We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST B&B EXPERIENCE”
Review of Cumbria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumbria Hotel
Reviewed 10 February 2014

good and courteous service, the rooms are clean and spacious, clean beddings, very close to sea front, shops and main road. Has secure parking and best of all good value for money. i visit blackpool often for work and always stay here since last year.

Room Tip: must stay here with family, if am in blackpool for a holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

A very warm welome received and a first class breakfast with plenty of choice of cereals fruit & yogurts.. The room was properly cleaned every day and the lounge very comfortable. For those who prefer the more individual attention of a small hotel I would highly recommend the Cumbria.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cairneyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

fantastic weekend away,the bedrooms was clean with everything we needed with lovely sea view,made to feel welcome and great breakfast loved the fact its so near the beach and short walk to the town,thank you for a great weekend away we are already looking for another weekend away at the cumbria hotel

Room Tip: family room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinelumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you. for your kind praise it's always good to get feedback from all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was glad I only stayed here for one night, we didn't get a nice welcome and if anything felt like an inconvenience to the owner. The room was basic, but we expected that because it was a cheaper rate. It was well fitted with plasma tv, tea making facilities with a good supply of tea and coffee etc. The bed was quite firm and the room cold, although there were heaters we could use to warm the place up. The ensuite was small and basic, the toilet had a plastic cistern casing that looked like it was going to fall apart with every flush. There was a good variety of cereals for breakfast, with fruit salad, but the let down was the luke warm coffee and the bacon, which I suspect had been microwaved, because it neither looked or smelt like bacon. Wouldn't stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your comments; they are appreciated as constructive criticism is extremely important to us as it helps us to continually improve our business.

On arrival we inform our guests what time breakfast is served, from and till, for their information and we ask what time approximately guests would like to be served Breakfast. This is only an aprox time. We do this for several reasons it allows guests who would like breakfast a little earlier to request this, also so we can offer great service, as we freshly cook all our English Breakfasts to order. We have NEVER served our premium thick, back bacon in the microwave. All our food prepared at breakfast is grilled except the eggs & baked beans.

Regarding the fresh percolated ground coffee in the restaurant we apologise if you did not find the coffee hot enough. We can only presume earlier guests had not replaced it properly on the hotplate thus allowing it to cool. If you had mentioned it to us at the time, it would have allowed us the opportunity to have organised a fresh pot for you.

We are sorry on this occasion we didn't live up to our excellent reputation.
Thank you again for your feedback and we would like to sincerely apologize once again for all the inconvenience caused and that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Cumbria Hotel.

Doug & Diane Blair
Resident Proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were greeted by a warm welcome from Diane. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and we even had a view of the beach. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of fruit, cereal and cooked. I requested a vegetarian breakfast which was extremely well cooked and presented. we all thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at the Cumbria hotel. Thank you Diane and Doug.

Room Tip: Dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funtimegirldance, Owner at Cumbria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you. for your kind praise it's always good to get feedback from all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Dianne was helpful and nothing was too Much trouble, the breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice with fresh fruit and cereal and a full English breakfast on offer. The location of the hotel was ideal with the beach just at the bottom of the street and the town was only a 5 minute walk with plenty of bars and restaurants . We will b definitely be returning to the Cumbria hotel again .Thanks dianne gary&julie room 7

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

lovely rooms(spotless). had evening meals all week, excellent choice of menus, beautiful food, never seen joan eat so much on holiday, and well presented. beds perfect. simply a pleasure staying there. would highly recommend to anyone we know if they asked us for a place to stay in that location. 10 out of 10 from us.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 1 & 2 so can only say these rooms were ideal for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43tonysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.0 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ashton Park Hotel
The Ashton Park Hotel
#15 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ad Astra Guesthouse
Ad Astra Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Lytham St Anne's
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Lytham St Annes
Travelodge Lytham St Annes
#8 of 19 in Lytham St Anne's
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Annes Beach Apartments
St Annes Beach Apartments
#1 of 7 in Lytham St Anne's
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Hotel

Address: 41 Derbe Road | Lytham St Annes, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £29 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run Guest House offering excellent value for money. All rooms en-suite some with seaviews, free forecourt parking available, free WI-FI, Tea and coffee making facilities, Hairdryers, flat screen digital television some with DVD players. Memory foam mattresses. Guests' lounge with honesty BAR and freeview TV. Families are welcome. We are open ALL YEAR. Ten minutes stroll to the town centre with various shops, restaurants, bars and cafes. All four championship GOLF courses are in the local vicinity with ROYAL LYTHAM 5 minutes and OLD LINKS less than 10 minutes stroll away. Close to BAE systems, DWP, IBM, AEG, AXA, NS&I Blackpool Airport 1.9 miles. Blackpool 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumbria Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing