We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever.”
Review of Clifton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Holiday Ever.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned home after a 5 day holiday with Leons of Stafford to Clifton Park Hotel in St.Annes..My wife and I have had many holidays with different coach companies to different hotels,but have never had a holiday as good as this one.The coach was on time,very comfortable
and the driver very helpful.The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout,our bedroom very comfortable,the food was excellent and the staff were first class.It was a themed holiday and the staff joined in and made everything perfect.We will visit this hotel again as soon as possible,and recommend it to all our friends.Thank you Leons and Clifton Park.
Alan and June Bradbury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Alan & June,

Thank you for choosing The Clifton Park as your preferred choice of accommodation for your recent holiday in Lytham St.Annes. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your break and your kind feedback is greatly appreciated. I am particularly pleased that the team here and our food, exceeded your expectations.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you both back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    120
    50
    25
    14
See reviews for
64
219
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
accrington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights over Easter - Saturday and Easter Sunday, feel we have wasted good money. We booked executive room, this was 519 an attic room at the back of the hotel, handy if you need to sneak out the back way and make use of the stenna stair lift trying to avoid all the muck and debris on the stairs!
I can only describe it as a strange room and felt as though we were shut away in the attic.
Not a good impression, cleaning leaves a lot to be desired, peeling wallpaper needs attention
but having said that the small bathroom had good lighting, shower was ok.
In the room we had been given out of date milk, 10 days old - did report this to reception.
Also there was a constant droning noise that could be heard in our room, very annoying and not sure where it came from.
Thankfully we had only booked B&B, breakfast nothing special, plenty of choice but poor quality sausages, only just warm and on our 2nd morning the plates in the warmer were cold. Make your own toast a bit of a nuisance - why? But this would seem to be a tradition in St Annes.
Thought we would sit in the lounge for a drink before going out but trying to get served at the bar was a problem as we were ignored, ok it was after 7pm and dinner being served so barman busy doing other duties.
I agree with the last review, pensioners seem to love this style of hotel. Just not for us and we won't return. Shame, as from the outside it looks to be a nice hotel but really needs a revamp and better attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Lynne,

Thank you for choosing The Clifton Park Hotel for your recent Easter Break.

Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations during your stay in Lytham St. Annes. Your feedback is greatly received and will be discussed with the team in order to ascertain in what areas we can make improvements.

Should you be visiting the area in future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I would be more than happy to discuss the issues you encountered with you.

Many thanks,

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night(thank goodness)over Easter in the Master Suite!!!!Disappointed there were no complimentary toiletries or tissues(these were provided in our previous nights hotel) the Delmeny.
The room could do with a little TLC as ceiling paper peeling off .
We booked on a DBB basis which was a mistake as the evening meal was of 1960's "boarding house standard.we found the attitude of the woman on reception somewhat frosty on arrival however she had Thawed by the time we left next day!!
A few good points
The bathroom was a good size,jacuzzi bath,walk in shower clean as was the bedding.
Spa area was clean and very quiet.
Most of the staff were pleasant and were doing there best to keep everyone happy.
Unfortunately this hotel is not for us although it was apparent some of the older guests return regularly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I'm delighted that you found our standards of cleanliness to your expectations and it's great that you enjoyed our Swimming & Leisure Facilities.

Please accept my apologies for our housekeeping error in not providing our standard toiletries on arrival. A member of our team would have been more than happy to rectify this for you quickly should we have been informed.

It's a shame you didn't enjoy our traditional home cooked food. We use fresh, local produce and have a superb reputation for our food both locally and with our returning hotel residents.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel for 2 nights stay over this easter weekend however only stayed for 1 as the rooms were that awfull . Starting with good points the place itself is clean the breakfast fine and Derek on reception was a gent Infact I felt quite sorry for him having to deal with all the complaints as well as basically doing everything else by himself .This hotel is stuck in the 1970s it needs a total revamp the rooms we were offered were of the smallest and poorest that I've ever stayed if it hadn't of been Easter weekend and we could of got somewhere else we wouldn't of even checked in ! However Derek managed to contact booking agent and just charge us for 1 night and as it was £160 for 2 he said would be £80 on which I paid him at checking in ( however this room would not of been worth any more than £50 ) he said he was sorry that there had been a flood and explained there were nice rooms at the hotel but unfortunately not for us . On checking out this morning I handed in key card and lady on reception asked for payment I explained that I had paid and that we had shortened the stay only to be basically called a liar and said I hadn't paid what a cheek . If you are visiting this area there are much nicer hotels and unless your desperate I would never step foot in this place again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

Our aim at The Clifton Park is to exceed the expectations of all our guests and I apologise that we did not achieve our aim on this occasion.

All our rooms vary in size, shape and character and I am sorry that the room you were offered was not to your satisfaction.

I'm delighted that we excelled in our customer service and that you found Derek helpful and friendly.

Thank you once again for offering your feedback.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for a midweek break ,room was very clean,change of towels every day,food very good breakfast self service bacon sausage beans scrambled eggs mushrooms tomatoes ,if you want kippers or fried eggs order them from a waiter when you go in restaurant,evening meal very good choice and you don't wait too long service very good ,nice swimming pool and gym ,overall I had a very pleasant stay and hope to visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Stephen,

Thank you for posting such a great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be helpful and friendly.

Don't forget to check our website or call us direct for best rates for our themed breaks and short stays.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I had spent a couple of days in Glasgow and planned a 3 day break immediately following our trip to Scotland. The hotel was outdated in terms of furnishings and decor,but did represent a calm and restful environment. However there were a number of maintenance and decoration issues which require attention. We were unimpressed regard to the dinner menu and the food was atypical of seaside hotel food. However the buffet breakfast was something else .It was superb both in terms of choice of food and presentation. Having spent a major portion of my life staying in Hotels whilst on business, this breakfast is amongst the best I have eaten and this includes "cooked to order ".

Room Tip: Our suite was at the rear giving immediate access to the rear car park and had a very large bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Roger,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our Full English Breakfast Buffet. Maybe we should enter for an award!

We operate a rolling maintenance program and your feedback regarding this is most welcome. I'm glad you found our Grand Suite to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

When my wife and I arrived, the front car park was full, so we were given directions to drive round to the rear which was accessible from another road. Although there were signs to indicate where to park the actual rear entrance to the hotel was less easy to find. We were confused by a sign on the wall which indicated the building was Orchard Court. A phone call to the front desk clarified matters.
Our room was clean, comfortable and warm although it was rather tired. We both slept well.
The staff were friendly and helpful, we both really enjoyed our breakfasts during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for your review. Thank you also for choosing The Clifton Park as your preferred choice of accommodation for your recent visit to Lytham St.Annes.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed our Full English Breakfast Buffet and found our team to be helpful and friendly. I'm glad our front desk team managed to solve any confusion regarding our rear entrance car park.

Don't forgot to check our website or call us on 01253 725 801 to hear about our upcoming special offers and 2-4-1 dates.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
960 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Park Hotel

Property: Clifton Park Hotel
Address: 299-301 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the picturesque town of St.Annes, Clifton Park Hotel is renowned for its superior quality and exemplary service and within a few minutes walk of the promenade, beach, shops, cafes & bars. The 49 en suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated each providing Digital TV, controlled heating, direct dial telephones and tea/coffee facilities as standard. The hotel boasts a Sun Lounge, licensed Bar & Restaurant and has a heated indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi to relax, teamed with a new gym to provide the perfect workout. Clifton Park Hotel is an 'Adult Only' Hotel and does not accommodate guests under the age 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clifton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Park
Clifton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing