We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip”
Review of Clifton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We arrived on Sunday Afternoon after a terrible drive across the Pennies in the rain. Our room was on the first floor which was o.k. as there is a lift. When we opened the door of our room we were a little dispointd to find that it was located at the rear of the hotel and the window looked out on to a brick wall and the roof. This made the room very dark.
We had reseved Dinner for 7.30p.m. and we greeted by a very helpful man who showed us our table in the window. Very romantic. The meal out lovely, tasty, the meat was cooked how we had asked for. Both the starter and the Desert were excellant.
We have enjoyed two nights at the Clifton and we would recommend that you give to a try is you want a quiet hotel by the sea.

Room Tip: Try not to ask for room 109 as it is dark and facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labaker-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear labaker-11, Thank you for your recent review. Your recommendation is much appreciated, particularly as you stayed and dined with us. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your meal and that you chose us to celebrate your anniversary with. We hope that you will return again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    84
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
92
143
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

but not when your bedroom is right above the reception and you are nothing to do with the wedding !

Hotel is fine, and on the whole the staff are great.... apart from the night manager who shouted at me when I suggested that we shouldn't have been put in room 115, right above the disco when we were nothing to do with the wedding. We all enjoy a good party, but when Black Eyed Peas are rattling you bed with " I gotta feeling ! " at twenty to one in the morning it sort of takes the edge off the nice quiet weekend with the family you expected.

Don't get me wrong , the Bride looked lovely and I'm sure they all had a great wedding at the Clifton, but I wish I was in one of the nice, quiet, empty bedrooms not being used by the dancing party while we were stuffing toilet roll in our ears ! The only thing missing in room 115 is a disco ball !

We did get a £50 discount off our £2000 bill, ( We had another 5 nice and quiet rooms ) but I do have to wonder how as my wife booked in with her 90 year old father on the Thursday, it was ever imagined we were part of a wedding party for Saturday.

Another little annoyance was that we were being encouraged to take breakfast in bed on the Sunday Morning because they were going to be busy in the dining room . Don't understand the sense in that ! Surely that harder for everyone, and hardly what we want when the family get together infrequently.

Let's sum it up. Hotel is nice. Staff are nice. Food is nice.

Personally, I need a nice relaxing weekend away to get over my nice relaxing weekend away !

Phil Barber

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Phil, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that your stay was inconvenienced by the wedding entertainment. The fact that you were allocated a room above our Ballroom is completely unacceptable so I have spoken to those concerned and, particularly, the Night Manager. I'm frustrated as you were given the wrong market code of function, being a group booking, so everyone assumed you were all attending the wedding. Please accept my sincerest apologies. As for the offer of room service breakfast, I agree that this would be a further inconvenience to you and us! We are extremely busy at breakfast on a Sunday morning but service is never compromised and we do extend the time to 10.30am when needed to ensure every guest enjoys our breakfast. On the plus, I'm delighted that apart from the 2 negatives, you did all have a great stay with regards to the hotel facilities offered, the service from our team and the quality of food. We hope you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel is a class act...solid,reliable,quality with pleasant friendly staff, excellent service and comfortable beds. We had a lovely room with open view to the beach...so nice we didn't want to leave it and go downstairs. The breakfast was very good with eggs cooked perfectly to order. And when we got back after a party with the need to nibble, the manager delivered freshly cooked potato crisps to our room to have with our wine. What a star!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Anne P, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Our crisps are fantastic, especially if you have the midnight munchies! I hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday, initially we had only booked for the Saturday and had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea.

We then decided to book an additional night (Friday) unfortunately there was only a room at the back of the hotel available for the Friday, however the manager said to leave all our luggage on the bed and the staff would move them on Saturday which they did-thank you to the staff.

Although we did not dine in the restaurant in the evening (we had arranged to meet friends) we did have two very good breakfasts, excellent choice and very pleasant staff, a great way to start the day/s.

We had a drink in a very nice bar, an unexpected bonus was two cask ales, Copper Dragon and Theakstons bitter, both in excellent condition, well done to the bar staff.

All in all a very pleasant stay with friendly staff and a very well presented hotel, no complaints whatsoever, would definitely stay again.

Finally, thank you Ian for showing us some beautiful rooms which have been very well redecorated and tastefully furnished, that little bit of extra attention to detail which makes a big difference.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlook the sea, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear George J, Thank you for your recent review. My team really appreciate great feedback so 'no complaints whatsoever' is fantastic recognition of their hard work. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A great location on the front at Lytham but 2 minutes from the town centre this characterful hotel is being refurbished without impact on visitors. We had a spacious newly decorated room which was comfortable with all the amenities needed including free wifi. There is a good car-park with the best real ale pub for some miles adjacent!
The breakfast was really good with chef cooked options that are promptly delivered by very friendly staff.
There are a selection of shops and good restaurants only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: There are sea views available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagpieSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear MagpieSteve, Thank you for your recent review. Lytham is a fantastic place to visit so I'm delighted that you were impressed with both the town & us. We look forward to welcoming you for many more stays.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is located in a perfect position in Lytham, with views from the hotel of the lovely coast to die for. We sat out in the lovely gardens to catch the views. And just around the corner is the lovely town with a lovely holiday feel of open pavement cafes and nice little shops, no shopping malls. We only stayed 1 night but were sorry to leave. I did have a issue on arrival with the cleaning of my bathroom, which was dealt with, but no apology from the management, of which I did expect, please note, a bottle of wine with my dinner would have been appreciated in respect of this, as it was not nice to have to complain about poor cleaning standards. Although the rest of the day went very well with excellent attention from all the staff who were all kept busy with a lovely wedding which was taking place. We had a excellent meal in the restaurant with a lovely waitress who could not do enough for us. The steak was one of the best my hubbie had for a long time. I had the fish was was perfect, it is fine dining, and the sweet menus were a bit fussy but different. Breakfast was just the same, very enjoyable and prompt attention from the staff. We choose the Chairmans room 123 which was lovely furnished, very modern and bright, lovely beds, with a large bathroom. Only problem was the window opening, only one of them, as it was very warm the room was very uncomfortable for sleeping in. Perhaps the other windows should have had openings.I can see that the Hotel is under refurbishment as some parts are very out of date, perhaps a large display of flowers at reception would take away some of the rather old drab appearance. Thanks to the lovely man on the desk late on at night who provided me with fresh milk for my cuppa! In all a lovely hotel which I would reccomend.

Room Tip: 123 was lovely, but very warm due to small window opening. Views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear JudyxxxPunch, Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the cleanliness issue you experienced. I'm glad this was rectified immediately once you notified us, the Housekeeping Manager or Duty Manager should have taken over when informed by Reception. I'm sorry that this didn't happen and I will speak to the relevant people. Maintenance are also looking into the openings on the windows which you have suggested. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the detail which you have given with this review as we really do appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative. I'm pleased that you were impressed with the food and service too. With regards to the tiredness of the hotel, we are refurbishing the ground floor areas this September/October so you will notice a considerable change when you visit again. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holty10
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hi I went to a wedding at Clifton Arms last weekend. The venue was nice and I really enjoyed the wedding but I was very disappointed that as a guest at a wedding there, I wasn't staying there. The reason I didn’t stay there was....
I had read reviews of the hotel and could see that the negative reviews tended to be older ones that had been written before refurbishment had started at the hotel and/or were reviews by people that had recently stayed in the non refurbished rooms. I therefore, only wanted to book a stay in one of the refurbished rooms. The woman that was dealing with my enquirey (via email), was very helpful and got back to me quickly but said that rooms are allocated the night before so she could not guarantee me a refurbished room.
I am sure that she was just working within hotel policy but I thought it such a shame that they couldn’t guarantee a refurbished room when I tried to book. In the end I booked elsewhere, as I didn’t want to risk being disappointed by getting there and having an old room. I was slightly confused about why they can’t allocate rooms on first come first served basis and give the refurbished rooms out first. There may be a valid reason for this and I know the Manager responds to posts so I will await the explanation......!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear hotly10, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the fact that we couldn't guarantee a refurbished room. I completely understand the point which you are making and I'm glad you have given me the opportunity to provide an explanation. If I use this weekend in question as an example, we had a wedding on Friday, Saturday & Sunday. This meant that we were virtually fully booked. As many guests were arriving on the Thursday, if they had all been allocated refurbished rooms, this would mean that there would be no refurbished rooms left for those arriving on the Friday and the same would apply to the following days. We do make requests for refurbished rooms on the bookings and, as the majority of rooms have been refurbished, most guests are allocated the refurbished rooms but we would rather be honest at the time of booking as we will not be able to guarantee this until all the rooms are finished. What I would suggest is that to guarantee a refurbished room, you book a room type where all the rooms are complete, these are the Cottage Side Suites, Directors Doubles & Chairmans Doubles. Perhaps this should have been suggested at the time of booking so I will speak to Reception, but I suspect that these rooms were already booked as many of the weddings make group reservations. Aside from this, I'm delighted that you enjoyed the wedding reception and I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
937 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
800 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
906 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Arms Hotel

Property: Clifton Arms Hotel
Address: | West Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clifton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Arms
Clifton Arms Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing