We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lytham St. Annes,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lytham St. Annes,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

An excellent hotel. Reception services welcoming. Sea view from the room added to the experience and the staff were always helpful. Food excellent - breakfast especially set us up for the rest of the day! Would certainly stay there again,

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior Double or Twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Good Afternoon,
great to hear that you had a super stay with us and that you really enjoyed the food, at least we have a lovely long beach opposite the hotel to walk it all off !!
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    260
    105
    33
    21
See reviews for
225
349
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here on an Amazon break, so it was not expensive. The hotel was much as expected. It's a large Victorian building on the sea front (well not exactly the sea, but vast expanses of sand behind some grassy dunes). It was probably not purpose built as a hotel, and as a result it's full of stairs, corners and narrow corridors. The room was of a reasonable size but a little tired, like the hotel and its aged guests. It's fairly convenient for the shops and restaurants in the town centre.

Our room was quiet and the bed comfortable, so we slept well. Parking was convenient and easy and the reception staff were friendly and helpful, printing off some maps for us. Breakfast was adequate though they'd run out of smoked salmon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Good Morning,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, you are correct the hotel did in actual fact be a school up until the 1920'S so yes there are a few up's and down's upstairs. As I have previously mentioned we are in the throes of a full maintenance programme on the bedrooms which we are all very excited about so watch this space !!
Kind Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Glendower on 13 & 14 June. We were early for checking so had tea and cakes in the really nice lounge area, looking out to the car park.

There is plenty of parking and is well laid out, unlike some other hotels where there is either non or small spaces.

Checkin was quick, efficient and friendly, a theme that continued throughout our stay. All the staff that we talked with were friendly and showed a genuine interest in helping with any questions that we had. Staff of particular note were Lisa (who found me a spare phone charger), Sarah (who's natural energy shone through), Federica (who made our walk to that bar educational and interesting, and had a great sense of humour), Diane and John (for helping with our dining choice on Saturday night by suggesting restaurants in the local area).

I can't praise the staff enough, they were simply brilliant and always appeared to be genuinely interested and pleased to see us.

Dinner and breakfast was tasty, well cooked and hot. The menu was varied and sure there is something there for everyone.

Our room was clean and adequate although perhaps a little small for a double, but that is not a criticism to the hotel, as I made 2 bookings, 1 for each night! One of which was for a small double room, which I knew at the time before adding a second night to the overall stay. The hotel were thankfully able to keep us in the same room for both nights, although they were clearly very busy and full/nearly full for both nights of our stay.

As a frequent traveller I stay in a lot of hotels and always try to stay in Best Western whenever I can. Unfortunately there is a lot of variation within the chain, particularly between North and South, with the Southern hotels being greatly inferior to the Northern hotels.

The Glendower is certainly one of my favourite and hope to return again soon, thank you for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timo071978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Good Morning,
How lovely to read your fantastic review of the hotel and the team. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return.
The sea view rooms have wonderful sea views and are very spacious however they do sell quickly for future reference.
Once again many thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were in a lovely room overlooking the coast and could not fault sleep quality or bathroom. Breakfast was very disappointing, we went down reasonably early and it seemed that food had been sat there for some time. So didn't finish cooked breakfast but filled up on toast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sib1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Good Afternoon,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful sea view room bedrooms they really are something else in terms of view and comfort. I am really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast, we did trial a hot buffet style breakfast for a few weeks but have since decided our guests would prefer to wait a little longer for everything hot coming from the kitchen.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staff at the Hotel cannot be faulted,food for our Celebration excellent as was breakfast.However our room although large and with a sea view was somewhat dated and the bathroom was verging on dangerous for someone requiring a shower and it was urgently in need of refurbishment. A large number of friends also stayed and were of the same opinion that room refurbishment is required if as advertised this is a luxury hotel. As regular Best Western users sadly The Glendower is very much at the lower end of the scale for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for reviewing us here on tripadvisor we as a team are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend away with us we certainly hjad many favourable comments.
As I have mentioned previously on here recently, we are undergoing major refurbishments to the bedrooms however this will take a certain amount of time to complete.
Many Thanks Once Again
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing