We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service; comfortable and spacious hotel.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service; comfortable and spacious hotel.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent one night here in February 2013 and we booked in for New Year before we checked out. The hotel has a large, impressive reception area and the staff were excellent, helping with luggage and very apologetic that our room was not quite ready; we were given a complimentary drink while we waited. The room was well appointed with a lovely view and the dinner was very good. We shall return for another overnighter before the New Year. Thank you to everyone at The Grand.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dddBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear dddBolton

Thank you for the belated review, it is still much appreciated!
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, were well looked after and will return soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    263
    80
    32
    6
See reviews for
313
671
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our daughter and her husband held their wedding reception here on 20/07/2013. The whole day from start to finish was fantastic ,everything ran smoothly and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.Caroline who was in charge of the arrangements did a superb job ( words cannot possible describe how good ) and I would unreservedly recommend this venue to anyone who wants a wonderful and worry-free wedding day. Food,service,rooms and staff were all excellent.
Thank You

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear 61 foodie

Thank you for your recommendation, it’s our best form of advertising!

We're all delighted to hear you and your family had a wonderful day at your daughters wedding, I’m sure Caroline will be delighted when she reads your comments!

Thank you for your review, don’t forget to come and see us soon and we hope to see your daughter and husband back on their anniversary.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Arrived on Sunday 4th August, was initially allocated a room that was not large enough to accommodate the guests on the booking. Contacted reception and after a few debates between staff we were allocated another room, rather disappointed that the correct room couldn't have been ready for our arrival.
We booked dinner for sundry night, again disappointed as was told various items on menu not available this including bread! We were then informed that bread was available but was disappointed that a 4star restaurant would serve supermarket sliced bread as a starter. Also disappointed to find hair ok my breakfast on the Tuesday, when I notified the waiter of this he seemed unsure what to do soni asked that he take it away but no offer to replace!
Overall this is good quality hotel but customer service could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapijax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear hapijax

I’m sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t 100% up to the standard you would expect from The Grand.

I feel the initial misunderstanding over the room allocation was that you had booked the incorrect room type (Executive compact) for the number of guests you required (3), for future reference Executive Luxe rooms hold up to (4) guests.

I really can’t see us offering supermarket sliced bread as a starter, maybe it was our freshly baked bread that is sliced on a machine, we use this for toast and sandwiches. I think the staff have made a hasty decision to serve this rather than tell you that we had ran out of our fresh bread rolls.

A hair in your breakfast on the Tuesday morning, if this was the case it is totally unacceptable and has not been dealt with in the correct manner, I do apologise.

Overall I hope you had a good visit, we will concentrate on improving customer service, we always will and hope you do decide to revisit in the future.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This review is delayed due to trip advisor's 3 month rule, I had stayed the weekend before
with my husband, and this time it was was my friends all female, 8 in total, Jenny was on duty on arrival and allocated us our lovely rooms, with stunning views on the front, especially 303, we
all went and drank Champagne and watched the sunset, a lovely chill out before Dinner, we
reserved a table for eight in the Restaurant, food and Wine excellent, we were looked after
by the lovely team, who couldn't do enough for us. I have been coming to this hotel for many
years and it just seems to get better each time. Thank you Jenny for looking after us and those
lovely rooms! and thanks to all the team once again, you will see us all soon, well done.

Room Tip: Rooms, 303, 111, 110 Fab room, 217, 117
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidson103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Davison681

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and sharing your experience with others!
I'm delighted to heat that you and your friends have been very well looked after during your stay, especially by Jenny, well done Jen!

We will all look forward to looking after you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay.
Room overlooking the promenade was lovely, comfortable beds , hotel was clean throughout.
Good atmosphere, friendly but professional staff. Helpful at reception.
Tasty tapas, especially the shrimps.
Would certainly like to visit again.
Maybe the proms again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear PBAH

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, service and facilities.
Don't forget and like I have just mentioned to a previous reviewer put it into your diary to book early for next years Lytham Proms, we will fill very quickly!

Thank you for the review and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at the Grand for 1 night after attending a wedding there. The hotel is lovely, rooms very nice, just 1 criticism, no kettle, there is a coffee machine but my wife and I prefer a cup of tea in the morning which we were unable to have. The drinks we found to be very expensive, I fully expect to pay a little more for such lovely surroundings but feel nearly £3 for a bottle of coke is too much. Have stayed in many other 4* hotels up and down the country and never been as shocked at the drinks prices as at the Grand. Those are my only gripes...everything else was first class, the wedding meal was superb, well served and piping hot and simply loved the pea, pear and watercress soup! Wouldn't hesitate saying here again, although living next door in Blackpool would probably be for another wedding. Well done to all at the Grand for providing such good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadFrankie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear MadFrankie

Thank you for your recent review, I’m pleased you enjoyed the wedding and overnight stay.



I can confirm we have removed the kettles in all the rooms.

We have replaced them with a Nespresso coffee machine which produces quality coffee for our guests to enjoy. We have also added complimentary Coca Cola, crisps and biscuits to all bedrooms.
This is the standard we want to set for guests visiting the Grand, I know it won’t suit all, but this is always the case.

In other european countries all heat source such as kettles, irons and heaters are not allowed in guest bedrooms due to health and safety regulations.

Nespresso Machines are a lot safer than a kettle as the water is contained in the machine and is vended at a lower temperature.

I also feel we are also removing an accident waiting to happen, who would like to see boiling water split over a child for example, then questions would be raised!

We have removed all heaters, kettles have now followed and maybe irons soon, To be replaced by an ironing service...!

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope you visit again, maybe a treat, nice meal in Cafe Grand followed by an overnight stay!

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've just spent the weekend at the The Grand Hotel with three of my sisters as we were going to Lytham Proms. I don't know how they recruit their staff, but they are absolutely brilliant, nothing is a problem for them and everyone is so friendly and genuinely courteous. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but everything was cooked to order and was delicious. We are not strangers to posh London hotels, some of which think it acceptable to serve buffet style breakfast but The Grand Hotel could teach them a thing or two. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean and the bathroom had Molten Brown products. We didn't have time to check out the spa but the pool and jacuzzi were great, only made better by the staff.

The actual location of the hotel is excellent and with it's manicured gardens has great presence. I look forward to returning to The Grand Hotel soon and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinnyK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear QuinnyK33

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased you and your sisters enjoyed your visit to the Grand.

Don’t forget to book early for next year, Lytham Proms is going from strength to strength with some fabulous entertainers appearing over the weekend and needless to say we fill up very quickly for this weekend.

We all will look forward to seeing you again.


Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
980 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing