We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us....”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not for us....”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night in mid September, paying £117.50 for a triple sea view room (B&B) – 2 adults, 1 child.

In the context of Blackpool/Fylde Coast hotels in the illuminations season, this was one of the cheaper available properties in the area, the majority being booked, or requiring a 2 night stay.

Check in/out was friendly, quick and straightforward. Our room consisted of 1 double and 1 single bed, both comfortable, with clean bedding and quite a modern look to it. The bathroom was OK with a good powerful shower. The toiletries consisted of 2 small squares of soap. We had our own stuff, but for £117.50/night I would have expected a shower gel dispenser on the wall and/or a few mini bottles.

Our room was situated above the ballroom, where the “Hi-de-Hi” style entertainment is put on. There is a disclaimer regarding noise in the rooms above the ballroom and for the avoidance of doubt, there is a lot of noise until just after midnight! This didn’t really concern us as were up quite late, but not being able to settle in a hotel bedroom until after midnight might be an issue for some people. To be fair, the hotel made the effort to contact me beforehand to confirm that there would be noise and I appreciated this.

Breakfast was a huge disappointment and an exercise in catering for volume over quality in my view. The hot food selection looked really unappetising - hard fried eggs, piles of luke warm bacon and sausages, cheap juice, weak coffee, sachets of ketchup etc all served up works canteen style by an industrial looking kitchen. The croissants and yoghurt pots were delicious though and the restaurant décor was OK (as was the look of most of the public areas in the building).

I wanted to like this hotel and in a lot of respects, it’s a pleasant place, staffed by friendly people – its size gives the look and feel of a hotel, but what was offered came across more like a cheap B&B. OK for one night, but I expected better quality all round for the money we spent – 2 stars or not!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    277
    118
    65
    43
See reviews for
456
164
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had a really lovely weekend here with the family. The food was fabulous and all tasted home made. The entertainment guy on the friday was hysterical and tried to get everyone involved. Most of the staff were great and the location was perfect.

Would definitely recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottieloo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Since staying at the st Ives on whit bank holiday weekend ,we have stayed about 9 or so other weekends.and the reason we keep going back is ,the friendliness of the staff ,who we have got to know over the summer.special mentions for Scott,Emily,Ben,Paul,Kyle,pam and the staff on reception are really nice along with the night managers Steven and Glenn. Really nice genuine people ,who will go out of their way to assist you in your requirements.
The entertainment of a weekend is a really good laugh Paul Martin has a brand of humour that not everyone likes ,but if your not up for it ,he will leave you alone and go on to his next victim lol,but he is great with the kids and he has a way of getting the kids to get the adults involved.
Adrian catch does the show on a Saturday night,he does the kids games etc and then gets the adults involved ,it's all light humoured and a good laugh for all. I don't get why people moan about it being all geared towards the kids and family,s ,because that is what this hotel is all about ,certainly through the summer anyway.
Pier restaurant is fantastic value for money ,and there is enough variation for you to eat there ten times and not eat the same meal twice.
We have also got talking to Michael Webb (the owner) and he is very interested in customer feedback,he was upset to hear that we had an unpleasant experience with a stand in entertainer,and assured us that it would not happen again.

Well done st Ives ,on running a really nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere,and having staff who are only too happy to help you.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise ,and want an early night,don't get a room over the main ballroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

just had a very nice 5-day break at this lovely hotel on the prom at Lythan St.Annes. The staff and management were brilliant - very friendly and helpful. The food is very good with plenty of choice at the self-service restaurant. The rooms are spacious and clean with all the basic necessities to hand. One elderly gent had a fall outside the hotel in the car park, (he bashed his face very badly on the ground), an ambulance was called immediately and he was treated very quickly. The following night the gentleman had to go home but the hotel owner himself came from home at midnight to make sure the guy was ok before travelling home with his daughter. You would be hard pushed to get that sort of service in a top quality London hotel. I would be very happy to spend another short break at this very nice hotel. TRY IT!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Excellent weekend spent at the st ives hotel in st annes on sea.They catered for us from the age of 2 to the age of 73.First class family hotel with the kids well catered for with lots of activities for them throughout the day & night and entertainment for the adults at night as well.Couldn't fault the food from hearty full english or kippers to start the day to steaks and roasts for a well earned evening meal and sticky toffee pud to round it off.All this in the dinner bed & breakfast price can't fault it.So cheers Michael,Pam and all the rest of the staff who made our stay so enjoyable & hope to see you all again real soon.

Room Tip: just ask staff really helpful just explain your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband booked this hotel last minute without checking Trip Advisor.
The location is excellent, the hotel is very clean, staff are very friendly. The reception and restaurant area's are modern. The rooms are very small, shabby and depressing! Breakfast was acceptable. Most of the guests seemed to be families with young children and the entertainment on offer was solely for children. Reminded me of a Butlins Holiday camp back in the 1980's. I did not use the pool as it was very busy. This hotel is overpriced for what it is and what it has to offer.I would not recommend this hotel for couples who want a break away from the kids.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel due to loud music from the disco. Avoid rooms at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jantina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

we have stayed in this hotel 4 times,the staff are friendly and the hotel is clean,the rooms are spacious although some are a little tired,the food is excellent on a serve yourself basis,there is a good sized swimming pool and sauna, the hotel is right on st annes sea front it has a large car park so no concerns there,will certainly go there again,

Room Tip: the sea view rooms are worth the little extra charged
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing