We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

friendly hotel in prime position on the sea front with welcoming staff. Room very good in every way
meals excellent value for money with good choice of dishes. This hotel offers excellent deals.
This hotel is clearly welcoming to families with children and this has created a lovely atmosphere.
Very good base for touring the coast and around.

Room Tip: ask for sea front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our main aim is to offer a great value family friendly hotel, so it is lovely to hear that you experienced this on your stay with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you are next visiting the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    265
    116
    63
    42
See reviews for
426
153
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

we stayed at the st ives from wed16-fri18th oct. been before but this time with our 2 girls. good family bedroom with 2 rooms. rooms clean and tidy though a bit airless because of the heat. the hotel did tend to be on the warm side.Staff were pleasant and helpful. food was really great. biggest gripe was that there was no entertainment for the kids at night and this was during our october half term-though not the english holidays. Lytham iteself was lovely. we caught the no12 bus right outside the hotel and this took us into blackpool.top tip is to keep your bus ticket if you are going to the Pleasure Beach as this will save you the £6.50 entrance fee!!!!!kid you not-charged for walking round the place. anyway back to the hotel a chaeap and cheerful break.TA.

Room Tip: room 53 had a quiet atmosphere tho a bit of going up and down the stairs to get there. worth it if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us earlier this month. It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities but we are sorry that you were disappointed with the entertainment. We usually plan our entertainment around when the majority of schools are off as nowadays the holidays can be so different from one area to another and it is therefore difficult to assess which weeks will be busy with the families. Although the price in comparison to the English half term reflects the reduced entertainment, we appreciate that families do miss the entertainment. We have had several similar comments regards the entertainment for the week you stayed with us and we will therefore take this into consideration when planning our breaks for 2014. Thanks for the top tip about the bus ticket saving you the entrance fee to the pleasure beach! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

It is some months since I stayed at the St Ives, but I feel well qualified in reviewing the place as I have stayed over 100 times through business.

First off, the staff are great - from front of house through restaurant and bar they are all a credit.

The hotel itself is tired and in need of some t.l.c., though the recently refurbished restaurant is fab.

Many of the rooms are peculiar. The layouts are bizarre - especially the family rooms, and locations can be strange too. There was one room located at the r.h.s of the hotel (as you look at it) which was accessed via steep stairs under the main stairs. This basement set of rooms seemed very creepy - even to a burly male 50 year old!

In the same area, there are top floor rooms that are accessed via steep stairs that almost require a map to understand the route. Very strange.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david8242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I would whole heartedly agree that our hotel is unique! The nature of the hotel is it is an old building over a large area so the layout and location of rooms can vary. We have a variety of rooms from doubles, triples, family, interconnecting, apartments etc located throughout the hotel to suit all requirements. Please feel free to contact one of our helpful front office team on 01253 720011 if you would like some advice on room locations at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We visited from the 13-15 Oct which is the Scottish school holidays......there were lots of children in the hotel however the Art Club was closed and there was no entertainment at night. there was a Bridge tournament on and half the ballroom was closed because of this. this spoiled the whole experience. the room also smelled of dampness....we highlighted this to staff however they didnt seem interested. I used to go to the St Ives when my children were small and the entertainment was great. Was really disappointed this time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmiccathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the lack of entertainment during your stay with us in the Scottish school holidays. At the time of booking the Bridge Break we were unaware that the Scottish School Holidays was this week and therefore accepted the booking. We are currently planning our 2014 breaks so are taking account of this to ensure there is no clash next year. We take on board your comments regards the lack of entertainment and will therefore take that into consideration when we plan our breaks and entertainment for 2014. Regards your room I am sorry that you experienced a damp problem. and that you felt like the staff were not interested. Could you please email me details of your room and I will further investigate the problem. I do hope that you will return to us and give us a chance to restore your faith in the hotel and the entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel was nice enough but nothing special. The décor was tired in places and no you aren't drunk the floors in the corridors really do slope one way and then the next. The kettle in the room was full of black sludge and the rooms weren't very sound proof. There was plenty to keep you entertained and the staff were very nice. The breakfast was good but not excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute through booking.com and was attracted by the price mainly (and the reviews) but also location, pool and facilities. From the outset the plentiful staff were friendly and helpful and although the hotel in general is a little tired the family room we got was bigger than expected with 2 separate rooms one with 3 singles and one with a double bed. Two tv's too! The facilities were great, games room for older kids and then art type room and other room with toys for smaller kids. The evening entertainment wasn't too tacky and the bar area was clean and pleasant. The pool was great too, although the cramped changing facilities let it down a bit. My only criticism would be that it was really warm, it felt like the hearing was on full. The breakfast was fab and the kids just loved it. Location was totally central and easy to find. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you were attracted to stay at the hotel and that it exceeded your expectations. We have had a few comments about the heat in the hotel. The heating is on a timer, however I think due to the mild Autumn we have had, heat tends to build up in the hotel. I will review the heating settings with our maintenance team however the nature of British Weather could mean we will need the heat in a few weeks! Thank you for the recommend and hopefully welcome you again in the future. We run some great offers on our own website www.thestiveshotel.co.uk and you can sign up to receive emails of our latest offers if you are interested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the St Ives before (for Christmas parties) but never with our foster children...we are so happy that we have now! We stayed this weekend (Fri-Sun) and yes the weather was wonderful which always helps and yes there were some small issues with the accommodation but nothing worth worrying about!
We didn't realise what a child friendly set up they have at the St Ives. There was family entertainment each evening, activities during the day for the kids, plus the swimming pool.
The meals, although buffet style, were hot and tasty and you could eat as much as you like.
Our room was really great as the children had a seperate but interconnecting room through a sliding door which suited all of us. We had a lovely seaview too...and all of this for £189 dinner, bed and breakfast for the four of us for 2 nights!
Thank you St Ives, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for an inter connecting room if you have young children. Rooms on higher floors are quieter, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipster360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, Owner at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear you returned with the family and enjoyed your stay. Our aim is to offer a great value family friendly hotel so it is encouraging to hear you enjoyed the family friendly facilities and that you found it good value! Great to hear you will be back so look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing