We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years eve at the bedford”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

we have just had 3 nights at the bedford, what a lovely hotel warm [ to warm at times ] but we would moan if it was cold, it was lovely food far to much, cooked to the best i have ever had. the entertainment was brilliant the comedian rob more, well so funny and the d.j was very good. we will go back to this lovely family run hotel soon thankyou hilary and dave from derby

Room Tip: everything was very good nothing was to much trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hillstreet055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

I took my mother there for her 95th Birthday, I mentioned this in an email when booking a meal and requesting a quiet table, They brought the dessert out with Happy Birthday written on the plate and a lighted candle in the dessert, all the other diners sang Happy Birthday to her which was lovely.
The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, the food was excellent and the room very comfortable.
The hotel is very well situated for St Annes centre and Lytham is only a short ride away with very good individual shops. The hotel is very close to a lovely sandy beach and there are many things to do in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 578Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having just returned from another whist holiday at the Bedford, I am amazed at how the standards are consistently superb. Don't be fooled by the 3 star rating, as this compares with any 5 star accommodation that I have stayed in before. Excellent food, friendly and professional service, and spotless throughout. The atmosphere hits you as soon as you walk through the door. Once again, all credit to Carl and Graham on maintaining this high standard. Also must mention the excellent service provided by Lynn and Bev on reception, and the incredible food provided by the Chef. The Dining room staff work tirelessly, and the rooms are always cleaned to a very high standard. All in all, you couldn't wish for a better hotel for short or long breaks. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for advice if you have any mobility problems, as a number of rooms have steps to reach them. Mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnyjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This trip was a weekend of ballroom dancing and fun organised by our group, Danceforce Studio
The Bedford is handily placed on Clifton Drive in St. Annes,near to the town centre and a short walk to the promenade. The hotel and staff are used to dealing with a large influx of guests and coped admirably with our large contingent of mainly well behaved dancers!
Although the hotel is spacious and quite interesting with nice decor it is the dining room and the wonderful food that takes an otherwise unexceptional hotel to a different level. It is no mean feat to service a full dining room with food that is not bland and it is in this department that the Bedford hotel excells

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncanne6865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in for comfort and service nothing is too much trouble the food is excellent. It feels like coming home when we go back there. I would and have recommended it to anyone they will have a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior double they are fabulous ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a nice break at this hotel, nice comfortable room. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Lesley and her breakfast staff.
The night guy was a bit grumpy and unaproach-able though, we went into the bar and he huffed and puffed as if he wanted us to go. (He had to take over until it emptied I guess.)

We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, being vegetarian there was one option each night which was just a variation of the same dish, we found a great little Indian restaurant not far from the hotel. (The Bilash Balti)

Like I say the hotel was fine, but we would try something else when we return to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank govanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Needed a hotel to meet some business clients. The Bedford is immaculate with great hospitality.
Rooms were perfect and freshly cooked breakfast was the best I've had. Highly recommended.
Free parking and located next to the square with choice of bars and eating places.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Tonywarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Address: 307-311 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £100 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-owned hotel in the heart of Lytham St Anne's with a country house feel. Featured in the AA's "Britain's Best Hotels" guide. Award winning restaurant and superb customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing