We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it and the breakfast was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“loved it and the breakfast was fantastic”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stopped on the off chance here that they would have a room free. Luckily they did and the rate was most probably a special one as my room was huge! I had the best nights sleep! The breakfast was well cooked and the choice plentiful - hope I get the opportunity in the future to stay here again and for longer than just one night,

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    285
    137
    49
    36
See reviews for
443
197
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I've stayed at the Dalmeny Hotel from teenage life to the present year. The hotel has improved it's facilities over the years (new bar, sauna, Jacquzzi & Atrium Bar).

I've stayed in more or less every part and room type at the Dalmeny Hotel even the Dalmeny Suite...prices vary upon the room & occasion you stay so it's not bad for price at times.

The Dalmeny Suite is too over priced (£120.00 a night per person for a premier room that links via an internal door to the Dalmeny Suite, £25.00 of that to hire out the Dalmeny Suite addiotnally).

This is a family oriented hotel, it has thin walls & the neighbours & even the slightest of noise can be heard.

Staff were sarcastic & didn't care once they had their money...customer care seems to have gone downhill over time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BpoolSocialKingpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

we stayed at this hotel for one night, the room was spacious and clean, it's a shame we didn't have the kids with us i'm sure they would have loved it, a real chiiling out place, the breakfast was fantastic and the staff were really friendly and helpful, i will be coming back with the kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just returned from great overnight stay. Spa and pampering, pool and food all good. Room for myself and three grown up daughters was surprisingly large. We have all enjoyed it so much. Yes, many places may need updating a bit but all was clean and tidy, staff very pleasant, breakfast excellent. Go and see!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel we were a little apprehensive. I stayed with my mother who has limited mobility. Our room was wonderfully laid out, clean and modern. We stayed half board and ate at the Atrium Restaurant where the meals were of a very high quality - the menu was a little restricted on half board basis but we always found something that we liked. The staff throughout were very helpfu and accomodating and we would definitely return. We stayed out of season out of school holidays and understand there is a lot more happening during school holidays to appeal to families

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLER0966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I'm actually not sure what market this hotel is aiming for - the majority of the clients had young children like ourselves and there was obviously a following amongst the older members of our society - it was very busy during our bank holiday stay but not intolerably slow service - loads for the children to do and the staff appear switched on.

It's a very large family run hotel of nearly 300 rooms - some of the facilities such as the bar and restaurant areas are pitched at a classy and high level which wouldn't look out of place in city centre Manchester or Liverpool yet the reception is plain a la' 1970's with carpet tape holding the somewhat jaded contract carpet together - the hotel obviously has a rolling capital investment programme to improve facilities however they perhaps need to speed this up somewhat and make a decision about where they are pitching themselves in the market place too.

The room we had was enormous to be frank but looked dated and obviously had been upgraded in the 1980's - in all honesty I would have paid MORE for the stay per night if only the room facilities had been upgraded to a current standard.

This could really be a first class family seaside hotel if it tried harder and invested a little bit more cash in a more considered and targeted fashion

Great location too opposite the beach and near the amenities, good onsite parking but area let down by the local councils lack of investment - dirty beach, lots of litter, poorly maintained prom though a number of these items may have been down to a busy bank holiday I accept although Fylde BC should really be on top of this in the 21st century if it wants to attract repeat custom.

On a final note some of the housekeeping neede attending to - I noticed a couple of broken doors, unlocked corridors for staff use and some bare wiring which wanted sorting, perhaps again this was due to a busy BH weekend and to be fair I did notice that the wiring had been sorted the next day.

So overall yes I would go back and would recommend he same to young families with children - you will have a great time I'm sure just beware of the some of the caveats.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelR70, Guest Relations Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you very much for your comments, customer feedback really helps us to improve the facilities and service we offer. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your break and that you would recommend us to friends. We do have something to offer everybody, being an ideal position for families on a seaside break or a relaxing spa or golf break for adults. We also have excellent facilities for business guests, offering free wi-fi throughout hotel and meeting/conference facilities.
We are a family run business and are re-investing into the hotel and have an ongoing refurbishment programme; our reception carpet is due to be done in the next two weeks and we are continuing to revamp our bedrooms. Our new bar, Bar Indigo, is now open daily for food and drinks from 12 noon each day.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was our first stay at the Dalmeny Hotel on the occassion of my husbands birthday.
The service we experienced from all of the staff was overwhelmingly warm, pleasant, proffessional and helpful.
I was aware that the hotel had some newly refurbished rooms, so opted for one with a seaview. We loved the room so much as a family that we would book the same one next time. Immaculately cleaned, high quality threadcount white bedlinen and overall a well designed space with comfort.
The location & amenities could not be better for the relaxing holiday we craved, without having to use our car. The beach is 5 minutes across the road.
The food choice and quality was wonderful and our young children loved the creche, swimming pool and evening entertainment.
The only formative feedback I have is that even though we were blessed with fantastic weather, we were unable to use the patio cafe outside seating area because of a party of smokers. I wrote on my hotel feedback form that we would welcome a complete smoking ban throughout the hotel. The smoking party also left a lot of cigarette butts in the patio cafe outside plants which was unsightly.
Our sons didn't want to leave to come home as there was so much going on!

Room Tip: A sea view in a newly refurbished family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doran67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmeny Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Resort Hotel

Property: Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Address: 19-33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmeny Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the main promenade overlooking the beach, promenade gardens and pier, and within a short walk of the town centre with its array of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel offers a wide choice of rooms, including family units accommodating up to two adults and 6 children. The excellent facilities include a 20m indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, children's pool, fully equipped Gym and Squash Court. Spa Dalmeny is open seven days per week offering a comprehensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. Dining options include the hotel's restaurant or Bar Indigo. Business travellers will appreciate the free Wi-Fi facility throughout the hotel,access to business services, free on site parking,extensive conference facilities, and our Snooker Room, which is available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalmeny Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel St Annes
Dalmeny Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Resort Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing