We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Again”
Review of The Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lytham St Anne's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First Class Again”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We arrived on Friday 27th for a three day break. As always, just magic, great food, great service, friendly staff, nothing is ever to much trouble. The free promised drinks were presented on time and the "Steak Pie and Chips" were excellent. The food is always 5 star quality, and the Chefs are the friendliest bunch of Chefs I have ever come across. The English Breakfast is always cooked fresh, and the Continental Breakfast is of the highest quality produce, what more could you want.

After a night out on Friday, into the early hours, we arrived back late and had no problem with the reception letting us in the side door. In all the years we have stayed at "The Grand", we have never had a problem with the reception not being available. Can't wait to return in February.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Cordon S

Thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated by the team!
They worked very hard in delivering an excellent service over the three day recovery period, it proved to be very popular with many guests already booking for next year!

However you will be here sooner, we will be ready and waiting for you and look forward to your visit in February, take care and see you soon.

Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    257
    77
    26
    6
See reviews for
300
658
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel could offer so much more....
...One lift doesn't work (& looking back, it hasn't done for months)
...No sandwiches only tapas (hence guests go out & stay out)
...No Information sheets/guest packs (most times no receptionist)
...No Tea in rooms, only coffee (despite repeated feedback from guests)
...Very limited breakfast selection on some days, but same charges.
...The Hotel needs to segregate the diners from drinkers in evenings

Arrived Friday in Gale force winds, where young male staff were over-stretched helping staff to park up & transfer bags & people safely into the side entrance where a makeshift check-in had been set up in the corridor.
With the lift out of action we were shown upstairs to our room as soon as one young man became free, and told by the lady checking us in, that since we hadn't stayed there before we would be told all we needed to know.
After being shown the essentials of our room, we were left to unpack.
There was no information sheet or welcome pack in our room 123.
So after a while we ventured back downstairs where all staff were still busy with arrivals. we popped to the bar hoping for a quick bite to eat. "A sandwich selection?" we enquired - "No - just Tapas" we were told.
With no shops nearby, that meant braving the elements & popping to buy what we expected to be available in the hotel. We also brought in ready brewed Tea, since only strong coffee was available in the rooms where we would now be expected to eat!
Never mind - it's champagne cocktails later ! So again we ventured downstairs - only to find traces of a dozen or so champagne glasses at the foot of the stairs & an empty reception desk with nobody to ask. Maybe only a dozen knew to turn up? Ill-informed like us? Maybe only a select few were invited - we will never know!
....But, based on this experience we went out to eat on Friday night........on return it would appear the key cards hadn't been programmed properly & we were locked out in the high winds. Again nobody on reception. Luckily a passing guest let us, and another couple, in, and our cards were reprogrammed.
Saturday: After a tasty (but limited) breakfast - we left for the day. Our room was tidied, The part-used water I'd found in the fridge on arrival was replaced, and on return it would appear that all staff were busy , because - there was no sign of the promised pie & chips. So again we changed & headed for Lytham for an early meal out. Came back & enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar (but surrounded by diners it was a little uncomfortable).
Sunday: Full English Breakfast - nice! but bucks fizz at 9am?? Again our room was tidied (again, no clean towels), We headed out for the day. Came back & changed & ate out again.
Monday: Early breakfast & headed home early.

Room Tip: Take a shaving light, black slate tiled bathrooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDogsDooDahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear TheDogsDooDahs - Say’s it all really!

“Lift doesn't work and hasn’t done for months” incorrect…!

The lift has been working, we have decided to replace with a brand new Otis lift at a cost of 100k.
Due to building regulations this has meant we have had to underpin the lift foundations to create adequate space underneath the new lift, completely reline the shaft and fit a new lift, as I write this it works are still not completed but will be expected to be finished by the end of January.
Now you may have expected this to happen in a just a day but the whole project has taken about three months to complete, maybe like other customers you could have used the other lift!
All this investment is for customer experience, no revenue is gained from this investment, takes a lot of customers paying £171 (total) for a three night stay to pay for this!

I’m sorry but I can’t apologise for the worse winds in fifty years, completely out of my control!

What we did do is have every available member of staff, including the proprietor available to assist, all other 75 rooms seemed happy with our efforts in the circumstances.

I’m also not apologising for the food, beverage and reception service, we have a great team, trip advisor customers can tell you that, maybe you should read their comments!

A note here to other reviewers, believe me if we got something wrong we would admit it, apologise, then try to rectify it in the best way possible, we are here to help!

We appreciate and value all our customers, however in this case please make this “not so Grand” experience your last at the hotel.


I’m sorry but we will be unable to look after you again.

Regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our second stay at The Grand. Absolutely fantastic. Stayed in room 110 and 'wow factor' doesn't even come close. The size of this room was unbelievable !! Absolute luxury !! The food was amazing yet again, and to be offered complimentary lunch on one of the days with mulled wine was fantastic...what a lovely touch! The Grand Hotel...you never cease to amaze us !! 12/10 !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear carldon,

We’re all delighted that you enjoyed your stay, maybe you will leant to try a Twentytwo Signature+ room next time, they are just as amazing!

Imagine in summer, chilling out with a glass of wine whilst soaking up the sun on the big balconies, amazing!
Get it booked now, there are only two!

Hope to see you in summer.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Went with works do, good table lay out , excellent goodies on table, goos was superb and staff really friendly, good music , good facility's , food was really really good would eat there again and was really pleased.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Debbie S

We're delighted you had a great party, you work hard all year and thoroughly deserve it!
Did you take a look at the photographs from the event, we posted all the party night pictures to our Facebook events page, take a look and see if you can spot yourself.

Hope to see you next year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Plus points.
- nice position with estuary views and close to local shops & restaurants
- stylish modern makeover/ decor - has a touch of the Malmaison / HdVs about it, with dark colours and dark modern furniture
- really spacious rooms, with huge well equipped bathrooms
- nice touches in the rooms, such as Molton Brown, lots of towels
- lovely swimming pool
- friendly staff
Minus points:
- staff are not well trained, they are trying to do a good job in a friendly way, but not proper professionals, so service very variable
- breakfast - didn't like having to queue for something cooked, though it was good that it was cooked to order. I'd prefer a traditional table service.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBristolJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear The BristolJohns

Thank you for posting your recent review, it is much appreciated!

Regarding the staff training, we’ll do our best to improve but we will definitely not want to lose the friendly and personal touch that most our reviewers comment on. You tend to find that when you go over the top on professionalism, as some establishment do, that you lose that soft approach that we are renowned for.
That’s not a criticism of your review, just a personal observation from my experiences!

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to be able to look after you in 2014

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've never written a review for a hotel Christmas party night but felt this one was so good it deserved a mention. We arrived in gale force winds and virtually blew our way across to Grand 22. Our room was a decent size with all new furnishings, and a huge walk-in shower and his n her sinks. Mini bar was stocked with coke and water (incl sparkling) and also milk for the coffee machine. We also had an iron & ironing board and a safe in the wardrobe. Despite the wind we had an excellent nights sleep - the bed was so comfy and the room was a nice temperature - not too hot like in some hotels.

We were also offered a lift over to the main building for the 'do' as they were providing a shuttle service as the weather was so bad, which we gratefuly accepted!

The Christmas party night was excellent - the food was probably the best I've had when catering for so many people. All the staff were extremely friendly despite being so busy.

We all enjoyed our stay so much we're hoping to book again for next December (just lets hope the weather is kinder to us next time!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConcernedCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Concerned Cheshire

I’m pleased you enjoyed your party night at The Grand and overnight stay in Grand Twentytwo.

Thank you for posting your review, the Events team do pride themselves on being the best venue in the area and thoroughly deserve the praise!
If you would like to book for Christmas 2014 please contact either Caroline or Hannah at the hotel and they will be able to pencil you in.

Hope to see you next year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The last time we stayed at The Grand, we had a most amazing time. Our room, 213, was so comfortable that we had to tear ourselves away to use the pool and dine. For a silver wedding treat, it had to be either The Grand or Stirk House. The Grand won because of its location near the sea. I booked a Sunday sleepover and immediately emailed the hotel to make sure that our room had a sea view. We wanted to try to recreate our previous experience. Not receiving an acknowledgement however, I then used the online contact form to make the same request. By the time of our arrival I still had not received a response. I was surprised by this, as the staff have previously been so attentive and efficient.

On checking in, I asked if we had been allocated a sea view and was told that our room was on the side. I explained that I had emailed twice (I had a copy of my email,) and, as this was a very special occasion for us, would it be possible to change room? The receptionist explained that there had been changes to the booking system and that some of the personal touch had fallen victim to this. She did change our room to 214, so we had a lovely comfy room overlooking the sea and gardens at the front. It seemed perfect until night time, when a noise similar to a continuous extraction system right by the headboard made it impossible to get a decent night's sleep. The noise seemed to come from next door, so it was impossible to eliminate. It was such a shame.

Other than that, we enjoyed a dip in the pool, dinner and our breakfast the next morning. What a great idea to offer scrambled egg and bacon to order. The chef was extremely courteous and he certainly cooked up the best we have ever tasted. Fabulous!

I know that returning to somewhere that has been perfect can sometimes result in disappointment and this was the case for us on this occasion. Will it prevent us from returning? Certainly not. We love the location of the Grand. The facilities are very good and the breakfast was fantastic, especially now that there is a cooked option. The new website clearly informs guests that "we're listening," but from a customer's perspective, I would like to think that would convert into a response!!! Only 4 stars this time therefore.

Room Tip: 214 has a fantastic outlook over the gardens and sea, but we were troubled by a noise at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Planeteer

Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit.
I agree we have had a lack of communication recently, this has been down to our new software system that we have installed. We have since rectified the issue and all guests booking online will receive a confirmation.

Ultimately this new software will work better for us by giving us the tool to provide better customer service, we are the first hotel in the UK to use this software which has resulted in use having to constantly develop bug fixes.

What we will try to achieve is a seamless checkin whereas the customer can be taken directly to the room, no need to wait at reception, checked in on a iPad in your room, including signing your registration card and be able to check out anywhere in the hotel, foyer, restaurant or reception by the same method. The final invoice can then be emailed directly back to the customer saving on time, printing and filing of paper! a bit like the Apple store!

I hope I have explained to yourself and other guests what we are trying to accomplish and ask you all to bear with us whilst we fine tune the operation, we will then have another first and a much improved customer experience.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
943 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing