We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here as part of an organised event. We were fortunate to have a large bedroom with superb sea views. I suspect that the rooms at the rear of the hotel are quite small. Our room had been updated a few years ago, but was fine, apart from the lighting which was not bright enough, you couldn't see inside the wardrobe as it was so dark. Bathroom very modern, small and warm. Layout could have been a bit better, anyone over 5 foot tall will need to stoop to look in the mirror.

Food at dinner was good quality, breakfact was made to order, which is quite unusual, but the poached eggs, (6 at our table) were terrible, mentioned this to staff afterwards and they said they would look into it. Bar area not always staffed at quiet times.

The design is a mixture of modern and old, but it works. Didn't use it but ther is a good fitness centre.

Although this is part of the Best Western chain it says it is privately owned and all staff, especially managers and team leaders, are exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the building is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolsGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am pleased that you found your bedroom to be comfortable I am looking into the possibilty of installing led lighting throughout the hotel not only to enhance the look and lighting aspect but as part of our continuing commitment to Green Tourism so watch this space you maty have to wear shades on your next visit!!

I am sorry to hear that your poached eggs were not cooked to your liking I do recall us discussing this with you on departure I have spoken to the kitchen team and they have assured me they will be extra careful on not overcooking them in future.

Thank you for your praise of the team we are here to ensure that you stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.
Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    257
    105
    33
    21
See reviews for
216
345
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were part of a large party enjoying a dance week at this hotel in March.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was on the front and we had a lovely view of the beach. The room was very clean and we found it to be very comfortable.
We had breakfast and dinner and enjoyed every meal. Yes service was slow at times but we did not need to rush anywhere so it did not bother us.
We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I have an allergy to eating fish and at one of our evening meals when I refused the fish but had not pre-booked a different choice the restaurant manager insisted he brought me something else rather than I have nothing. I appreciated this very much.
Thank you too to the bar staff who stayed to serve until all guests went to bed especially the lovely Lady Fredericka!

My husband and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Good Afternoon,

What a complimentary review, I am so pleased we were able to accomodate you regarding your food requirments. I will pass on your praise to all departments especially to the lovely Fredricka.

The dance party have rebooked for 2014 so hopefully we will be welcoming you back then, if not sooner.
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were very helpful. The food was excellent, however on our last morning a few items of breakfast food was unavailable, due to the fact they ran out. This did not detract in any way from our stay. The room was comfortable.
If you don't wish to use your car for a trip to Blackpool a bus service is just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and quite frequent. We would visit this hotel again. Free wifi for guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello there,

Thank you very much for your posistive feedback of the food and the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your dance break and are keen to return. I am not sure whether we had alot of very hungry people eating breakfast that day however I will look into the items we ran out of and rectify the issue in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Being an Elite and Platinum member of two another hotel chains; you can see that I travel a considerable amount, worldwide.
I can honestly say that this hotel exceed my expectations
The staff were extremely professional and courteous throughout my business stay
I would highly recommend the value for money is staying for bed breakfast and evening meal. The evening meal varies each day and so does the choice. The meals were superb

I would highly recommend this hotel for holidays or business trips, and would rate it extremely highly. Well done to all concerned

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_cronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Good Morning,

What an accolade, really pleased that we exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your posistive comments to my team as they will really appreciate the excellent feedback from yourself as accomplished traveller.

We would be delighted should you choose to return on your next visit to the area.

Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel with members of our bridge club this weekend. Great location on the promenade, five minutes stroll from the pier and main shopping street overlooking the beach. The sea comes near the hotel at high tide (unlike Southport where it is always a long way out from hotels.) We all agreed that the service was most friendly and helpful and the cuisine at dinner quite exceptionally good. Lots of fish on the menu. We were in a rear room which was adequate with somewhat cramped bathroom but very clean. Splendid ballroom with Sunday night dance. There was a gym which we did not visit. We had not been to this location before and think it would make a great family holiday at moderate cost - nice amenities and much less pressure to spend than at Blackpool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berylStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review of the hotel and its surroundings. Apart from the great comments regarding the hotel and food, it is so great to hear that you feel the same as we do, the immediate locality to the beach and boutiques on your doorstep, with the bigger fanfare attractions within 5 mins we are ideally situated to sample a bit of both, after all variety is the spice of life!!

We do hope that you return to us one day in the future.

Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and came to the conclusion that this was the best. We have stayed there on a number of occasions. The last time was in March 2013. The seafront bedrooms are excellent. Those with a prestige rating are very spacious although the bathrooms are on the small size. The staff are very helpful and the food is of a high standard. Occasionally the hotel offers four nights for the price of three. Since the basic prices are very reasonable for the area such an offer represents remarkable value. Even though the hotel fronts a road it is not a busy road so it does not interfere with a good night's sleep. All in all this a place to which you will want to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Good Afternoon,

I am delighted that you find the hotel to be delightful, it is also an honour that you choose to stay with us over are competitors. We strive to be the best in our market and to keep our prices as competitive as we can whilst retaining only the best quality.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and those wonderful sea views from the bedrooms.
P.s We run the 4 nights for 3 all year around from Monday to Thursday.
Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have stayed here 4 times now and going to stay again soon.
It is in an excellent location and the facilities are excellent. Very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Food very good also!

Room Tip: Sea View superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdaG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Hi there,

So pleased to hear that you are a returing customer and that you will continue to be. Its gratifying to myslf and the team that you rate us highly. I will pass on your favourable comments to the team.

Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing