We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whist holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Whist holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have stayed at the Bedford on a couple of occasions now, and a group of us have 2 more bookings coming up shortly. A previous review on the whist hosts Mr and Mrs Stewart were totally inaccurate, and very insulting. This couple do an excellent job in hosting whist drives, as many people will confirm. The hotel is better than most 5-star places that I have been to over the years, with outstanding service, friendly and attentive staff, and cleanliness. The food is absolutely first class (although a plainer option on the menu would cater for those who prefer a traditional plain meal). Could not find fault with the Bedford on any level, and Carl, Graham, and team deserve enormous praise for the fantastic job that they are doing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnyjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    69
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
129
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We first stayed at The Bedford in 1995, we have returned a number of times since, whenever we have stayed in Lytham St. Annes, we haven't been for quite a few years, but, it was nice to return and find it still as lovely as ever. Great to see familiar faces, and everything was great.
We will be returning again as soon as we are able to.
Great position for shops and nice restaurants.
Visited Blackpool Air Show for the 2 days, and it was lovely to walk back in to the Bedford after the long days out watching a great free Air display.
Would fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We have only ever stayed in the front rooms, and they have been very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buxhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good location, and facilities. Food excellent and attentive staff (I only turned around to say good bye to friends to see my partially finished breakfast disappearing!!!! Hence downgrade to 4).Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute add on to a two night weekend, we moved to the Grand on a pepaid rate- so couldnt have changed our booking schedule if we had wanted. Before i go on i will say the Grand may have the wow factor but i suffered a massive injury in their hotel and they are doing their level best not to address this. That comment was for the grand not for the bedford .

Started with the journey ,booking the hotel with Beverley - ;lovely woman

Hotel is popular with the elder guest but we are only in our early 40's and really enjoyed it, special thanks to the receptionist Emma and the bar lady - sorry cant remember your name, had a great chat over the history of the hotel and the pet parrot tinka ..

I came to this area to get some sun and pay homage to my late mum whos wish was to retire to this area until she sadly suddenly died .

Hotel has no expense spent , everything is of the highest quality from the capets , furnishings , bath towells , china cups in the room, bedding, tiling .

Bfast was good but i have a pet bug of butter in butter pats - please look at putting your butter in a dish on the tables or getting it brought in as the midland hotel in manchester does - prob cheaper- check it out it will be a saving.
Servers at bfast worked hard and were highly efficent.

Like the fact they do bodrum for the coffeee.

Please go , i think this is a special hotel for the discerning traveller - we loved it and we were young. lol

We did have a club room with two double beds, the size was good.

Room Tip: book a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNNY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have had a five night break in June 2013 and from booking through to departing it was an excellent short holiday.The staff,decor,cleanliness,and food was very very good.One could not find a better hotel to stay in very close to the center of St Annes and should you require there are excellent transport links.This is a family run hotel and it is obvious that they want you to have a perfect stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good just ask when booking and they will truthfully describe the location,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upperlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel has been "family" run for some 20+ years and it has a friendly ambiance. The staff went out of their way to help. The room, whilst not typical modern purpose built style hotel, was a welcome change from many hotels, as it combined modern facilities with a more warming style. The Bedford Hotel is ideally situated for the sea front and shopping areas - a short stroll. Sitting outside taking in the sun, means there is traffic passing and associated noise but the upside is that the road is not a busy one. Food was great with the special chef's choice good. Free WiFi was appreciated. My friend is a regular guest which is how I came to visit. A welcome find and consequently it is a well recommended hotel.

Room Tip: I had room at back of hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaurauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews from booking .com, the hotel is a bit dated and could do with being modernised a bit, all of the guests we came across were retired and I would say that the Hotel catered for older generation and Bus tours
The room we had was very hot so we opened the 2 side hopper windows but the main road was outside and the traffic very noisy, if you like soft pillows then bring your own with you
The evening meal we had was at best average and not a lot on the plate however I have to say the breakfast was excellent,
I would not want to put anyone off this Hotel as the Staff were very polite and friendly and could not do enough for you, the Hotel is in a very nice location but the carpark is very limited however there is on street parking close by


Would I stay here again? yes but I will wait until I reach seventy five

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 307-311 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-owned hotel in the heart of Lytham St Anne's with a country house feel. Featured in the AA's "Britain's Best Hotels" guide. Award winning restaurant and superb customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing