We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last year!”
Review of Clifton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Even better than last year!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I returned to the Clifton Arms Hotel in Lytham for my second visit in 14 months. Once again it was a treat for my 80 year-old parents. We booked rooms on the front of the hotel again (Chairman's) and after the wonderful experience last year, we were expecting great things. As it turned out, we were even more impressed than last time. My parents had been allocated exactly the same room as in May 2013, but it had been improved and refurbished very nicely. I was given the room next door (The Churchill Suite) which was luxury itself. Not only that, but the reception, bar and lounge have all been refurbished and look stunning. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the food in the restaurant was imaginative, top-quality and served by attentive and friendly staff.
As a final bonus, the hotel altered my room rate for single occupancy which saved me £120. Many hotels would just overlook this (it was my initial error). All in all, a lovely stay and the Clifton Arms Hotel remains the only place to stay in this area.We will be returning again!

Room Tip: If you can, book a Director's or Chairman's room on the front of the hotel. The seasonal spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Andrew M, Thank you for your recent review. I'm pleased that you were so impressed with your recent stay. We have been busy refurbishing the bedrooms and public areas, this will continue throughout 2014/5. Our team work extremely hard to provide such a high standard of food and service so your fantastic recognition is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    83
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
91
135
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

In many ways the Clifton Arms goes back to a bygone era and as a consequence modern amenities such as air conditioning are lacking. On the positive side the rooms have modern decor and they are clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning is well above average and when you add in the magnificent view from the dining room it make for the ideal start to the day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Claude B, Thank you for your recent review. Unfortunately, we only have air conditioning in the public areas but we will consider for the bedrooms as part of our refurbishment programme. We do provide fans. I'm delighted that you were impressed with the decor though and our breakfast is always very popular. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have been going to this hotel over many years both to stay with my husband and also with my friends for lunch in as many years! We have always been made very welcome and the staff are both friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room we stayed in was the Churchill Suite and it is an excellent room with a view of the sea and promenade. The Hotel is central to the town with very nice shops and cafes

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are large and sunny and very spacious. We haven't stayed at the back but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Christine, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you are continually impressed with each visit you have to us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This shambling hotel is no doubt a relic of the past in some ways, but no bad thing really. Very friendly staff and reasonable value, but in need of some TLC and a little more artistic taste - the drab brown chairs, carpets and even walls in the dining rooms are not very uplifting.
Notable that Rotary meet there. Our room had a fabulous view, and the location is super.
We didn't stay in for dinner as we found a host of bistro type restaurants just out of the back door in a very trendy part of the town.Breakfast was ok though. Only gripe with the rooms concerned :
1/the lighting - not bright enough to read even after the five minutes for the ancient energy-saving bulbs had warmed up ( time for LEDs? ) and 2/ the fact that we cold not turn off the towel rail in the bathroom on a very warm evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Walter O, Thank you for your recent review. You will be pleased to know that we are continuing our refurbishment which includes all the bedrooms being completed by next year and a transformation of the dining room. We have a fantastic team and an enviable position opposite Lytham Green yet close to the heart of the town centre so I hope you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last ten years. We have always been well pleased with our large rooms with the beautiful view. This time we had our family with us for two of our four nights. The staff were all very helpful and accommodating to all seven of us. The food was superb. The food has always been nice but this visit I have to say the meals were extra special and the presentation delightful.We now have the lovely memory of a very special weekend at The Clifton Arms.
Kind regards and our grateful thanks to all at the hotel.
Liz Mowat

Room Tip: Directors and chairmans are lovely spacious rooms and all have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Liz, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted you are pleased with each of your visits as consistency at such a high standard is difficult to maintain and the staff work very hard to achieve this. Such positive feedback is really appreciated by our team, particularly, the kitchen brigade who are dedicated to the 2 AA Rosette fine dining menu that they've created. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend for my parent's 60th Anniversary and I can't thank the staff enough for making the weekend so memorable.All the meals we had over the course of the weekend were prepared with an eye for detail and were really delicious.
The room was spacious,comfortable and linen, towels and toiletries were of excellent quality.
Finally,where the hotel is extra special is with some of the older guests- nothing seemed to be too much trouble - and each guest was made to feel special.
Thank you all at the Clifton Arms for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: 224 had a panoramic view but if the temperature is over 70 F a fan is necessary as the window only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Sorce, Thank you for your recent review. Our staff pride themselves on the high standard of service they provide so your comments are truly appreciated. The kitchen will also be particularly pleased as they're always striving for perfection. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special family occasion and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for three nights with 93 year old mother.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Our rooms had brilliant views, were spotlessly clean, had comfy beds and were tastefully decorated. The breakfasts were excellent, with ample choice and good service and there was no rush for us to leave. We couldn't fault the coffee, snacks and light meals in the brasserie.

There is ample parking and Lytham town centre is only a few minutes walk away. We also booked a beach hut in St Annes for a day which. with the hotel, made the holiday!

Mum left her nightdress which was returned to us promptly by post!!

I'll definitely return with my husband and bring my mum back again too.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has the fantastic views but there is a little traffic noise from the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sue M, Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you were so impressed with your stay. We really appreciate the detail that you have given, I'm sure others will find the comments helpful. Returning is the best compliment we could have so we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
792 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
552 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
411 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Arms Hotel

Property: Clifton Arms Hotel
Address: | West Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clifton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Arms
Clifton Arms Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing