We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in need of updating”
Review of The Lindum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lindum Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“in need of updating”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

just returned from bank holiday weekend,check in quick.upon arriving into room was not too impressed with decor very dated and old fashioned,view of building next door (not the best) went into bathroom tiles about to come off wall,small bath no shower,what we had was an attatchment to put over taps,no good as soon as you turned water on attachments came off taps spraying you with very hot water,very dangerous,no shower curtain so had to get washed at the sink and attempt to wash hair over the bath,come on in this day and age why can the hotel not supply suitable facilities,did not feel very clean as love to have a good shower every day,breakfast was ok a bit on the small side very basic cooked breakfast,must mention that we were not met at restaurant door to be seated so we chose a table and my husband went to get our juice,while i was waiting for him to come back a waitress appeared next to me and quite rudely told me i was sat in somebody elses table,she asked me did i know my table number?? sorry but i am not gifted with physcic abilities i explained nobody came to see to us so we thought that you just sat where was available,maybe a lesson in manners is required for her very abrupt manner! you get what you pay for but afraid to say will not be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggersefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    160
    57
    24
    23
See reviews for
82
196
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

on a coach tour for the 1940s Lytham st annes war weekend.
booked a sea view room at extra cost and it was worth it. room 104. nice bay window and on the first floor. twin beds.
there were windows that opened fully if you like that at night but I noticed a ladder had been left between this hotel and next door and anyone could have access to the flat roof and this bedroom.
this ladder should be removed for security.
nice big room with good view and had a bath and shower.
I checked all the pillows under the pillowcases and all was very clean and white.
both nights were very windy and the wind was whistling down the drainpipes and making a bit of a racket..
the floorboards were a bit creaky and worse than my floorboards in my own bathroom at home.
the lighting in the bedroom was excellent.
no long mirror though.
first day went to see the hot tub but door was locked as it was 5 pm.
then completely forgot to look at it again, so I never saw it but didn't really have time to go in it as all our time was spent at the festival and evening dance.
missed the singer in the hotel on the Saturday night but on the sunday night tina ? was singing and I wasn't expecting much, but she was brilliant. only 1 beatle song and 1 abba thank goodness but she did like the carpenters music which was fine but she sang a good selection of songs. not too many boring 60s songs either. she had a good personality and interacted well with her audience.
we managed some dancing on the carpet.
the breakfasts were good and the sunday evening roast beef was lovely but we were a bit late and there is only 1 apple pie made so watch out if that is what you like. it had just run out and there was no more.
the raspberry pavlova with cream though was delicious.
the service in the restaurant and the reception was excellent.

Room Tip: book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumbleweedleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We bought our short break on a woucher deal and we were certainly not disappointed. The staff are so friendly and helpful,breakfast was very nice indeed and more than enough to start the day,the waiting staff in the dining room were very pleasant and we found the service of a very good standard, the bedroom we were staying in was on the top floor and was clean tidy and more than spacious we had a really good nights sleep in a comfortable bed,not often the case in some accommodations,it did take us some time in the morning to get down in the lift as the lift was so small it only held one to two people at a time ,so we just hoped the staff would be able to serve breakfast if we were a bit later as the lift kept coming up and down full to capacity for a good ten minutes at least, I am sure this would have been ok if we had have been a little late.i would definately book this hotel again and thank the staff for a lovely stay well done everyone.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quiet and had a lovely view even at the back of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked the Lindum with on a Groupon deal. Location perfect and breakfast excellent but thats it !!!!
We was allocated a room on the fourth floor ( no lift ), amusing at first but tedious as the hoiday progressed. Our room was very small, we had a view only of the neighbouring building approximately 8 ft away and all the drain pipes and extraction units. There was subsequently little to no ventilation as the curtains and blinds needed to be constantly shut. We asked for a room swap and was offered another room on the same floor but the condition of the fixtures and fittings were shocking and needed renovation. The Hotel in general is worn and needs lots of TLC, much improvement needed. Waste of a romantic weekend.
As they say you pay for what you get !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterbean0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Weve just returned from a lovely midweek break here. Cant moan about it. Brekky good. Reception service good. Room comfy. Sea view. Clean bathroom. Ample lounge seating. Wifi in One lounge. Help with luggage. Thomas was a little angel coming up for our luggage and bringing it down for us. He served our brekky too. Very professional nice young lad. We liked everyone we came into contact with.

Room Tip: Just ask when you book. The receptionist was very helpful for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anassa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My partner and I have just spent a lovely weekend at this hotel. Don't come here expecting 5 star luxury, do come if you want a lovely, comfortable stay in a warm family run hotel. The staff are friendly, the service is good and the food is excellent. We drove into Lytham thinking that next time we may stay there, but we won't, we would come back to the Lindum without hesitation.
Frank and Sue, Todmorden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucytosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and I must say it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Be warned the hotel takes dogs and our room smelled of dogs. The bed had bits of wood under the mattress, there was damp patches on the ceiling, the bed had a blanket on it which was as old as the hotel I think. the top cover of the bed was all worn and disgusting.
The whole hotel was depressing , tired and in need of a revamp. One side of the hotel has no lift access so you have to climb stairs all the time . the breakfast was nothing special just some cereal and plastic cheap sausages with eggs.
Remember if u go you have been warned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank scotlandsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindum2014, Front Office Manager at The Lindum Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We remember your visit to us and are very sorry to hear that your stay was not positive, as we did try to resolve your complaints during your stay and gave you a very generous discount to compensate.
We offered to change your sea view room on the first day, but you declined our offer and stayed a total of five nights. The bed had a bed board under the mattress, these are often used as some guests find that the mattress is too soft, this could have been removed – had you asked. We are dog friendly, as we believe that pets and their owners are happier being together. However, our housekeeping team pay meticulous attention to cleaning and guests often comment on our extremely high standards. You referred to blankets, we don’t use duvets, as guests prefer fresh cotton sheets and blankets and our bedding is always laundered after each departure.
We win awards for our food and are sorry that you found the breakfast disappointing, we source local produce and it is cooked fresh to order. There is also an array of cereals, fresh fruit & juices, rolls, yoghurt, freshly made toast, together with a large and varied selection of traditional hot English breakfast food served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lytham St Anne's
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#1 of 1 in St. Annes-on-Sea
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lindum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindum Hotel

Property: The Lindum Hotel
Address: 63-67 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lindum Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has been in the hands of the Rowley family for over 40 years, providing a perfect combination of quality, warmth and courteous service that has long been our hallmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lindum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindum Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing