We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clifton Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mode Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$137
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clifton Park Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chadwick Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Prom Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$183
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lindum Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dalmeny Resort Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
US$166
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ives Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Hotel - Lytham(Lytham St Anne's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Lytham St Anne's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
243
94
37
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
94
37
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the greeneggs cooked to orderhuge bay windowtraditional hotelfriends weddingkippersnight managerwatch the worldlovely hotelbirthday treatsunday lunchroom was largelast weekendbar areabottled waterthree nightswonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our 42nd Wedding Anniversary was on 26 February, so as a special treat we booked Afternoon Tea here.
We have been twice before & it was delicious but on this it was very disappointing. The scones were very ungainly, not at all apetising looking & not hot like they used to be. Most disappointing of all was the lack of choice regarding cakes, there was a piece of Millionaires shortcake each & Macaroon each. As we don't eat Macaroons we asked for replacements, all we were offered was another piece of Millionaires shortcake. For the calibre of hotel we found this amazing! Considering we paid £40,One Afternoon tea with Champagne & one ordinary, it is greatly overpriced. We would have been better spending our money for a lunch out somewhere else. We will not go again unless we hear of an improvement in Afternoon Tea. Our expectations were definitely not met on this occasion

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Lancashirefemale, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you found our afternoon tea to be disappointing on this occasion. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we can reconsider the cakes on offer and the quality of the scones. We receive many compliments about our afternoon tea so I hope that you will return.
Kind regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The room was very nice, the staff very helpful and friendly.
In addition to this it was very close to the vibrant centre of Lytham which has many bars and coffee houses. The hotel has an excellent menu and there are good car parking facilities at and around the hotel. The location is such that you can have a walk on the seafront before breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea views,ours was one if these. It was on the side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Janet H, Thank you for your recent review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do have an enviable position opposite Lytham Green yet close to the heart of the town. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

First visit to Lytham to attend a friends wedding. A lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. All the staff we came into contact with were helpful and polite. Would recommend the hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arundells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Arundells, Thank you for your recent review. My team work so hard to deliver a high standard of service that such great feedback is truly appreciated. I'm delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would have no hesitation in recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Not a 4 star hotel to my mind. Service good apart from on arrival where they seemed rather confused at reception and not welcoming. Room was large and elegant but dated and a bit scruffy. Slept ok until woken up by neighbour running a bath at 6 am! Breakfast ok. Black pudding and sausages not great and don't expect a buffet at a 4 star even though eggs were cooked to order. Will stay again but won't necessarily look forward to it next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grasiemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Grasiemck, Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment you felt during your stay. I have spoken to the relevant departments and I appreciate your constructive criticism so that we can improve. Unfortunately, we have to offer a buffet at breakfast due to the size of the restaurant but we do offer cooked to order so I would recommend this for your next visit. With regards to the bedrooms, we have refurbished the majority and this is a continuous process. I hope you will see an improvement next time you stay.
Kind regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from another few days. The Clifton Arms is well worth a visit. Fantastic sea view room. Spotlessly clean and comfortable and made so by an excellent team of housekeeping staff. Restaurant and reception staff as always helpful and courteous. Food delicious and good choice. If you are planning a trip to this area please give the Clifton Arms a try.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rugor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Rugor, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you enjoy your stays with us so much and that you find our standards consistently high each time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews