We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly place”
Review of The Hollingworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hollingworth
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly place”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions, for work and pleasure. We are always made to feel welcome, food is lovely with decent portions. Our rooms have always been very clean and comfortable.
When we visit the area again we will continue to use The Hollinworth Hotel and have recommended it to work mates and friends. Thanks to Mike & Debbie for another pleasant stay see you again in five weeks.
Terry

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thankyou for your review it was lovely to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    64
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
98
127
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a smashing stay at Lytham with my wife
Great Lancashire hospitality
The full English breakfast was hot and tasty which set us up for the day.
Rooms clean and comfortable the best we have stayed in for a long while.
Fish n Chips and sea air on the promenade was a wonderful reminder of by gone holidays
Will definitley come back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the Bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunlayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thankyou for your review it was lovely to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had a 1 night stay here with my 4yr old son whilst attending a family Christening in Lytham.

I have stayed at several hotels in the area whilst visiting and have to say this was the best so far.

Rooms are typical of this type of accomodation in the area although in a better state of repair than others I have stayed at. We were in room 3 which is a twin room which was warm and light with TV/DVD, tea making facilites and ok sized en-suite. Beds were comfortable and had an un-disturbed sleep so not much more could ask for there.

Breakfast was typical B&B fare, with a good selection of cereals and fruit to go with the full English. Although you don't normally get magic tricks which my son loved and some toys which he went off and played with.

The couple who own the hotel were very welcoming and chatty and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FadeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thankyou for your review it was lovely to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

we stayed for a weekend and had a lovely time. Debbie and Mike are both welcoming, friendly and very helpful, giving us information for shopping trips & places to visit. Breakfast was very hot and tasty and lots of variety filling us for the day. The only thing we found was the lamps above bed were a little low as kept knocking head on them when sitting up. We would recommend a stay to anyone and have already booked in for a 2nd visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thankyou for your review it was lovely to meet you and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

had a one night stay and that was enough - 4 star it is not, filthy windowsills in the sunroom where we were shown to 1st after being quizzed as soon as we entered through the door about that we shouldnt be arriving while 10pm, told them that we didnt know anything about this and they said, not a problem, but then told us later they had checked online, so obviously it was a problem to them.
The breakfast looked and tasted lovely - too much for me, but my husband devoured it. Only later we regretted this as we both had upset stomachs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notts338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thankyou for the review.

We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

We would, however, like to clarify some of the issues you have raised in your review.

You booked through Laterooms and part of the booking process is a section requesting the time you hope intend arrive with us, the default setting being 1400 hours. The time on the booking we received from Laterooms was 2200 hours.

We knew our other guests were arriving late afternoon and understood you weren't arriving until later so we took the opportunity to replace one of the very large double glazed panels in the sun lounge. The contractor, who was only free Friday morning, assured us he would be finished by early afternoon allowing us sufficient time to clean up. He had not been gone 10 minutes when you arrived.

We apologise that you felt quizzed. We felt a little caught on the hop and it was not our intention to make you feel uncomfortable. We laughed off the misunderstanding and showed you to straight to your room. we hadn't realised was it was such an issue, sorry.

We feel particularly disillusioned that you marked us so low for 'service'.
We rearranged the schedule of our rooms just to accommodate your request so that you could extend your stay in the room until lunchtime on the day of departure. We wanted you to be able to take to get ready for the function you were attending in the afternoon. Apart from being initially taken back when you arrived earlier than we had anticipated we're not sure what more we could have done.

Finally, we take very seriously the implication that the breakfast gave you upset stomachs. As you are aware we had other guests who were with us throughout the weekend and ate full breakfasts each morning. We also ate from the prepared food, nobody else suffered upset stomachs. We can only assume your upset stomachs were caused by eating or drinking elsewhere and we hope you are now feeling better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013

we stayed here with our kids for the one night. we had a family room with bunk beds which the kids loved and we even had a dvd which we used, watching a film in bed when we got in ! it was centrally located for the front and the shops, pubs etc.however, the best part about our stay was the couple who owned it. they were very friendly and great with the kids, even doing magic tricks at our breakfast table to entertain our 2 young children ! would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thanks for the review, it was lovely to meet you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Had a one night stay at Mike and Debbie's due to visiting relatives in St Annes. Stayed in Room 7 which was compact and bijoux, ideal for our brief visit. The room was cosy, nice and bright with a wall-mounted flatscreen TV, good selection of tea, coffee and biscuits and a large fully opening window and co-ordinated bedding, cushions and towels with a small but perfectly equipped bathroom and hot shower. Plus a lovely home-cooked breakfast awaiting us the following morning. Already booked and looking forward to our extended stay in August for the Lytham Proms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanieBabe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHollingworth, Owner at The Hollingworth, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thanks for the great review, it was really nice to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ashton Park Hotel
The Ashton Park Hotel
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollingworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollingworth

Property: The Hollingworth
Address: 303 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel. We offer 10 rooms, including single double twin and family bedrooms which are all en-suite. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay by providing personal attention to each of their needs and requirements. We pride ourselves that many of our guests have returned year after year. Our hotel is ideally located for an easy stroll along the beach or into St Annes town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hollingworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollingworth Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing