We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ashton Park Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Just returned from a Christmas package at the Langdales. What a wonder time it was. I am a single disabled traveler. This is the first time I have been away since I had my accident. I was worried before I went because I need help with a few things. The hotel staff I could not praise enough. Nothing was too much trouble. They helped in every way possible. The food was wonderful and a varied menu. Best tomatoe soup ever. Entertainment was great. Everything was on the level so there were not problems. Would I book again. I already have and not just for Christmas but I will be there again at Christmas. Thank you Langdales for an excellent Christmas.

Room Tip: no problems. Found the hotel very quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gloria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langdales, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your comments Gloria, its nice to know that we have achieved what we set out to do and that is to make all our guests feel welcome.
The family who own The Langdales Hotel are blessed with the kind and friendly staff they have,
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Had a fantastic time, the staff were brilliant, pool was lovely. Room a little dated but everything else more than made up for it!
They had made a stunning effort with the Christmas decorations which I absolutely adored!
A little too warm for me but I got a lot more comfortable when I turned off the radiator and opened the window.
The young waiting staff worked exceptionally hard and never waivered in the high standard of service they provided, one young man worked a 17hr shift and was as courteous and helpful to me towards the end of his shift as he had been in the morning at breakfast. I found it quite remarkable given the poor reputation our nations youth have these days that there are still incredibly polite and hard working young men still around, I think he will go far in life.
The food in this establishment was absolutely fabulous, could not fault it. Very unexpected to have such good quality food being served to a high volume of people really impressive.
Just one thing really, if guests are staying 2 nights it's really not necessary to have maid service after the first night, save yourselves a bit of money! If you do want to continue with daily maid service then maybe a 'Do not disturb' sign in each room would be helpful.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TortyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

If you're as old as I am, you'll remember that even though Bagpuss was a bit saggy at the seams, Emily loved him. That's the best way to think of Langdales. It is a bit dated but it's clean, there's a pool which is fabulously warm, the breakfast was fine but elevated to wonderful thanks to the team who cooked and served it. Nothing was too much trouble and on asking for extremely crispy bacon, the chef sent the waiter back out to confirm exactly what was required. When it arrived it was perfect.

We travelled as a family, had a large spacious room for the 4 of us. Given the facilities and the breakfast value for money was fantastic. We'll be back next year for more illuminations and a swim in the Landales pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Thank you for your kind words and honesty, we try our very best to please and meet the needs of all our guests, sometimes that is not the case and words of honesty change into cruel words (some of which are unfounded) and this we find very hurtful as a family run Hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us thank you once again.

Hope you all have a Very Merry Christmas from everyone at The Langdales Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Arrived Friday afternoon to a very warm welcome by the very friendly staff.Our room was on the first floor,small but nice and warm for what was a to be a cold weekend,comfortable bed and spotlessly clean,only down side was the shower-room compact and ready for updating to say the least, but for a weekend tolerable.The upside however was the food,everything was excellent and the waiters couldn't have been more obliging nothing was too much trouble for them.We would definitely go again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently while attending a conference & found it to be very comfortable with friendly & helpful staff.Due to time restraints we were not able to take advantage of the pool & sauna which is an added feature.
As we are vegetarians & had not advised the hotel previously, the breakfast was somewhat lacking but after informing them, every provision was made to provide an excellent breakfast. The head waiter & barman were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dicrom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The service is amazing at the hotel and the rooms match the service. I cannot fault the hotel and staff in any way, nothing too much trouble to the staff from check in to check out. Spent 5 nights at this hotel for a mini break to see the illuminations at Blackpool and it's on the doorstep to all the shops. A*****

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dav p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed 5 days Loved it? Staff cannot do enough for you, well positioned great facilities.
Well run family hotel where nothing is too much trouble.
Food excellent very good value for money. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#10 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton Park Hotel

Address: 318-328 Clifton Drive North, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2PB, England (Formerly The Langdales Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Ashton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing