We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and food”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here on a business trip on the 5th April in the Grand + rooms x 2.

Rooms were first class as was the restaurant food...no complaints whatsoever and would definitely stay here again. Really worth a visit!

Room Tip: stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinCarmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear colinCarmarthen

Thank you for your concise review, It is much appreciated!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your room and the Cafe Grand restaurant and hope we will be able to look after you again when visiting the area.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have never been a resident of this hotel as have a holiday home in Lytham but like to have a drink in their bar after walking along the promenade. It is in a great location and the hotel itself is beautiful, very art nouveau. The gin and tonic and Kia Royale are sublime. However I find some of the staff, particularly the snooty receptionist very unwelcoming. It's as if non residents are a surplus to requirement. They must be doing well!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank C0NNIE9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Connie9999

I’m sorry that you felt unwelcome when visiting the hotel recently, it is never our intention.

To make customers aware our future policy is to look after residents and pre booked diners in Cafe Grand only, we will not be able to serve guest just for drinks.

This is not because we don’t value the business, more that we have to focus on providing a service for pre booked guests.

We have recently opened another venture, “Grand Twentytwo”, this has increased our occupancy level by almost 50% and we have to concentrate on giving these additional and our main building guests our upmost attention.

As you can see by the reviews we are almost there, albeit there will something always improve on or something that may need a touch more detail, thats hospitality!

I can assure that you will always be welcome to dine with us in Cafe Grand if you choose to book a table.

kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have stayed here numerous times. The rooms are large and very clean. Modern upgrades in the bathrooms. Nice continental breakfast included. Wonderful pool and sauna. Will return next year.
Thanks for the upgrade to the turret!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Jane C

Another “Excellent” review thank you!

We are receiving a high level of complements regarding our housekeeping team. Caroline and Helen, who have recently been appointed to oversee the department will be delighted, well done girls!

Have a good summer and we will forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just returned after a 3 night stay at this superb hotel.. We always look forward to our breaks at St Annes and The Grand. From first greeting at reception to checkout all staff so friendly and helpful. A special mention must go to Jane , a lovely lady, who gave a lot of time and attention to us when we were enquiring about rooms for our next stay with our family. We are all looking forward to our trip in July !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dekandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear dekandliz

Were delighted that you choose us for you short breaks and will look forward to your visit in July.
I’ll make sure Jane reads your review, she will be delighted with your comments.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Last week I stayed at the Grand Hotel with my daughter. Upon arrival we were greeted at reception very warmly and immediately felt extremely glad about our choice of hotel. Not only do the staff at The Grand go the extra mile for their guests, but the building is simply beautiful and an absolute pleasure to be in. The room was spotless and we both had a superb night's sleep. The breakfast was fantastic, with a wonderful selection to choose from. We also loved our visit to the spa. This was our first stay at The Grand, and definitely will not be our last. Thank you, we are missing it already!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Karen0502

Thank you for your visit, you have come some distance!

I presume you were passing through to another location rather than an overnight visit, either way I’m delighted we made it a worthwhile experience.

Thank you for your comments we would all be delighted if you pass your experience onto your family and friends and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here numerous times but what can I say except that the standards of rooms, service and overall pleasure staying here is something everyone should experience.

The only thing I noticed a difference with was in the restaurant where things didn't feel their usual polished self! Having to practical chase a waitress to get tea at breakfast and a general lack of attention to detail made it feel a hassle.

However, overall still generally a pleasure to visit

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeeves72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear jeeves72

Thank you for you review, I’m pleased you enjoy visiting the hotel.

I take particular note to your comments regarding Cafe Grand service.
We pride ourselves on our service so appreciated the feedback, we can’t let things slip and will be looking into improving in this area.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a studio room,which was ideal for anyone with children, since we shared the room but had our own spaces - both bedroom areas had tv's and mini bar. We had a balcony, albeit rather too breezy to use in March! Our bedroom side had a seating area too. The bathroom was enormous with both large shower and supersize bath and double sinks.

We enjoyed breakfast which was buffet style, with added freshly cooked for you bacon and scrambled egg should you choose..... Perfect eggs!

We enjoyed the spa and pool area to ourselves during the afternoon, which felt quite lavish. The evening menu looked good but we didn't try it this time. Both Fri and Sat evenings were busy with other none residents in the dining area - which must be a good signal. Next time we will include a Sunday eve and definitely try the Cafe Grand menu. The reception staff were very pleasant, helpful and organised.

St Annes was spotlessly clean and lots to do within a small area, as well as a great walk into Lytham.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Janet S

I’m delighted that you enjoyed a fabulous birthday weekend with your family here on the Fylde coast!
Its good to hear that you enjoyed your studio room, now called “Deluxe” in our new grading system, spa facility and breakfast.
I’ll pass your comment on to the reception girls, and boys! who will be delighted with your comments.

Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#9 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
860 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
479 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
The Queens Hotel - Lytham
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £80 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing