We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in St.Annes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ashton Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
309 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good location in St.Annes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed there for 1 night to go to Lytham Proms- it is three miles from there though.
It was clean but a bit musty in our room. The bedding & towels very spotless.
There is a nicely stocked bar and a pool bit I didn't get chance to see it.
The breakfast was great, no problems there , tasty , hot and quickly served.
The buses 7 and 11 come past the hotel for Lytham.
I would stay there again.
There is a lift too - shame it was broken on one of their busiest nights :(

Room Tip: Room 20 - big and sea view - in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    88
    37
    16
    13
See reviews for
66
89
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night for Lytham Proms. Easy check in and helpful staff. Nice bedroom and clean sheets, as mentioned by a previous reviewer. Just one small thing. The toilet needs a good clean under the rim as it was quite black, probably due to the water in St Annes, but a bit offputting. Breakfast was great. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prbjbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel last night as we were going to lytham proms. Check in very smooth and the lady on reception (owner) was lovely and helpful in advising us about taxis to the event. Room was basic but had everything we needed and when we asked if we could have more coffee for our room it was there in a flash (we do like our cups of coffee). Breakfast was lovely. When we went to put our bags in the car we noticed we had a flat tyre. We went to reception to ask if they new of any shops nearby where we could buy a pump (thingy) and within minutes were advised that they would speak to Terry (son of owner I think). Terry went out and actually bought a pump, came back and sorted the tyre for us. Now that is what we call superb customer service, thank you Terry and the Langdale Hotel, we would definitely stay with you guys again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Firstly it is important for me to say that 'you get what you pay for' and this hotel is not expensive. We stayed here for one night only and I must be honest I wouldn't stay again. It was okay. The bedlinen and towels were very clean, which of course is vital, but the carpet needed a good vacuuming especially under the bed! The breakfast was edible. On the plus side the staff were very pleasant and if you are a bus user the bus stop is outside the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here based on good reviews...we were attending the lytham proms at 5pm on Friday 1st August. The room was supposed to be available from 1:30pm....we had planned to arrive around 2:00pm but due to bad traffic got there just before 4.

There was a queue of people in reception and as each of us checked in and paid, they took our money. .. THEN informed us our rooms were not ready yet. We were not offered an explanation and were asked to wait in the bar. Incredulously, I asked what time our room was going to be ready as we had to shower and get ready to meet our friends at 5pm..."I have no idea" was the response.

When asked why the rooms werent ready, they shrugged and said lots of people that morning had wanted late checkouts and then a staff member had phoned in sick. So basically, they were taking money from the first lot of people for a late check out and then ripping us off by not having rooms ready that we had also paid for!

We went into the bar and went to order drinks while we waited...I asked the barman "I assume you are offering complimentary drinks because of the inconvenience? " He replied that that wasnt possible but that they could stretch to a cup of tea..... we walked back out in disgust.

At 4:45pm I queued up again to speak to the woman on reception, who I believe was the owner, and calmly told her that I understood they were having a bad day, but this was simply not acceptable. They had a bar and reception area full of people due to go to the proms at 5 who couldn't get into the rooms that should have been ready at 1:30 which meant they were in breach of their contract and they were not providing what we had all paid for. She just said "sorry, there's nothing I can do".

We finally got the keys to our room at 4:50pm....because it was so late and our plans were already disrupted, we had no choice but to stay.

The place was clean and had all the basics in the room (hairdryer, tea and coffee etc), but the lift was out of order both days, the beds were small and uncomfortable and the breakfast was very ordinary. We sat there for ten minutes before finally asking someone for some coffee, and could they please take our order. He muttered something about being busy and doing the best he could and would be back. Another ten minutes passed with no sign of him before another staff member finally came and sorted us out.

Im afraid this was just a bad experience from start to finish and we wont be back. A few small gestures in customer service to make up for their failings might have resulted in a very different review.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank HC_Traveller_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for one night.
The room we stayed in was large, but every single thing in the room needs updating.
The curtains were horribly gaudy, the main light fitting on the ceiling had 2 bulbs out, the bedding was awful, the bath had a rotten wooden panel that was hanging off at the edge, there are no plug sockets near either bed - to comfortably dry my hair - I had to haul a chair over to a random socket (not even in reaching distance of the dresser!!).
It is like a very late 80's/early 90's boarding house - no modernisation or attempt at updating.

The staff were ok, and the breakfast was large - yet, unfortunately, they are the only positives.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeePeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay. First visit to hotel. Spotlessly clean, great service, food and facilities. We had a disabled room, loads of space to use a hoist, and bathroom adapted to fit wheelchair. Great location too. Short walk to park, shops, pier and pub! Also great spa treatments on site

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 229Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelangdaleshot... W, Manager at The Ashton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.8 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton Park Hotel

Property: The Ashton Park Hotel
Address: 318-328 Clifton Drive North, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2PB, England (Formerly The Langdales Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ashton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing