We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basil Fawlty Era Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clifton Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty Era Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was clean. The decor was slightly dated circa early 80s. The smell in the hotel from whatever the chef was cooking at times made me gag. Breakfast was of a poor standard and lacked selection. I only ate breakfast once in the period there and decided against doing so again. Breakfast does not start until 8 am so if on business it makes it difficult with such late timings. The hotel seemed to have a majority of pensioners and it appeared that this was the clientele catered for. The room was spacious and comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deepskisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experiences with us.

Our aim is exceed the expectations of all our guests and I am delighted that you found our hotel to be cleaned to a high standard and that you were satisfied with your guest bedroom. However please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your breakfast with us. We are always seeking ways to improve and will take your comments on board.

For any future stays you may have with us please do not hesitate to request an earlier breakfast time and we will be more than happy to arrange this for you.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    115
    45
    24
    13
See reviews for
57
201
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Super holiday. Staff we're all fantastic especially Antonio. Rooms were clean and very spacious. Food was always faultless and hot. Entertainment was good at night. Scottish waitress was a favourite. Shame about the managers dodgy american corvette - lol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Rob,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay!

I have passed your kind comments onto Antonio and Margaret our Super Scottish Waitress!!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I went for a three night stay for a short break before our main holiday in September.
Derek made us very welcome throughout our stay. The room we booked was for a executive room but did fall a bit short of that and I thought that it was more like a standard room. However, despite that it was clean and adequate. We certainly got a good night's sleep. We were rather disappointed that we could not get a Wi-Fi signal at all in our room and found only one hot spot near the reception that was OK. Unfortunately while we were there there was no entertainment nightly which was highlighted on the on site portal. This was apparently due to the fact that people from a bridge club had booked in on the nights we stayed there.
We found that the car parking lot was a bit small and not many places to park in the surrounding area. The breakfast was very good but it would have been nice to see a bit of fresh fruit offered, and also some rolls or croissants instead of just toast.
The staff were very attentive and friendly.
The spa area, Jacuzzi and pool was a nice and relaxing area of the hotel.

Room Tip: In the hot summer months a room with air conditioning is vital!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Jefferey,

Many thanks for posting such an informative review about your stay with us. I'm delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your short break at The Clifton Park Hotel and hope you have a great time away in September.

Thank you also for your suggestions for improvements, we will discuss them at our next Operations Meeting and hope that we may be able to move forward on some of the points you raised.

Hope to see you again,

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed at this hotel for a weekend it was wonderfull staff so helpfull hotel very clean. room clean and comfy with plenty of room food was excellent am planning our next stay looking forward to it thank you j parkin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Jeanette,

Thank you for choosing The Clifton Park for your recent holiday in St.Annes and thank you also for taking the time to write a review about your experiences here.

We aim to exceed the expectations of each individual guest and I'm delighted that we managed to achieve our aim during your stay.

I have passed your kind comments onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-u-Lyme
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a short stay at the hotel. Good location a few minutes from the shops and across the road from the promenade. Our rooms had recently been refurbished to a good standard. Excellent food quality and very good service from friendly staff and good standard of cleanliness. We also had good entertainment on four nights. I was disappointed on arriving after asking for rooms close to each other to find that myself and my 88 year old mother who can be confused were at opposite ends of the hotel. Fortunately I am quite fit myself so it wasn't too much hassle although a bit worrying at first. I would advise anyone who has mobility problems to confirm with the hotel personally that they have a room with lift access nearby. Some of the rooms at the rear of the hotel do not have a lift and quite a lot of steps. There was a stairlift to one flight bit it was out of order twice while I was there. I did see some people struggling. Clifton Park take note.
Liked the hotel and would go there again.

Room Tip: Read my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DW0J09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us via Tripadvisor. It's great to hear that you found our food and friendliness of our team to your liking.

I'm sorry that we couldn't get you and your Mother rooms closer together and please do mention this next time you make a reservation so the team can ensure this happens for you.

Thanks again for the great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just booked this hotel on the net , as we were in the area looking at property` but what a lucky find. just for two nights but would have liked longer.
Our room was upgraded with real attention to detail , food was exellent as was the service.
The pool temp was just right and locker room clean.
Sat night entertainment ( Irene Lee ) superb.
The receptionist also very helpfull , all staff were on the ball .
Thanks to averyone.
Maggie and S . B

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbuckley1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Buckley,

Thank you for posting a great review about your stay with us. I hope you found your perfect property in the area and are hoping to re-visit soon.

Please do not hesitate to call the hotel direct for exclusive rates and upgrades where possible.

See you soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

this was the fifth year my wife and I have visited this hotel and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our 4-night stay. all staff are friendly and hard-working, breakfasts are excellent, pool and Jacuzzi are first-class, our room was well-cleaned although is overdue some re-decoration. all-in-all a fine hotel

Room Tip: we prefer the rooms at the rear of the hotel which are quiet and the car-park is convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas_Kennedy, General Manager at Clifton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Joseph,

Thanks for the great review!

I have discussed your comments with the team and we are delighted that you and your wife continue to return to The Clifton Park Hotel year after year.

Thank you for your feedback regarding re-decoration of your room. We are currently operating a rolling refurbishment program and hope to work our way through the hotel in the coming months.

We look forward to welcoming you both back next year, if not before.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Park Hotel

Property: Clifton Park Hotel
Address: 299-301 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the picturesque town of St.Annes, Clifton Park Hotel is renowned for its superior quality and exemplary service and within a few minutes walk of the promenade, beach, shops, cafes & bars. The 49 en suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated each providing Digital TV, controlled heating, direct dial telephones and tea/coffee facilities as standard. The hotel boasts a Sun Lounge, licensed Bar & Restaurant and has a heated indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi to relax, teamed with a new gym to provide the perfect workout. Clifton Park Hotel is an 'Adult Only' Hotel and does not accommodate guests under the age 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clifton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Park
Clifton Park Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing