We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Grand stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Grand stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Another great Tuesday night in a sea view room. Very friendly reception and room was as usual spotless and welcoming.
We were also offered the pancakes by the bar staff but sadly had to refuse.
We will be back as soon as work allows.
I like the music in the bar area it's unusual and makes you listen.
And bacon and eggs is terrific.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear David L

Thank you for you great ‘5 star’ review, it is much appreciated!
I’m pleased you enjoyed you overnight visit, needless to say we will all be delighted to look after you when you next visit.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    256
    77
    25
    6
See reviews for
299
653
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just returned from a three night break in the Grand Hotel,and a very enjoyable break it was too. All staff, without exception were pleasant and helpful. The pool was clean and quiet . As breakfast was served until 11 a.m. it was a real bonus to be able to have a swim beforehand and still have time for a long relaxing continental breakfast which had a very good choice and bacon and scrambled eggs cooked on request. We chose to eat in the dining room each evening, as we were there for Shrove Tuesday we were given complimentary pancakes with butterscotch sauce, they should add them to the menu - they were delicious like everything else we tried on the menu. If we had one criticism and it is only a slight personal one, the choice of music was not really in keeping with the dining room ambience. A visit to this Hotel is a must for quality, service and a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AutumnYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear AutumnYork

I’m delighted to hear you had an enjoyable break at our hotel.
It’s good to note that you benefitted from the late breakfast, served until 11am, like you mention it allows you to have a good swim to get the day started!

Regarding the Cafe Grand, I will certainly make sure the chefs are aware of your comments, they do a great job and deserve the praise, thank you.

We all hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards


Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wow! What a fabulous service from this beautiful venue.

Great menu, definitely not your average run of the mill offerings. The staff were impeccable, as was the food. Some of the best I've tasted and worth every penny. The vino and cocktails were delicious too.

Thanks for a great time :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaseahorseshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear lisaseahorseshaun

Thank you for a “Fantastic” review, short, sweet and to the point, thats what the readers like, thank you!
Please tell all your friends about us we’d be delighted to look after more of you, so check out our web site for some fantastic offers, and great rates, especially when booking for two nights!

Hope to see you at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic overnight stay at The Grand Hotel in St Annes
The facilities were superb
The pool was excellent
The staff were very helpful
Jane on reception was exceptionally helpful with our food requirements and made sure our first visit was fantastic
We did go with my parents who were not impressed with the tea at the hotel !!
Looking at the previous reviews the tea and lack of kettle seems to be recurring problem !!
I was more then happy with the nespresso provided
Would highly recommend and cant wait to go back again

Room Tip: Room number 5 was in a great position for the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieM4764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear stevieM4764

Thank you for visit, I’m pleased you and your parents had an enjoyable stay and were well looked after during your visit.

Like a puppy is not just for Christmas we’re are not just for overnights stays..!
Next time you visit whey not try a date search for two nights, staying two nights are better value than one whilst staying over a weekend 'Thursday - Sunday.'

Have a look online, search for two nights and get it booked, we’ll be waiting to look after you again!

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel while visiting friends in Lytham, we had an warm welcome at reception, an excellent bedroom, and our evening meal and breakfast was superb. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants quality and service.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are very good well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy & Marga... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Roy N

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review.
I’m delighted that feel the rooms are very good and well equipped and especially delighted that you would recommend the hotel to others, it is our best form of advertisement, thank you!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here before, a couple of years or so ago and really enjoyed it, so we booked two nights in the best room in the hotel for my husband's birthday. The room was lovely; a huge room with great big turret shaped window at one end, a lovely dressing room and an amazing bathroom. There was a fridge and a very fancy Nespresso coffee machine, but no kettle! What about us tea lovers? I rang reception to ask where the kettle was; they said there wasn't one, they 'don't do that any more'. Do what? Provide tea in a sea front hotel in Lancashire? We had to order tea from room service - it cost £7.80! As we were checking out, I said that we wouldn't come again because of the tea thing. The receptionist said that the owner was going to try out some 'very expensive machines from Italy' which could make coffee and tea. Like, a kettle then?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquelineW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear JacuelineW58

Thank you for your recent visit, I’m delighted you enjoyed your bedroom, facilities, Cafe Grand and location of the hotel, however it is a shame that the lack of a kettle in the room has prompted you to decide service was only average.

I can assure all guests we are constantly working on new ways to deliver a unique experience whilst visiting the hotel. Just one item introduced this year was to provide robes and slippers in all rooms with the idea so you can access the spa already changed and ready to swim, who else does this on the Fylde Coast?

What next? We are discussing an option of a full range of bicycles to be available for you to explore the wonderful Lancashire coastal cycle routes, all included in your rate!

Please take a look at our new website, all hotel facilities are listed along with a full pages off special offers to tempt you to visit.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights at this excellent hotel. We really enjoyed our stay from start to finish. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and efficient. We appreciated having our eggs cooked to order at breakfast; much better than being left to fester under lights as is usually the case with hotel buffets. The choice at dinner was excellent. We loved the choice of dishes from the tapas menu. It was unusually easy for my wife, a non meat eater, to choose her food.
Our room, club category, was big enough for the two of us - the bed was enormous. The complimentary water and crisps were appreciated. The coffee machine was a nice touch; however, like others, we would liked the option to make cup of tea in our room.
We enjoyed the spa. It has the biggest swimming pool we have ever seen in a hotel!
We would highly recommend this hotel. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear nealfrench
Thank you for your review “Excellent hotel and staff.” I agree…!

I’m delighted to enjoyed our breakfast, the decision to freshly cook the eggs to order is proving to be a popular one, there’s nothing better than fluffy scrambled eggs with fresh bacon to start the day.

It also involves the staff more, the chefs definitely enjoy the interaction with the customers rather than being shut away in the back!

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing