We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quizzed straight away”
Review of The Hollingworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hollingworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2013

had a one night stay and that was enough - 4 star it is not, filthy windowsills in the sunroom where we were shown to 1st after being quizzed as soon as we entered through the door about that we shouldnt be arriving while 10pm, told them that we didnt know anything about this and they said, not a problem, but then told us later they had checked online, so obviously it was a problem to them.
The breakfast looked and tasted lovely - too much for me, but my husband devoured it. Only later we regretted this as we both had upset stomachs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notts338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thankyou for the review.

We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We would, however, like to clarify some of the issues you have raised in your review.

You booked through Laterooms and part of the booking process is a section requesting the time you hope intend arrive with us, the default setting being 1400 hours. The time on the booking we received from Laterooms was 2200 hours.

We knew our other guests were arriving late afternoon and understood you weren't arriving until later so we took the opportunity to replace one of the very large double glazed panels in the sun lounge. The contractor, who was only free Friday morning, assured us he would be finished by early afternoon allowing us sufficient time to clean up. He had not been gone 10 minutes when you arrived.

We apologise that you felt quizzed. We felt a little caught on the hop and it was not our intention to make you feel uncomfortable. We laughed off the misunderstanding and showed you to straight to your room. we hadn't realised was it was such an issue, sorry.

We feel particularly disillusioned that you marked us so low for 'service'.
We rearranged the schedule of our rooms just to accommodate your request so that you could extend your stay in the room until lunchtime on the day of departure. We wanted you to be able to take to get ready for the function you were attending in the afternoon. Apart from being initially taken back when you arrived earlier than we had anticipated we're not sure what more we could have done.

Finally, we take very seriously the implication that the breakfast gave you upset stomachs. As you are aware we had other guests who were with us throughout the weekend and ate full breakfasts each morning. We also ate from the prepared food, nobody else suffered upset stomachs. We can only assume your upset stomachs were caused by eating or drinking elsewhere and we hope you are now feeling better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

we stayed here with our kids for the one night. we had a family room with bunk beds which the kids loved and we even had a dvd which we used, watching a film in bed when we got in ! it was centrally located for the front and the shops, pubs etc.however, the best part about our stay was the couple who owned it. they were very friendly and great with the kids, even doing magic tricks at our breakfast table to entertain our 2 young children ! would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thanks for the review, it was lovely to meet you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Had a one night stay at Mike and Debbie's due to visiting relatives in St Annes. Stayed in Room 7 which was compact and bijoux, ideal for our brief visit. The room was cosy, nice and bright with a wall-mounted flatscreen TV, good selection of tea, coffee and biscuits and a large fully opening window and co-ordinated bedding, cushions and towels with a small but perfectly equipped bathroom and hot shower. Plus a lovely home-cooked breakfast awaiting us the following morning. Already booked and looking forward to our extended stay in August for the Lytham Proms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieBabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for the great review, it was really nice to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again. The rooms whilst compact are clean and the bed was comfy, Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was good I had the works. What made the stay though was how friendly and helpful the people were.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquipotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for the review it was really nice to meet you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Was expecting this B&B to be very good as it's scored number 4 of those in St Annes and previous reviews good. Our room (the large family room) was very nice and comfortable bed, however the bathroom needed a better clean, as it was moldy in places. The breakfast both days was overcooked, dry and rather disappointing (again, given other reviewers experiences). Veggie sausages were provided on request. Bacon both days was very tough and poor quality. The dining room was very cold both mornings as we ate our breakfast, although our bedroom was plenty warm enough. Found the host Mike rather strange at times, as he crept silently around the rooms, though he did become more friendly during our stay. Very down-to-earth host couple.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Hi

Thankyou for taking the time to write the review.

Obviously we are a little disappointed that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay.

We're glad you enjoyed the room and accept that the silicone and grout in the shower needed updating. The slight discolouration, unfortunately, can't be cleaned off but they will be cut out and replaced.

We are particularly disappointed with your comments about breakfast. We pride ourselves on only using quality ingredients i.e Hovis bread, Heinz beans, Kenco coffee etc and our bacon is sourced from a local quality butcher.
We are taken aback you felt the breakfast was 'dried up' and really wish you had mentioned it to us at the time, allowing us the opportunity to rectify the matter.

Again we are sorry you felt cold in the dining room. We do have portable convector radiators for additional heating just such occasions had we realised.

Finally, 'Mike being rather strange', family and friends won't let me live that one down. The idea of me 'creeping silently' anywhere is beyond their imagination.
I'm really sorry I came over that way, in short I was ill. I was in great pain with gout in my left ankle making moving about very difficult, confining me mostly to the ground floor rooms and leaving me feeling unwell.

Hope we see you again

Mike and Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night as visiting family locally. Location was great, very close to town centre and short walk to prom. Breakfast had no vegetarian alternative (did inform them before hand) but what we had was lovely and children enjoyed full breakfast. Room was quite compact with bunk beds in but fine for a weekend stay. Nice family atmosphere and hosts made you feel very welcome, would revisit. Good VFM.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraloujman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for the review it was really nice to meet you, we are sorry we don't have a specific vegetarian option breakfasts. We do try to accommodate our vegeterian guests by offering a choice of egg (fried/poached/boiled/scrambled/omlette), beans, mushrooms, tomato and fried bread.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

visiting family in the area,and decided to stay at the Hollingworth,its a very clean hotel,and the owners are friendly.room was a decent size,and a good price,and we enjoyed our breakfast.we will definitely be stopping here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyblair18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thanks for the review it was really nice to meet you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollingworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollingworth

Address: 303 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £37 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hollingworth 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel. We offer 10 rooms, including single double twin and family bedrooms which are all en-suite. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay by providing personal attention to each of their needs and requirements. We pride ourselves that many of our guests have returned year after year. Our hotel is ideally located for an easy stroll along the beach or into St Annes town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hollingworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollingworth Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing