We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Prefect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garlicks Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Lytham in Bloom.
Lythams Famous Green and windmill.
Four championship Golf Courses.
A Spectacular fire-work display held on the Saturday night of lytham proms festival.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley P
1 review
“Prefect”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful, character filled cottage within walking distance of Lytham town centre. Sue made me feel right at home and all the thoughtful touches in the cottage made it perfect. I would highly recommend Garlicks Cottage to anyone - hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review, hope you'll come back and visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“quiet contentment”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Second visit to Garlicks Cottage. Well located for shopping, dining out and leisurely walks. Sue made us very welcome, nothing too much trouble. Will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to see you again for your 2nd visit to Garlicks cottage, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian C
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Hidden gem !!”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Garlicks cottage in Lytham is a genuine hidden gem. It is small, beautiful, a cut above the norm and a real example of the rich cloth of Lytham's ancient history from the time it was a small fishing village - well before the Domesday Book. The premises were, formerly, a fisherman's cottage and the building is part of a terrace of such. It is so cosy and comfortable and retains a lot of its original character and is welcoming to doggies. However, Garlicks cottage offers a fully equipped modern kitchen and central heating with every comfort that you would expect and is adjacent to the main town street, pub, shops and sea front. Our weather was foul but our stay was sublime! Sue, our landlady,was the epitome of a gracious host who greeted us with lovely gifts and a bottle of wine. We cannot sing the praises of Garlicks cottage sufficiently enough - but the proof of the pudding is in the eating. So give it a try !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
How lovely, thank you so much for your very in depth review of Garlicks cottage, you have certainly done your research, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please do come again, a review as such deserves perhaps 2 bottles of wine thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anastacia...
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“compact and bijou!”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a lovely cottage near to shops, restaurants and the sea. It does not have a specific parking place but we had no problem parking on the road very near by.
Nice big comfy settee and chairs and nice selection of DVDs and books available for guests. Beds were absolutely wonderfully comfy-hard to get out of!!
All kitchen items provided as was bedding and towels.
especially appreciated the 11am checkout-the extra hour makes such a difference.
Only point that you need to take account of is that it is quite small upstairs, the best use has been made of the space available but probably best to manage the amount of stuff you take.
would happily return if I went back to Lytham

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review of Garlicks cottage, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggmmss11
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage near to shops and sea.”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage is very nicely decorated and well kept. It was cosy and warm even in February. The welcome package is a nice touch. All amenities were provided. On the downside, the stairs are very narrow and steep and would be difficult for an infirm or very elderly person. All shops, cafes etc are within walking distance and there is a Wetherspoons at the end of the road. Close to the sea with some good dog walking areas nearby. It's a bit difficult to find, look out for the Garlicks Cottages sign high up on the wall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review of Garlicks cottage. Yes the stairs are quite steep and narrow and is pointed out in the cottage details that they may not be suitable for people with dexterity problems, I understand your wife had a knee problem so would in all probability struggle with the stairs for which I am sorry. Otherwise I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amtails
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a fantastic place to relax, the cottage was warm and had all the comforts of home,wifi was a real plus for us. Sue met us on arrival ensured we had everything we needed, thought the flowers and wine were a lovely touch. Hardly used the car because the cottage was so central to everything. Amazing, thank you Sue it was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind review of Garlicks cottage, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage, perfect location and Lytham is amazing”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Garlicks Cottage is compact and characterful, it has all that you need for a relaxing break in a wonderful place. The cottage was warm, with adjustable heating, clean and relaxing. Our dog was more than happy with the front garden to stretch his little legs before bed. I was surprised at how busy Lytham is during the freezing month of January, there were dog walkers on the green and along the sea front, the gardens were busy, we couldn't get into the cafe, which is dog friendly, for a cup of tea, the shops were bustling. There is a Booths supermarket just around the corner from the cottage, which is perfect for forgotten bits and pieces. Everything was in walking distance from the cottage, you could park up and not need to use your car until it was time to go home. Sue, who owns the cottage was very welcoming and friendly, she put fresh flowers in the cottage along with a bottle of wine, tea, coffee and milk. I can't praise this place highly enough, will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Wow...thank you so much for your lovely and very detailed review of garlicks cottage and lytham, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing