We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent again”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Visited The Grand again in March and once again it was an excellent break. Room, food and service all first class. We even had the luxury of enjoying a drink on the terrace on what must have been the first sunny day of the spring!

Again we managed to get a sea view room on the first floor, in the middle this time as opposed to the N.W. corner room, but this although smaller was again first class.

Some reviews have mentioned noise when a function is on, well again the hotel was running functions but they do so in such a professional manner there is no inconvenience to guests and we did not experience any noise.

Everything ran like clockwork, from simple check in, reserving a table in the Cafe Grand, ordering room service, requesting taxi's to the pleasant surprise of the reasonable bill at the end! Staff dealt well with any request we had and we look forward to our next visit, especially as the we were told that the room we had on our first stay (101 I think, with the panoramic views) has been refurbished and extended to include a large modern bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northotheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear northotheborder,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your comments on the organization of events at the hotel.

Because of our popularity we are a busy venue and this will inevitably cause noise, however I would like to assure everybody we try and mange this in the best possible way.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you return soon, the room you would have had on your first visit is room 110 in the Executive Extra Luxe Category.

I’m glad you enjoyed Café Grand and the terrace facility, it is the perfect location to enjoy the sunshine, let’s hope we have plenty of it this year!

Kind regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    264
    81
    32
    6
See reviews for
313
673
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I Stayed at the Grand Hotel with my family, we were there to attend a family wedding.
The hotel itself is amazing fantastic staff, good food and lovely rooms.
The wedding took place in the hotel and we could not have had anything nicer, the food and decor was excellant.
Mine and other family members had one complaint which we did ask to have corrected, but it just did not happen, nothing was done, our complaint was the rooms were freezing cold of a night which made it very uncomfortable when having to get up to look after a baby or generally being a light sleeper.
Please Sort your heating out so your beautiful rooms can be comfortable to stay in.

Room Tip: We had a front room the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear llie249,

Thank you for your input, I would like to thank you for taking time to post a review, I appreciate the positive criticism.
The hotels heating is electronically controlled and adjusted according to various outside and internal temperature probes, these probes regulate the temperature to a consistent 21 degrees throughout the hotel.
We feel this temperature is adequate throughout the day and for a good night’s sleep>
I’m sorry if you felt it was ‘freezing’, we did look into the issue on the day of your complaint and the system was operating correctly.
Overall I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope that the heating issue hasn’t detracted from what was an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed on Friday 13th and Saturday 14th March. The room was spotless - including the deluxe bedding. We have stayed in various rooms here over the past 2 years and they are all now finished to a very high spec. Visited the pool and spa - really good.
We found all hotel staff friendly and helpful as usual.
Cafe Grand is stylish and good to chill out in. The food is excellent.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asjsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear asjsrs,

I am pleased you have enjoyed your recent visit.
We have put a lot of time and effort in improving our facilities over recent years and I must thank all our customers for their patience during this time.
We hope to see you in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

have stayed in other hotels in the area and this was so different for all the right reasons- great hotel, food and lovely room- will be back again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeney12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear sweeney1,

Thank you for posting your comments, we all look forward to you returning in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at the grand in November and February. Both visits were excellent. All staff were very helpful and the whole place had a very nice atmosphere about it. We spent the weekend swimming and using the spa after spending a few hours in St. Anne's/walking on the beach.

The hotel is a great place to recharge your batteries. Enjoy your stay everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwolfliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear dwolfliverpool,
Many thanks for your review I’m pleased you enjoyed your recent visits to the hotel.
I’m glad you made full use of the Spa facility, did you try Café Grand? If you decide return during the summer the terrace is an ideal way to chill out with a glass of wine watching as the world goes by!
Once again thank you for your custom and hope to see you soon

Kind Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Opted for one of one the Executive Deluxe rooms and glad we paid the extra. Fantastic sea view, very spacious room and a lovely comfy bed.
We opted for breakfast in our room and again, glad we did. Delivered bang on time and absolutely superb. We dined out both nights we were there, so can't comment on the food in the restaurant.
Cannot fault the place.
Should we go back to Lytham, we'll be staying at the Grand again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wernda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Wernda,
Many thanks for your review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Grand.
If you decide to re visit you should try the Café Grand, it is a vibrant all day bar restaurant where the chefs work tirelessly producing excellent food for all tastes.

Kind Regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I have reviewed this hotel before (see exLythamgirl below) and was much more impressed with my stay this time. The room was spotless, better soundproofed (I understand management are working on better soundproofing throughout as per their message) and service was excellent. Huge (6ft) bed with super-smooth sheets too.

The pool and changing areas were impressively clean and well-kept too.
Love the breakfast offering - little packs of butter wrapped up French-style and Bon Maman mini-pots of jam, delicious pastries and the like.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank exlythamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear Exlythamgirl,

Firstly may I thank you for deciding to return to The Grand, I’m delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and felt improvements had been made.
I also appreciate your time in posting a review on Trip Advisor, as you have experienced we do respond to positive criticism in the right manner, we feel that working with customer needs and expectations is essential in operating a successful hotel and do appreciate all feedback.

Once again thank you for your custom and we all do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
983 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing