We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had reviewed this hotel back in 2011, when most of the review favoured the hotel, with the exception of the dining room which we had a few issues with.
After the review, Victoria kindly sent us a voucher for a free weekend, we didn't use it as we had decided at that time that we would not be back.

We recently decided to go back to Lytham St Annes, and as we trawled through the hotels, we decided to have another go at the Glendower. Both my wife and myself being vegetarian often poses us a problem, as the hotel menu's for Veges is usually very samey, and with us being there for five nights we wanted to make sure we would get something suitable for us, so I emailed Victoria and told her we had booked, and she immediately told us we would be well catered for.

We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in many countries over the years, and the Glendower is not one of them, but it certainly makes you feel welcome. I cannot fault the staff in any way. The room was a good size with a sea view, and the food was excellent.

When we arrived, Victoria introduced us to the head chef, and he sat down with us and asked what type of food we liked, he then printed us out a menu for the period of our visit.We just told reception after breakfast and that is what we had at dinner that night.
The food was superbly cooked and well presented, the chef is a credit to the hotel, and such a nice guy to go with it.
In fact, I was impressed with the entire staff, especially Jim who waited in the dining room, but seemed to be involved in all sorts of other tasks throughout the hotel, including the wifi.
The young girl who served us for much of the week was also very good, and took everything in her stride when serving in the dining room while a function was going on in another room.

My biggest praise was for Victoria who went out of her way to make our stay a nice one.

Well done Glendower, I would recommend you to anyone thinking of having a nice break down in St Annes, hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, it is well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank govanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good Afternoon,
Gosh, I'm blushing thank you so much for your high praise, I really appreciate it, as does the rest of the team. Jim says Hi I think he has been here since the hotel was built !!
We are all really delighted that we have alleviated any past issues that you may have encountered.
I do hope you will return to us again in the future.
From all the team here at the hotel we hope you have a very Happy Christmas & prosperous New Year !!
Many thanks once again
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very average hotel considering the price of the rooms. Hotel is very dated. Creaking floor boards, 70's Decor Limited parking as well so make sure you get there early if you want a space. Room was a bit on the small size, make sure you ask for a sea view my room was at the back of the hotel and the view was grim to say the least. Bathroom was tiny!! Service in the restaurant was the only good thing, Steve in the Restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspire1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good Morning,
Really disappointed to read your review and that you found us to be average, that's not what we strive for here at all. We have just had the restaurant completely refurbished, and we have a continual investment programme within the hotel.
I would be delighted if you would return to stay with us so that we may provide you with a superior experience, Should you wish to return I am happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a Prestige Sea VIew Room with a complimentary Dinner in our new dining experience "Coast" .
Please contact me personally so I can arrange this for you.
Wishing you a wonderful Christmas & a Happy New Year.
Best Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

our daughter booked this for us on groupon £49 for overnight stay including breakfast which was really amazing best hotel breakfast I have had choice is brilliant next time we will have to sample the evening meal the restaurant is being modified so we ate out in lythom never been here before but found it quite a nice experience

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnieboy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good Evening,
The Groupon was a great little offer, look out for further offers in 2014.
I am pleased to say The Restaurant transformation is now complete, I am very happy with the way it looks and we would be delighted to welcome you back so that you may try "Coast" in the evening.
All the very best for Christmas and a healthy New Year.
Best Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have been staying at the Glendower Hotel most Sundays to Thursdays since July this year. It truly is a wonderful, friendly and helpful hotel (and I have lots of hotel experience!).

The staff (in every department) are amazing, really easy to talk to and cannot be helpful enough! The food is great and the daily soup option is warming and comfortable (as well as yummy!) and they know that I like to have it cupped in my hands from a mug.

Reception always does their best to put myself and my husband in the same regular room each time we visit - which is important to me because I spend most of the day in the room working on our internet business - so the comfort of the room is paramount.

The hotel is situated right across the road from the enormous sandy beach with a little pier less than 5 minutes away. The little town of Lytham St Anne's is really quaint, only a short walk away through a lovely park, and will provide you with all your daily needs. There are also some wonderful restaurants in the town - our favourite is the Zen Thai restaurant.

There are good road and rail links, super public transport and is only 5 minutes from Blackpool where one can ride on trams (great fun) you need never be stuck for something to do day or evening.

So, if you're looking for a great hotel in the area - first choice should be the Glendower!

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are in the older part of the hotel. I won't tell you which room we always sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfpintmccartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello You !!

I hope you are well, its really very lovely of you to write a review. I know you give us lots of praise during your stays with us, and its great that you've have been returning to us so often.
We really do appreciate your continuing custom and will be honoured if you continue to stay with throughout 2014.
On behalf of the entire team we wish you both a wonderful restful Christmas and perhaps a bit of a livelier New Year!!
Warm Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife, myself and our dog stayed here for two nights at the end of November 2013. we primarily wanted a pet friendly hotel in this area and they really were pet friendly. Our shi tsu, Bruno, has Addisons disease which means he has to take steroids twice a day and can only eat fresh food, not dog food. The hotel staff were more than happy to keep Bruno's food and medication in the hotel fridge and to fetch it for us whenever we needed it. We are extremely grateful for this.
The spacious double room we were given cost no more than the nearby B&Bs of Blackpool yet was much more luxurious and set in a hotel with acres more character than a Travelodge or Premier Inn. We had a great view from our window out over the golden sands of the beach to the Irish Sea. Although there was a road between the hotel and the beach, we were not bothered by any traffic noise; in fact, it was welcomely peaceful in our room.
The restaurant, although of modern decor rather than the traditional decor of the rest of the hotel, was very good. At breakfast cooked dishes were made to order. We ate there both evenings of our stay. The menu had around eight main courses to choose from. We found the food to be cooked to perfection. Waiting staff were very friendly as were the rest of the hotel staff we encountered.
Should we have cause to stay in the area again we will definitely choose the Glendower again. Its a great, value for money hotel packed with character and helpful staff. It is just far enough outside of Blackpool to avoid all of the associated hustle and bustle and multitude of hen and stag weekends that happens there in high season.

Room Tip: Get a Best Western loyalty card for a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straggler-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hello there,
Am brimming with pride that you chose to write such an amazing review on the hotel, and the team. I have passed your excellent comments to all departments who are in turn genuinely thrilled that they contributed in their own ways to making you happy.
I am also really delighted that you mentioned your dog Bruno, after receiving negative feedback from another customer which was totally unjustified.
Any how thank you very much once again for your words.
We wish you all a very Happy Christmas & a Merry New Year.
Hopefully see you in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel check in very good, The room was lovely size,for two adults, 16 year old and a dog.
staff were very helpful and we had meal in the hotel which was very nice,
nice bar area to sit in
hoitel was very clean
Good choice of breakfast,
even let us sit in lounge area with our little dog as long as we kept him on his lead.
Good value for money

Room Tip: we had family room at back of hotel very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good Afternoon,
So pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us, and that yourself and your family felt comfortable.
We do hope you will return to visit us again, but in the meantime best wishes from all the team over Christmas and hope you have a great start to 2014.
Kind Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Wow.. This hotel is perfect for everything . Check in When we arrived the hotel looked pretty full but there was enough parking and plenty on the road if you couldn't find a space. The check in was clear and simple, we were asked if you wanted papers, wake up ect.. From the outset you could tell this was going to be a good hotel just by the initial service. Rooms My wife, 11 year old daughter and I spent the night here just to go see the lights in Blackpool. The room were lovely. We stayed in a massive triple room with a lovely bathroom. It was all very clean and comfy.
The restaurant for the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. service was impecable......Very impressed.............We will return. Thank You.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Good Afternoon,
Very gratifying to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time during your short stay here with us, hopefully your daughter will continue to want to experience the illuminations again and that you will return to see you in 2014.
We wish you and your lovely family a wonderful Christmas and a peaceful New Year.
Warm Regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
441 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel

Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England (Formerly Best Western Glendower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing