We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab half term break”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fab half term break”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at The St Ives for four nights during half term and had a really lovely time. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable room with adjoining bedroom for the children, plenty to eat with good choices for everyone, lovely pool (changing room could do with a makeover though) brilliant entertainment for the children every night. Very enjoyable family break

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Storrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    268
    119
    64
    42
See reviews for
439
159
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I visited the hotel with my parents, my two children and my nephew during October half-term. Initially I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews. On arrival, my first impression was that the decor was a little tired but the staff were friendly and the pool looked fab.

We were a bit disappointed to find that our rooms were not too near each other but they were on the same floor. The rooms were clean enough and perfectly adequate, again in need of a bit of an update but nothing drastic! We could have also done with some drawers!

The first night we booked to eat at 5 but had to wait for things to be completely ready. There was plenty to choose from but it varied in quality. Again nothing majorly wrong. The entertainment was great for the kids however and they were happy, meaning we were.

On the second night, it was halloween...what a difference! The menu was thoughtfully planned and the food was lovely. The staff all dressed up and it felt like a huge effort had been made. There were lots of things to do. We went into the craft room. The young girl running it was a little inexperienced and didn't interact much with the children (but I am a teacher so probably over-critical). Still, the children enjoyed it. The entertainment was brilliant for the children.

We chose the times we used the pool carefully as it was sometimes very busy but a lovely pool all the same...the kids would have stayed all day!

I would definitely visit again if I could get and offer as we did pay full price which was I felt was on the expensive side - 3 adults and 3 children cost over £700 for two nights. The staff were all lovely and couldn't do enough...they clearly enjoyed their jobs.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the ball room...very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have stayed at the St Ives several time and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are always immaculately clean with all you need for a comfortable stay. The food in the main restaurant is buffet style for both Breakfast and Dinner. The food is always well cooked and presented with a good choice including a daily vegetarian option. At certain times entertainmant is provided including kids activities and evening family acts such as a singer.
All in all the St Ives is a superb venue who go the extra mile to ensure there guests really do have a good break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have been going here since I was a little nipper and i still love it. The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner are fabulous with something for everyone and a big Sunday roast with all the trimmings!!

Kids entertainment, such as magicians and singalongs were great, the playroom and little club they have are great and keep the kids entertained for hours. It's very clean and they have a big dance floor for them all to play.

The pool is lovely and clean with a sauna which is lovely and free to use for everyone, lockers by the pool for your belongings. Pool open till late with a diving board.

Rooms are a little dated but adds to the feel of the place which is lovely and cosy, beds are really comfy with big comfy duvets. Would recommend asking for a sea view or view if the pier which is better than looking out onto the car park and other parts of the building.

All in all it's great fun for everyone, always seats available for everyone, staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you. It's just a lovely place to visit and so close to everything else too, would highly recommend and can't wait for next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned from a four night break at this hotel. After reading some of the reviews on this site we had mixed feelings, however once we arrived these were soon laid to rest. We were quickly booked in and shown to our room, yes we had to go outside to reach it but it was only a few seconds away. The room itself was clean and spacious, because of our requirements we had asked for two adjoining rooms, what we got was one room split in to two with a seperate door, brilliant concept (room 63). Yes the bathroom looked tired and in need of a lick of paint, but like the rest of the hotel it was clean and tidy. As this was hallowen week the hotel was suitably decorated and all the entertainment had a spooky theme. There wereloads of activities organised for the children, yes it was aimed at the primary school age group, but then there are loads of other activities available for the teenagers.
The swimming pool was good, again the changing rooms were tired looking but then so do our local council baths.
The meals were excellent both the breakfast and evening meals are buffet style so there can be no complaints on the quantity of the food, the quality was really good.
Every member of staff we met were really nice and could not be more helpfull.
We are certainly looking at booking again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeBee1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

When I visit my mother in Lytham I always make a point of visiting St Ives with my 2 daughters. This time I took advantage of a £20 pizza and swimming deal. Amazing value as it includes; swimming, 4 soft drinks and 2 large pizzas (which were delicious). We were served by a lovely member of staff who had just come back from maternity leave and normally works nights. She could not have been more helpful and friendly. I always enjoy my visits to the st ives and love the way that none residents are made to feel as welcome as residents. All entertainment is accessible and we look forward to our next visit just before xmas!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have stayed here many times. Its cheap and cheerful. My children love it - so as a stressed parent I am willing to overlook the odd thing. However, this time we paid not a cheap price! and it certainly wasn't cheerful! The cellar room smelt damp and is down a desolate alleyway . It looked and felt like it hadn't been used in ages. We complained but it was the only room left - so we had to stay. Not sure we would ever go back to the St Ives they clearly don't value regulars..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebell123333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 7 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#8 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Ives Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
St Ives Lytham Annes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing