We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Grand”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had an evening meal in Cafe Grand last night - it was superb. The food and service were outstanding. I shared a steak with my son it was unique ... so tasty! I usually avoid desserts but could not resist the temptation they all look and taste fantastic. They rate without doubt producing the best food in the area

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Michael B

It’s good to hear you had a “superb” meal in Cafe Grand, the team work very
hard and will appreciated the feedback.

I’ll also pass your comments onto our butchers as they play their part in ensuring we have the best quality products.

Thank you for the review and we all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have just arrived back from this hotel. We stayed for the weekend having two rooms both or which were fantastic, clean, roomy and bright. The only small criticism I would have of the room is that they do not do tea only coffee (I am not a coffee drinker). Staff all very pleasant and friendly and very accommodating. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was excellent, the music was not right for the atmosphere in the restaurant but would be great if just a bar, but that can be changed (and was when asked if could change it) also did not like the TV on the wall showing adverts while eating dinner. Breakfast was also excellent and very high standards, something for everyone. Did not have time to use the pool but would have loved to.
I personally would say whoever runs this hotel, that all your staff are a credit to you and you manage it very well, well done. I am a very picky when choosing accommodation and cleanliness is one of the first things I look at a how welcome you feel, top marks would definitely recommend and return again. My mum and sister who came with me are in total agreement.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 102 and 206 king and a half size beds and in room 206 the bathroom nearly as big as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SESWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear SESWokingham

Thank you for taking time to post a review, it is much appreciated!

To make other guests aware we are constantly changing the content of the display screen, alternating between pictures of the local area, food items the chefs have created and pictures of our bedrooms and spa facility.

Cafe Grand is a bar restaurant and as such we have chosen the music to suit the ambience, again this is something we often change keeping up to date with the latest lounge music.

Thank you for your visit, I’m delighted you enjoyed yourselves and were made to feel welcome.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Due to work commitments we arrived at The Grand late into the evening but received a warm, friendly welcome from the gentleman on reception who showed us to our room and gave us all the information we needed for our stay.

We had time for a nightcap in the bar which had a very relaxing atmosphere and again we were warmly welcomed by the barman as we walked in.

Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was beautiful with a huge and extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean and was very high spec.

My only niggle would be that the room was very warm and we both found it quite stuffy and ended up with headaches by the morning (we did open the window for a while but there's a duck pond over the road and we discovered that ducks are quite vocal at 4am!).

I also have to join the 'bring back the kettle brigade'... I wasn't a fan of the coffee machine. I understand what the hotel are trying to do with high spec rooms and upmarket products but the hotel is on the Flyde coast and not on the continent... people like tea! Apart from that I would have thought giving people the option and choices and thus catering for individuals would have perhaps been a nicer touch.

Having said that, breakfast (where there was tea!) was excellent. Buffet style continental with plenty of choice and the chef cooked scrambled egg and bacon to order. Again the two waitresses and (I'm assuming) the manager were very friendly and welcoming and really couldn't do enough for us.

After breakfast we had time to chill out a little before our departure and the lady on the reception desk was again so pleasant and helpful, suggesting places of interest we might like to visit.

We will definitely return here again and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody. It's affordable luxury and first class service - what more could you ask for?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diboo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Diboo29

Thank you for your recent visit, I’m delighted that you were well looked and had a “very pleasant stay” from arrival to departure.

It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed Cafe Grand, from your late nightcap through to breakfast, it’s a shame that you didn’t have time to have dinner as I am sure you would have equally enjoyed the experience!

Thank you for the review and recommending us to you others, it is much appreciated.

We all hope to be able to look after you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really enjoyed our short stay. Staff were so attentive and friendly. Food and service at both dinner and breakfast were first class. Great location. Room was OK but let down by poor housekeeping. We had to request a change of pillows (hairs), which they attended to immediately. Also mentioned that room needed a good floor to ceiling clean. Also a few other niggly points such a wobbly bed lights and wash basin plug not working. It just needs someone to make regular inspections on rooms to ensure they are up to scratch. Not difficult but absolutely imperative.
Left feeling confident that they will attend to these issues. We'll see next time we visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tono_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Tono_11

I’m disappointed to hear you had a couple of issues with housekeeping during your recent visit, I total agree with you that it is imperative to get the rooms spot on!

It’s especially disappointing as housekeeping is a department we have been working very hard on improving recently, we have had a staff re-shuffle and have introduced new working practises over the last 3 months in an aim to raise our already high standards.

I appreciated your feedback and will discuss your comments with the team in an effort to get a '5 star’ review for your next visit.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Another great Tuesday night in a sea view room. Very friendly reception and room was as usual spotless and welcoming.
We were also offered the pancakes by the bar staff but sadly had to refuse.
We will be back as soon as work allows.
I like the music in the bar area it's unusual and makes you listen.
And bacon and eggs is terrific.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear David L

Thank you for you great ‘5 star’ review, it is much appreciated!
I’m pleased you enjoyed you overnight visit, needless to say we will all be delighted to look after you when you next visit.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just returned from a three night break in the Grand Hotel,and a very enjoyable break it was too. All staff, without exception were pleasant and helpful. The pool was clean and quiet . As breakfast was served until 11 a.m. it was a real bonus to be able to have a swim beforehand and still have time for a long relaxing continental breakfast which had a very good choice and bacon and scrambled eggs cooked on request. We chose to eat in the dining room each evening, as we were there for Shrove Tuesday we were given complimentary pancakes with butterscotch sauce, they should add them to the menu - they were delicious like everything else we tried on the menu. If we had one criticism and it is only a slight personal one, the choice of music was not really in keeping with the dining room ambience. A visit to this Hotel is a must for quality, service and a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AutumnYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear AutumnYork

I’m delighted to hear you had an enjoyable break at our hotel.
It’s good to note that you benefitted from the late breakfast, served until 11am, like you mention it allows you to have a good swim to get the day started!

Regarding the Cafe Grand, I will certainly make sure the chefs are aware of your comments, they do a great job and deserve the praise, thank you.

We all hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Kind regards


Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Wow! What a fabulous service from this beautiful venue.

Great menu, definitely not your average run of the mill offerings. The staff were impeccable, as was the food. Some of the best I've tasted and worth every penny. The vino and cocktails were delicious too.

Thanks for a great time :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaseahorseshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear lisaseahorseshaun

Thank you for a “Fantastic” review, short, sweet and to the point, thats what the readers like, thank you!
Please tell all your friends about us we’d be delighted to look after more of you, so check out our web site for some fantastic offers, and great rates, especially when booking for two nights!

Hope to see you at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
492 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £80 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing