lytham St Annes Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing