We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved by the Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Dalmeny in October celebrating a family birthday. We had booked a twin room and our room (207) did indeed have two beds, a double (fine) and a single in an alcove behind the door about 10 feet away. In this bed you could hear everything that occurred in the toilet of the room next door (not so fine). We tried the double on the first night but found the mattress very springy with any movement disturbing and liable to wake the other person. Although the room was well serviced and clean it was in a poor decorative state. Wallpaper near the window was damp and starting to peel away from the walls with mould showing through. Unless you are on the top (3rd floor) there is a lot of noise from the floors above.
Breakfast is exactly what you would expect from a family hotel - hot and cold buffet with a good selection. The hotel was completely full during our stay and the breakfast queues were long at times.
The leisure facilities are a bit hit and miss. The pool and spa area are good but the snooker/ darts room is unusable. The snooker table cloth is badly ripped and holed, the table lighting is completely inadequate as it uses low energy low wattage light bulbs and the dart board is hanging off the wall.
Our party of 7 dined in the Atrium restaurant on one night and the food was not wonderful but OK.
The one saving grace at the Dalmeny are the staff. Without exception they were all very helpful, dealing with a couple of room changes without hesitation and always cheerful and welcoming.
In summary: The Dalmeny is a 'tired' hotel. The outside badly needs a lick of paint (I know October is at the end of the season and maybe it wasn't looking its best). The rooms we saw badly need a refurb as do some of the facilities. The price of £120/night B & B is way too high, even with great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fastlanetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
I was concerned to learn of your initial disappointment with the room allocated on this occasion, although I note that our Reception staff were extremely helpful in arranging a move to a more suitable room, and I have passed your complimentary remarks on to the personnel concerned
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you suffered when having to queue for breakfast. The hotel was particularly busy over this weekend, and queues can occur during peak times. We do our utmost to control and alleviate this problem, but unfortunately bottlenecks do occur occasionally.
Your comments regarding the poor state of the lighting and equipment in the games room concern me greatly, and I will pass these on to our maintenance staff for urgent attention.
You will no doubt be pleased to learn that we are now formulating a refurbishment schedule to encompass all rooms, and althought this is a very slow process, I trust that you will see improvement during your next visit
Thank you once again for your constructive comments

Kind regards
Samantha Lewis
General Manager/Director
slewis@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Dalmeny. This is a great family hotel to stay at and the kids absolutely loved it. From swimming, to playing nerf guns, to the kids films to the games room to the running up and down the long corridors everything was great fun for them. The staff are excellent and very helpful and food was wonderfull. Very difficult to find anything not to like.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raggypictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do aim to provide a varied range of entertainment and activities for all ages, so your feedback is very important and helps us in planning future events and activities
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the non too distant future

Kind regards
Samantha Lewis
General Manager/Director
slewis@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Returned to the Dalmeny ,as three generations, for a short break , and am pleased to say the hotel still manages to please all age groups. We have stayed here many times over the last forty years and it is good to see that family values still count in this day and age. High standards for a family hotel.Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments. For the last 67 years my family has aimed to provide an enjoyable experience for all the family, and it is gratifying to learn that, overall we continue to succeed in this very competitive market.
I hope that you will continue to stay with us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back personally on a future visit

Kind regards
Samantha Lewis
General Manager/Director
slewis@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

came to the dalmeny for my birthday celebrations with parents, husband and daughter. cannot fault the room (155) lovely premier family room with sea view and balcony. lovely bathroom and toilet. room consisted of two double beds and a single bed. very comfortable. yes it was very warm but room was individually controlled and we were able to turn the heating down. had kettle with nescafe sachets and tea bags and milk in the fridge. the hotel catered for all our needs. enjoyed the swimming pool although being a frequent swimmer in my local pool i found changing room grubby (around the floor corners), not a problem though, didnt spoil our holiday. felt the bar staff in indigo took a while to serve you. we ordered a round of drinks before our taxi was due to arrive in 30 mins, however,ended up having only 5 mins to drink them and im afraid an expensive round of drinks had to be left on the table. taxis in and out of blackpool cost 12-14 pound per journey but i would avoid blackpool at the weekends, especially if you have children as it is full of drunks, stag and hen parties even at 10 oclock. we took a taxi as parking spaces were limited in both dalmeny and blackpool so decided to leave car in a safe place. did enjoy the legends show at the sands.
the food at the hotel was good but not great. breakfast was fab.i found the atrium to have a very limited menu, especially for the older generation. the carvery was fine but felt it a bit claustrophobic. we arrived for the childrens activity weekend but unfortunately did not try out any of the activites. did not think my daughter would have joined in the activites. also time was very limited, it didnt get 5 stars as paint was flaking off walls and ceiling, carpet had a straightener burn in it and two buckets were placed on the reception floor to catch water from a leaking ceiling.....however, that happens,
.
all in all though a fab hotel, as long as it keeps its maintenance up to date. in a lovely position in st annes, lovely sea views and close enough to blackpool if needed (as we did for pleasure beach), mostly helpful and cheery staff. would come back here anytime, as would my parents.

Room Tip: room 155 huge with two double beds and a single bed. seating area, balcony overlooking sea/promenade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rae_clydeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments. I was pleased to hear that, overall, you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, although I do take note of the issues raised regarding the standard of cleanliness in the Leisure Centre and also the slow service in Bar Indigo. I have taken these matters up with the Heads of Department concerned to ensure that these problems are rectified immediately
You will no doubt be interested to hear that we are now embarking on a refubishment programme to encompass all rooms and public areas, although progress is a little slow due to the current high occupancy levels. I trust that you will find considerable improvement on you next visit
Thank you again for bringing these matters to my attention. I look forward to welcoming you back again on a future occasion

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are some hotels you walk in & think wow straightaway. The Dalmeny is one of them. A very modern, welcoming feel. The receptionist couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. My room was fabulous & very big. It could have accommodated a football team quite easily! It was spotlessly clean throughout as was the en-suite bathroom. Very nice to stand on the balcony & breathe in the fresh sea air. I was very impressed with the gym & swimming pool & I even noticed a games room. The breakfast was lovely & very fresh. I was here with work but would definitely go back for a leisurely break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your very complimentary comments. It is always gratifying to hear that, although we are a resort hotel, our many business guests also continue to enjoy the ambiance, and facilities provided at the DalmenyHotel. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon, whether on business or for a leisure break with your family

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Room(153) - premier room
Pros - large spacious room, great view, nice balcony
Cons - reeked of smoke (not told that this was a smoking room and didn't think you needed to specify a non smoking room in this day and age with smoking bans in public places), no basin in toilet so had to walk to bathroom (separate room) to wash your hands (very unhygienic), room was roasting hot all the time, decor dated and seriously needs updating eg. stained carpet, marks on furniture, mould in shower, etc., new bathroom suite is required

Meals
Pros - Breakfasts and meal in Atrium were of high standard, plenty of choice.
Cons - Service was terrible for most meals, older gentleman showing people to tables at breakfast was very abrupt, rude and looked under pressure (he snapped at us when we asked for a different table saying that we had to go to a certain table as they had to do over 300 covers!), plates cleared from table too quickly (I was half way through breakfast, left table for minutes and table was cleared. The same happened to other guests in the party during breakfast and dinner. The party felt like they were getting rushed to finish their meal as the hotel was busy.), food at granary was average but expected more for the price

Other
Pros - Good swimming pool, plenty of sitting areas to relax, good bar
Cons - Not suitable for younger children eg. no plastic cups, plates and cutlery, only activity for younger children was crafts that was an additional cost etc., the big sell for it being a family hotel seemed to be the crèche, no lifeguard in attendance in the swimming pool, temperature everywhere in hotel was uncomfortably hot (member of party complained about this but nothing was done)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALF130277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments.
I was concerned to learn that that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your recent stay with us.
We do not allow smoking in any part of the hotel, and levy a considerable charge to guests who persist in smoking in bedrooms. If you had contacted the Duty Manager immediately, we could have re-allocated your room without question. I note that your room was also very warm, although there is a thermostat on all bedroom radiators to enable guests to control the heating. I am sorry that this was not brought to your attention at the time of check in
You will no doubt be pleased to hear that all rooms within the hotel are now earmarked for refurbishment, although we do ask guests to bear with us, as this process will take a little time, due to the very high occupancy levels
I have passed your comments regarding the dining facilities for children to our Food and Beverage Manager, who will no doubt rescource the various items you requested
Your comments regarding the attitude of our Breakfast Supervisor do concern me greatly, and I have taken this matter up with the member of staff concerned as a matter of priority
I note your comments regarding the lack of a lifeguard in the pool area. However, we do organise supervision throughout the children's floats sessions, and certainly children under the age of sixteen are not allowed in the pool unless accompanied by an adult
Despite your disappointment on this occasion, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you personally

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The title says it all. Some food undercooked, some overcooked and stale, when returned as being unpalatable, pasta or veg risotto was offered (woopee) - no thanks. Poor choice of dinner menu and very small portions too. Breakfast was however excellent and no fault could be found, staff in the carvery/breakfast room were good too. Note to hotel, have children sleep in bedrooms on the ground floor, no guests want to listen to them running up and down the bedroom above them, shouting and screaming, hence we left a day early.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you stay and see what's on offer for dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

I was extremely disappointed to read your review. The Dalmeny Hotel has always enjoyed an excellent reputation for the quality of food served, so your comments regarding the dinner menu concerned me greatly. I have now taken this matter up in the strongest possible terms with our Executive Chef. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment
I note that you were disturbed by unruly children running and screaming in the hotel bedroom corridors. If you had contacted the Duty Manager immediately via Reception, he would certainly have spoken to the families concerned and requested that this disturbance ceased immediately. However, please accept my apologies for this situation
Despite your disappointment, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and trust that your next visit will prove entirely enjoyable

Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager/Director
zrobertson@dalmenyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lytham St Anne's
0 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#1 of 1 in St. Annes-on-Sea
848 reviews
3 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmeny Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Resort Hotel

Address: 19-33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £81 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmeny Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the main promenade overlooking the beach, promenade gardens and pier, and within a short walk of the town centre with its array of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel offers a wide choice of rooms, including family units accommodating up to two adults and 6 children. The excellent facilities include a 20m indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, children's pool, fully equipped Gym and Squash Court. Spa Dalmeny is open seven days per week offering a comprehensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. Dining options include the hotel's restaurant or Bar Indigo. Business travellers will appreciate the free Wi-Fi facility throughout the hotel,access to business services, free on site parking,extensive conference facilities, and our Snooker Room, which is available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Dalmeny Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel St Annes
Dalmeny Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Resort Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing