We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end break”
Review of Cumbria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumbria Hotel
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“week end break”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel may not be on the front at St Anns but i have found this to an advantage. Parking was free and easy to find right outside the hotel. i could have parked on the hotel car park as there was space but decided to park just on the road outside and found it to be safe and secure.
Nothing has been a problem or to much trouble at the hotel, Diane the owner in particular has been so helpful even down to changing a light bulb at an unsocial hour this was not an issue.
My wife and i are on an healthy eating program and specified porridge and fresh fruit before we booked and we have not been disappointed our breakfast has been excellent, we would like to thank Diane and Doug for making our stay very special. We will be coming back and will be recommending the Cumbria Hotel to all our friends.
The Hotel is spotless, quiet, a real hidden gem which you need to find and use as you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Top floor is like a whole apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your comments - feedback especially good is extremely important to us, especially in this current climate. We pride ourselves in trying to accomodate all our guest special requirements and hope to see you again at the Cumbria Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Myself and several work colleagues stayed here for four months while working for the Open Golf 2012. My wife and 6 month old son also came and stayed on several occasions. The rooms are always clean and well kept, good wifi coverage was a bonus for my skype calls back home. Breakfasts were very good and with a varied choice including fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, fresh orange, tea and filtered coffee. Just ask a day in advance if you would prefer something different other than the Full English for a hot breakfast, you really do get looked after here. Both Doug and Diane were great hosts, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. We can't thank them enough for making their hotel a real home away from home for us from day one right to the end of our stay. Recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you. for your kind praise it's always good to get feedback from all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We've been coming up to Lytham St Anne's regularly for the last few years. We weren't able to get into the place we normally stay so we googled and found the Cumbria.

It's a nice little place and whilst it's a little dated it was clean and we were made to feel very welcome.

We both love our full english and we were not disappointed. It was freshly cooked, was tasty and - most importantly, hot!

Great views from our room - we were in room 4. Great night's sleep - snuggly & warm in our bed. Very comfy!

Another thing we really liked was we were able to come & go as we please - there was no 'doors locked at 10.00pm', nonsense.

When we come back in a couple of months we're going to try the Cumbria again.

Thanks for making us feel welcome and being great hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which had a sea view. We didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyJugs1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon Regards Diane & Dougie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The woman claiming to be Popeye and olive are the hostess twin sister bugging up the place. The place in general is crap it's small with only 6 rooms and the host wasn't very friendly I came down all but 5 minutes late for breakfast and the host said I couldn't have a hot breakfast because I was late not that I wanted one anyway. Worst nights sleep I've ever had mattress was lumpy and springy spider webs in the corner of the rooms and crumbs on the floor dirty place hated every minute of my stay will not be returning

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daytripper150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
All feedback both Positive and Negative is important to us. However this person has NEVER stayed at our Hotel. In this current climate, these personal comments can destroy small businesses. For aprox 20 more reviews, regarding our business, please look on laterooms.com, were you are unable to write review's about a business, unless you have booked and stayed. All customers are welcome to view our rooms before payment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Bedroom was a good standard, they had
memory foam mattress,
flat screen television,
tea and coffee tray
adequate bathroom facilities,
also a good choice at breakfast, i like the individual cereal boxes, much fresher and the owner Doug makes lovely poached eggs, nothing was too much trouble.

I have stayed at lots of hotels where some don't have these basic requirements,
The Cumbria offers free wifi, which i didn't require because i have my own modem.

Dougie offered to Iron and launder my shirts for me when i realised i left some of my shirts at home. I completely felt i was home from home,
I met Diane his wife she told me they had been in the business for years and you could tell they knew their stuff.
I will be back and thank you for making my stay pleasurable

Room Tip: i liked room 3 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PopeyeOlive67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Couldn't ask for any thing more.

The Cumbria hotel was recommended to us by friends of mine who travel all the way up from Southampton to stay here when visiting Blackpool and have done so for several years now.
The hotel had a warm relaxing friendly atmosphere; the room itself was clean and inviting.
Don't know if it was the fresh sea air breeze coming through the window but i had the best nights sleep in ages, if I could I’d bottle this up, sell it and make a fortune.

My young lady and myself stayed Friday evening through to the Monday, bed breakfast and evening meals included to our delight and couldn't fault the food one bit.
Only a stones throw from the town centre, loads of familiar shops for the girlie, oh and yes J.D Wetherspoons, say no more.

Okay it had to be the wettest May on record but who cares if we wanted glorious sunshine we'd have gone to Tenerife but our budgets wouldn't stretch that far so we were made up when we found this hotel has rooms available.

Have spoke to Doug the manager recently as I’m thinking booking in for the Open
Championship in 2012 and may be the Walker Cup in 2015 at Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club, the things us golfers have just got to do, alas.
Big thanks to Doug and Diane for a wonderful Bank holiday week-end, cheers.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best views are at the front of the hotel, but I'm no curtain twitcher more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScouseSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Well looked after and very pleasant, definitely will come again,see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsajerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.0 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ashton Park Hotel
The Ashton Park Hotel
#13 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
983 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ad Astra Guesthouse
Ad Astra Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Lytham St Anne's
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Hotel

Property: Cumbria Hotel
Address: 41 Derbe Road | Lytham St Annes, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run Guest House offering excellent value for money. All rooms en-suite some with seaviews, free forecourt parking available, free WI-FI, Tea and coffee making facilities, Hairdryers, flat screen digital television some with DVD players. Memory foam mattresses. Guests' lounge with honesty BAR and freeview TV. Families are welcome. We are open ALL YEAR. Ten minutes stroll to the town centre with various shops, restaurants, bars and cafes. All four championship GOLF courses are in the local vicinity with ROYAL LYTHAM 5 minutes and OLD LINKS less than 10 minutes stroll away. Close to BAE systems, DWP, IBM, AEG, AXA, NS&I Blackpool Airport 1.9 miles. Blackpool 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumbria Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing