We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in St Annes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    257
    105
    33
    21
See reviews for
216
345
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Brilliant weekend here perfectly positioned staff superb, ate in on one night food was very good, got a free upgrade and got a good room with a sea view. Breakfast very good with a very varied menu, did not use the exercise room but it looked very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkeithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Good morning,
Delighted to hear that you had a brilliant weekend and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the not to distant future.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Uk
Level Contributor
245 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at the Glendower on a dancing holiday organised by Dancing for Fun and we did have lots of fun. Our sea view room on the second floor was quite adequate for our 4 night stay. I didn’t like the idea of a single bed and a small double, I would have preferred a large double bed but it was comfortable enough, if a little to cosy. The pillows were hard. The bathroom was ok with a shower over the bath and plenty of hot water. Clean towels every day but quite hard and scratchy. Everywhere was nice and clean. We could see the sea from our room but the window was quite small.

We were booked on a half board basis and enjoyed all the food apart from dinner on the final evening. The fish cake starter was excellent when it finally arrived. The service that evening was even slower than usual. I appreciate we were part of a large booking with the dance group all eating at the same time but the staff seemed under pressure to serve everyone even at breakfast time when people ate at different times. All the food was served hot and nicely presented apart from the last night when a slab of fairly chewy beef was slapped on the plate with over cooked broccoli and a Yorkshire pudding so overdone I couldn’t get my knife through it. It was a shame about the meal as everything else we ate was first class with good quality ingredients. The staff were all pleasant. The biggest problem for us was the car parking. The was insufficient spaces for all guests which made us reluctant to take the car out to visit the surrounding area as we had planned to do in case we couldn’t get a space on our return. We did venture out on our second day and had to wait for the builders to leave so we could have their space. On another occasion we couldn’t find a space so had to park on the road which had restricted parking hours during the day. The dance floor was not big enough for all the people booked on the dancing holiday but would be adequate under normal circumstances. We have stayed in several other Best Western hotels and have always found them to be a good standard and the Glendower is no exception apart for the few problems I have mentioned.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank york1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good Morning,
I am really pleased to hear that you found in the most part the food to be of excellent quality. The parking across the road is available from 2pm until 12am so please in future do not panic too much about going out for the day.
The dancing holiday has rebooked for 2015 and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Quite disappointed with hotel, like a lot of seafront hotels in the UK, it feels like buildings have been bought and added on. My bedroom which was a double for single use, wasn,t particular large and didn't,t feel fresh, it was clean but carpet fairly worn, however saying that the bed was comfortable and I did have a good nights sleep. The restaurant had been refurbished, I was down fairly early so had no trouble getting served, but a hour later it was jammed packed. All in all it served its purpose but wouldn't,t return again for the price charged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzybee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good morning,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad you had a good nights sleep with us and that you appreciated our newly refurbished restaurant. We do indeed get very busy on breakfast when we have a full house as everyone seems to want to eat at 9.30am, however I'm delighted to hear that you didn't incur any problems with your breakfast.
Thank you once again.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster south yorkshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a black tie dinner .The staff and service were very good . The breakfast was good all the hot breakfast items were hot and the evening dinner excellent The room let it down we had room124 described as a double it was small dark and crammed and certainly didn't have room for two chairs the bed although comfy was not a double my husband and I had trouble turning over without nudging the other . Left Sunday morning feeling tired as every time someone used the taps or toilet the pipes banged leading to a disturbed sleep . Would we stay here again sadly not .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for the great comments regarding your stay with us over the weekend. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed dining with us and that you found the team to be friendly and welcoming. Disappointed to hear that you wouldn't return to us in the future, the double bed is in fact a standard double I can assure you, however I take on board your comments that they are not the largest bedroom we have hence the reason we sell them as "Compact Classic Rooms". I don't think you would have known that as you were with the large group and the organiser allocated the rooms.
We do indeed have lots of larger rooms should you wish to return to us at some point.
Thank you once again.
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A lovely hotel, with a country house feel: spacious, luxurious and welcoming .The beds were very comfortable, the room light and airy and the bathroom warm and inviting. We had a bath with a shower over - the perfect configuration for us. The breakfast menu was very comprehensive - I judge a hotel on whether they offer everything we could want, and the Glendower certainly does. We had the choice of a range of fruits, cereals (including porridge) and hot drinks, followed by traditional English breakfast with vegetarian option, smoked haddock and eggs cooked however we wanted them.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side of the hotel which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JReygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Good Afternoon,
What a really lovely review, that's made me smile today. It is great to know that you found us to be welcoming as customer service of the highest standard is what we are all aiming for. Super comments re the food choices too.
We would be delighted should you wish to return to us sometime in the near future, I would also like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a Prestige Sea View on your return as I think you would really appreciate the amazing Sea View.
Please contact me directly at the hotel should I be able to organise that for you.
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Multiple families gathered from Eire and South England for a funeral. Staff so helpful in providing space for the whole family to gather with those living in the area. Helpfully tended and served until early hours of each morning. Excellent breakfasts. Kindly looked after and luggage stored as we all parted to meet assorted trains and planes.

Room Tip: gymn has music playing which can be heard through the floor until mid evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Good morning,
I am delighted to hear that we were able to make a difficult time for you all a little less stressful. really good to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
I hope if you return its on a more happy occasion.
With very best wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing