We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another excellent stay- can't wait to go back”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“another excellent stay- can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Since discovering this hotel in October 2010 we have returned 4 times and have not been disappointed with any visit. We have stayed in different rooms and if occupancy allows have been upgraded FOC. As we enjoy our visit each time before we left last time we booked a return to celebrate a birthday in July. The minute you walk in the hotel you feel at ease and all the staff can not do enough for you, they are friendly, professional but on the same token will spend time getting to know their guests subject to time. Everything is spotless, the food and variety is excellent. I agree with other guest comments about the facilities offered in the hotel rooms.
The leisure facilities and staff are of the same standard as the rest of the hotel which is nice to experience. We have stayed at various hotels (private and chains) and have frequently encountered equipment/pools which have been out of order, therefore this hotel spoils us in particular for staying at any other hotel.
Based on all this, the hotel offers excellent value for money.
We have recommended this hotel to numerous people that we know, and have stayed following our recommendation and have agreed wholeheartedly with our personal comments.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear jasonfan,

Thank you for your positive comments they are much appreciated.
We are aware that word of mouth is an excellent form of advertising and appreciate you recommending The Grand to your friends.
However some guests may have the odd issue, I would urge them to inform us whilst they are in resident as we can resolve things and make their stay enjoyable and as comfortable as possible.
Jasonfan I would like to thank you for your repeated business and hope our association will last many years to come.

Regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    264
    81
    32
    6
See reviews for
313
673
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed one night with our 9 year old granddaughter and had a delightful time. The suite was excellent with separate room and bed settee for our granddaughter. Bathroom was very spacious, such a change from the usual hotel bathrooms. Nice to see Molton Brown toiletries.
We had lunch with other family members who live nearby which was superb in the Grand Cafe. Love the fact you can get food and drink anytime all day. No having to eat lunch between 12 and 2 ! Even better was breakfast up to 11am, such a welcome change from the usual.
The spa facilities were great and the staff were nice and friendly.
What we really appreciated was the breakfast items which were excellent quality. No cheap jams and butter and even Marmite much to my husband's delight.
We will come again and stay longer

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Francis64,

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Another fantastic stay at the Grand....just got back from a 2 night break with my husband, two kids and my mum. We like to take off once in a while to relax and be pampered and there is nowhere better to do this than the Grand. Mum had room 110, the extra deluxe room, and it was amazing - massive bathroom, roll top bath, walk in wet room style shower, remote control TV, separate room off main bath with WC and hand basin - separate dressing area with wardrobe, dressing table and chair - seating area in the large bay giving a panoramic view of the gardens and the bay beyond - fantastic queen size bed with flat screen TV on turntable at the foot, wow she LOVED the experience!! A slight misunderstanding regarding my booking meant we were expecting our usual roomy suite, 104 in the newer extension for my family, however had been allocated 118 in the original building, don't get me wrong this is a great room, high spec furnishings, quuen size bed and Porcellanosa bathroom fittings, top notch! But with a sofabed for our two kids it was going to be a squeeze. We needn't have worried, no sooner had we mentioned it, we were allocated a separate room for the kids right near our room (121) at no extra charge. The kids were so impressed by this, my 9 year old daughter said she was 'living the dream' when she saw the room, bigger flat screen TV than ours and even bigger high spec bathroom! It worked out well as my hubby and I had some privacy too! Food at breakfast - excellent, service - excellent, the only slight niggle was the Cafe Bar menu has been altered and they no longer serve sandwiches and toasted sandwiches, however they did make one for my 9 year old when we said she didn't fancy anything else. I think you can tell a lot about a hotel from the way staff handle complaints and both issues were dealt with in an exemplary manner. All the staff at this hotel are courteous, friendly, well trained and extremely professional and should be congratulated on the fantastic service they provide. The pool and spa are lovely and although the hotel was busy the pool never seemed crowded. All in all a great stay. We love this hotel and will definitely be back! P.S . we can recommend the Hastings restaurant and Ego both in Lytham for excellent food and service, JR Taylor cafe in St Annes is also very good if you want a coffee and cake.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSmithLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Hi JoSmithLancashire,

Thank you writing such an excellent review, I’m delighted in the way you have described room 110, we should commission you to write our promotional material!
On another note I’m pleased that we have be able to look after you yet again and hope to do so for many years to come.
PS. As a resident it’s not a problem to order a sandwich, toasted or otherwise just ask! I’m sure the kitchen will be happy to oblige.

Kind Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We had a great stay and the staff were extremely helpful, polite and nothing was ever too much trouble.
We treated my parents to a weekend break here for their wedding anniversary, and requested for a room accessable by a lift due to mobility issues. We were pleased that both of the rooms were on the first floor near the lift.
My parents did not have any towels in there room and I phoned up housekeeping for some. The housekeeper arrived in about 1 minute with a fresh bundle of towels and an apology, excellent service.
We had the superior rooms and was pleasantly surprised on how clean and well equiped the rooms were. There was a full size iron board and iron, hairdryer, safe, and even complementary water in the minifridge. The bathroom was lovely with a full size bath and a separate shower, which was great not having a shower over the bath like many hotels we have stayed at!!!
The bar was good, the drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel, and we were able to sit in the quieter open foyer/reception area to sit and relax with our drinks.
The breakfast was plentiful and we loved the extra touches like the self service toaster, natural honeycomb, and a proper cup of coffee. It was the best continental breakfast we have had with so much attention to detail.
We would definately recommend this hotel to everyone, as i think it would suit families, young couples and older generations.
My parents loved their stay and we thank The Grand for making our stay so rememberable for the right reasons.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotmustardcoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Hi hotmustardcoxy!

Thank you for posting your review, your comments are much appreciated.
Can I say I’m delighted with the points that you have highlighted, we are aware that many potential customers will read these reviews and we appreciate your positive feedback.
Thank you for your custom and we will look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The hotel experience was the best we have had for a very long time.The staff were helpful, but not invasive.The food was of a exceptionally high quality. The cleanliness and rooms were also of the highest standard, you would not be disappointed if you visited this hotel and enjoyed the experience as we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2LILLY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear 2LILLY7,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your comments.
Along with all other reviews I will post on the staff notice board for all to view.
Many thanks and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Visited The Grand again in March and once again it was an excellent break. Room, food and service all first class. We even had the luxury of enjoying a drink on the terrace on what must have been the first sunny day of the spring!

Again we managed to get a sea view room on the first floor, in the middle this time as opposed to the N.W. corner room, but this although smaller was again first class.

Some reviews have mentioned noise when a function is on, well again the hotel was running functions but they do so in such a professional manner there is no inconvenience to guests and we did not experience any noise.

Everything ran like clockwork, from simple check in, reserving a table in the Cafe Grand, ordering room service, requesting taxi's to the pleasant surprise of the reasonable bill at the end! Staff dealt well with any request we had and we look forward to our next visit, especially as the we were told that the room we had on our first stay (101 I think, with the panoramic views) has been refurbished and extended to include a large modern bathroom!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northotheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear northotheborder,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your comments on the organization of events at the hotel.

Because of our popularity we are a busy venue and this will inevitably cause noise, however I would like to assure everybody we try and mange this in the best possible way.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope you return soon, the room you would have had on your first visit is room 110 in the Executive Extra Luxe Category.

I’m glad you enjoyed Café Grand and the terrace facility, it is the perfect location to enjoy the sunshine, let’s hope we have plenty of it this year!

Kind regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I Stayed at the Grand Hotel with my family, we were there to attend a family wedding.
The hotel itself is amazing fantastic staff, good food and lovely rooms.
The wedding took place in the hotel and we could not have had anything nicer, the food and decor was excellant.
Mine and other family members had one complaint which we did ask to have corrected, but it just did not happen, nothing was done, our complaint was the rooms were freezing cold of a night which made it very uncomfortable when having to get up to look after a baby or generally being a light sleeper.
Please Sort your heating out so your beautiful rooms can be comfortable to stay in.

Room Tip: We had a front room the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear llie249,

Thank you for your input, I would like to thank you for taking time to post a review, I appreciate the positive criticism.
The hotels heating is electronically controlled and adjusted according to various outside and internal temperature probes, these probes regulate the temperature to a consistent 21 degrees throughout the hotel.
We feel this temperature is adequate throughout the day and for a good night’s sleep>
I’m sorry if you felt it was ‘freezing’, we did look into the issue on the day of your complaint and the system was operating correctly.
Overall I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope that the heating issue hasn’t detracted from what was an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
983 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing