We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent....................”

St. Annes Old Links Golf Club
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Simply excellent....................”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Warm welcome when we arrived and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Brilliant golf course.
We all said if this were our home course you would never tire of playing it!
Only very minor gripe was the walk across the course to the range but all in all a fantastic, friendly place with a superb golf course that was in top condition.
If in the area we would always come back to play this gem!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Links Course”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent links golf course with big true greens. You will find that it has more bunkers than you might have friends. Staff are friendly and will look after your needs. Played here on our Seniors Spring Break in a group of 8 fourballs. Most enjoyable with a very good meal afterwards. Thanks to all concerned especially Dan the caterer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Golf course in supreme condition; Facilities excellent; Staff friendly and welcoming; Catering brilliant - lovely food and nice, friendly staff. Excellent Pro Shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissie9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as its neighbours”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

There are a lot of good golf courses along this coast. Needless to say the big money goes to Royal Lytham. Those visitors don't know what they're missing here. St Annes Old Links is a gem. I played it in a gale in April last year and, although it was tough and my score was abysmal, I was highly impressed with the layout and condition of this course. It's a test of golf in any weather and it's steeped in golfing history. I'll be coming back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mursh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Picturesque and magical.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I played this beautiful course one evening in early September with a couple of members who had invited me to play with them..

A warm early autumnal evening, with barely a whisper of a wind meant conditions were perfect. Keep it low and on the fairway - don't try to kill the drives was the advice given...and it worked a treat.

The signature par 3 9th lived up to its name - a picturesque sheltered green, protected by what looked like a dozen or so pot bunkers. I came away with a 3 which was pleasing.

As evening fell, the shadows produced what appeared to be as lunar landscape across the course - truly magical.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david8242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Annes Old Links Golf Club also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to St. Annes Old Links Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing