We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such A Shame”
Review of Elsinghurst Hotel

Elsinghurst Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elsinghurst Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Unfortunately, it took us a very long time to travel to Lytham as there were accidents and road works all along the way. We phoned the Elsinghurst to let them know that it would take us at least another hour to get there and explained the problem. Exactly an hour later our phone rang to check that we were still going. Upon arrival, my partner entered the building before myself....I was still entering the door when I heard the the host ask my partner if he was paying by cheque or cash in quite an abrupt manner!! We paid straight away and were told that breakfast would be from 8.30 to 9.30 am.
Next morning we were quite pleased with the breakfast that was on offer and then we went out until 10 p.m. We didn't see either Mr or Mrs Godfrey at all that day.
After a long windy day I decided to have a hot shower before going to bed.....unfortunately the water was far from being hot....so I ended up having a bath.....in a very narrow bath I may add.
Next morning my partner started to take some of our luggage back to his van....this was at 9.05 am.....only to be told that we couldn't have a hot breakfast....but we could have a cup of tea and toast!! The host then 'politely' went into the breakfast room and turned the light off!!! We were quite shocked at this but carried on taking our luggage out ready to leave. When we went to hand our keys in he told us that breakfast is actually from 8.00 till 9.00 am weekdays. When we stated what we had been told upon arrival he said oh yes....it was a misunderstanding....and a mistake on his side. So if it was his mistake....which it definately was......why didn't he do something to rectify the situation?
Its a shame because even though The Hotel was very basic, it was also very clean and we had decided that if we went back to Lytham again we would go back there instead of hunting for somewhere else to stay. Having worked and lived in a restaurant/bed and breakfast myself, I do know that the host's attitude was very wrong and he certainly doesn't encourage people to go back there with that kind of attitude.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GremelinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Elsinghurst Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2008

The Elsinghurst hotel is a great place to stay, I was there for five weeks at the start of the year and had a wonderful time. Colin and Barb's were excellent hosts and looked after very well.
The food was great, And st annes is a great place but a bit cold for an aussie like me.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chutney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We stayed at the Elsinghurst Hotel on a Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal basis and found it to be excellent value for money. The food was top notch and the service was fab. The host and hostess Barbara and Colin were very hospitable and the staff very warm and friendly.

The accommodation was very nicely decorated and exceptionally clean, we had everything we required to make our stay very enjoyable indeed and we would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MummyBearScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

This is a very mediocre establishment. Upon arrival we were greeted (?) by the very surly hostess who insisted on cash or cheque in advance and would not accept credit cards. Yet the credit card number was taken when booking. We can see why now because if we had known how bad it was we would have found somewhere else to stay. We were given a room which had not been fully prepared for us, beds not made. We were then given another room. This room had furniture which didn't match and was very threadbare. . After a night out visiting Blackpool -- somewhere we had not visited for over 40 years and will not be returning to. We met the host in the bar and he was very friendly and helpful. Then on retiring to our room we found the beds were most uncomfortable and smelly. In the morning we had a shower which was freezing cold and would not warm up. We then went to breakast where we were served by the unfriendly hostess, full english ok if a bit on the small side. Then upon leaving left keys with unfriendly hostess which did not enquire if we enjoyed our stay or if we would return, very unsociable person, we felt and as we were only staying overnight for a funeral and knew we would never return we did not say anything.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Barrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

We have just come from an overnight stay which was very good,very pleasant and near all facilities,the rooms were very lean and bright and the proprieties were very helpful,we will definetly return.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank hillanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ashton Park Hotel
The Ashton Park Hotel
#14 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
811 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sea Croft Hotel
The Sea Croft Hotel
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsinghurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsinghurst Hotel

Address: 34 Derbe Road, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £28 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Elsinghurst Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing