We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Georges Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“St Georges Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Another great stay. The "Afternoon Tea" and "Lunch" included within the price of the stay were both excellent, no scimping on "quantity or quality" as with other hotels offering themed breaks. We have stayed here many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The manager "Derek" leads from the front with his hands on the pulse, its a shame a lot more hotels don't take this approach.

Someone mentioned in a previous review about walking through a smoking haze at the front door, we had the same experience but its certainly not the hotels fault, they provide excellent smoking facilities, we watched a group of smokers walk from the covered "smokers area"
and stand at the front entrance blocking the door to finish off their fags, they then through the stubs away next to the front entrance door, just plain bad mannered and ignorant, don't blame the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Gordon S

I’m delighted to here you had an enjoyable “St Georges Weekend Break”.

You may want to have a look at the offers page on our website as we will be introducing various package throughout the year.
The next offer is “A Grand Experience” on the 6th & 7th June. Dine in cafe Grand and sample as many dishes as you like from our new summer menu is all included, fantastic!

Thank you for the review and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    898
    251
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
287
636
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Can't fault the hotel/room/spa but was disappointed at the lack of cooked items at breakfast (eggs & bacon available on request). Also surprised that there were no tea making facilities in the room (could order a tea tray for an additional £3.50), not everybody likes coffee!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hargreaves82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Hargreaves82

I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with the lack of cooked items on offer during breakfast, this is a surprise as many people comment on how they enjoy our breakfast selection.

Until recently we have only offered continental breakfast, we now included free bacon and freshly cooked fluffy scrambled eggs, the tastiest in the area!
However thats not to mention we will not change our variety, so please watch this space!

Thank you for your review and we hope to be able to look after you in the future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Grand. I emailed to request a sea view room and received a very speedy response to say my request had been noted and we were allocated room 116. This room was perfectly comfortable, with bath robes, slippers etc. It does only have a shower room though - no bath. The best bit is the view. The main window in the room is much smaller than the others we have enjoyed in the past, but it still gives a great view over the estuary and the gardens and it is lovely to wake up to. I agree with other reviewers about not being able to make a cup of tea. Not everyone enjoys, or is able to take coffee, so this can be a problem. The hotel was very busy, it being Easter and I have never seen so many children in the hotel. It is a bit of a sanctuary for us, so I would never bring my granchildren here, and it seemed odd to find children kicking a football around on the front lawn. There was also a lot of noise from guests or friends of guests leaving during the night. Again this is something we have not experienced before. The pool area was busy, but we still enjoyed our swim. My husband informed me that the sauna was not to temperature. It did not spoil our overall experience. I had prepaid for our stay and was told that I would be emailed my receipt. It has not arrived (a week later.) The move to be paper free is not always without its challenges. During our stay we saw casual customers who had just called for a drink on the patio being turned away. It really does seem such a shame. We have called for a glass of wine ourselves in the past and really enjoyed the experience. It does seem a shame to disappoint people. All in all, we do like our stays at the Grand and will be back - probably not during the school holidays though!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Planeteer

I’m delighted you had “Another enjoyable visit”.

A note to future guests room 116 & 216 are the only sea view rooms to have just a shower and no bath, for this reason they have been placed in the Superior category and not in the Sea View category, robes and slippers are standard in all our bedrooms.

Yes are busier than usual, especially over the recent Easter weekend.
This is mainly due to Grand Twentytwo and its 22 bedrooms which have added to our capacity, hence the reason we can no longer serve casual non-residential drinkers on our terrace during busy times.
What would our guest reviews be like if they could not get a table in the glorious weather if we were serving drinks to non residents!

Thank you for your stay and hope to see you later in the year.

kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I've visited this hotel many times in the last 5 years, always very clean, always very professional, i have always left feeling refreshed and satisfied. All the staff were very happy and helpful.
Most beautiful hotel in Lytam, ideal location for all amenities.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mercedesman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Mercedesman1

Thank you for the excellent review.

As I’m sure you must have noticed over the many years you have stayed with us we are consistently developing in an effort to improve our service and facilities and we really appreciated when we get the positive feedback to acknowledge it, thank you.
So here’s to another five years of progress and looking after you!

Regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We loved the boutique style of the hotel ...which others nearby just don't have that edge !! The receptionist Hannah was friendly, professional and genuinely welcoming . Our room had an amazing view and a stunning apex style window ...the bathroom was spotlessly clean ..the Molton Brown products added to our experience. ..try the cinnamon mint mouthwash ..mmm.....Our breakfast was perfect and I loved the bircher muesli...fresh bacon and eggs were perfectly cooked....My only advice would be to please put a few details in each room about room service ....
We enjoyed the massive pool and powerful jacuzzi ....definitely luxurious ....all I can say is come to The Grand you will love the treat ...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Anita O

Thank you for rating us the “Best hotel in St Annes”, it is much appreciated.

Regarding room information, when you log onto the free wireless network your device will go straight to a homepage with all the hotel information, if you don’t have a mobile device we will be happy to lend you an iPad during your visit.

Overall i’m delighted you enjoyed you stay and hope you return soon.

Kind regards


Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here at the end of March and as usual had an excellent stay! But as a regular visitor I feel, I must just highlight a couple of things that niggle! Firstly, why no Tea making facilities? Yes, I know about the VERY noisy Nespresso machine, but I think most folk would agree that the option of cup of tea woukld be nice and very much quieter than the coffee machine. Why only coffee?
Also why isn't the option of a "Full English" given at breakfast time? I know you've tried to meet us half way by now offering eggs and bacon, but what to do if you like neither? Sausages woukld be nice! Or beans, or mushrooms, etc, etc, etc. End of winge and thanks again for another great stay. Usaully I'd give you a five, but for these couple of gripes it's going to be a four!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: if your trying to be quiet, put a pillow over the coffee machine. It sounds like someone digging the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear lowfell

Thank you for your visit, I’m please you had an “Excellent stay”.



Regarding breakfast, as you mention we introduced scrambled eggs and bacon into our continental breakfast selection. 
Unlike most hotels we cook these eggs to order so they are light and fluffy, rather than the usual rubbery offering, beans is a definite no, we banned them from the hotel over ten years ago!

However we are talking about other styles of eggs and a new style coffee machine in room, so watch this space.

Thank you for your visit and hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Grand. I was not sure what type of room to book so I phoned the hotel and spoke to a lovely lady called Hannah she advised me to book a Grand Deluxe Suite. We were greeted at reception by a lovely lady. Hannah was at reception on our arrival she personally escorted us to our suit. The suit was absolutely beautiful. All the staff are very friendly and the service was exceptional. Breakfast was cooked fresh and the chef bought it to our table himself. Really looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Hannah for making our stay special. Amanda

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tollgatebusinessclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Amanda,


Thank you for taking time to post a review, it is much appreciated.

Well done to the chefs, we do encourage them to interact with our customers more and slowly they are venturing out from their ‘domain’ and really enjoying it, this feedback will really help to boast their confidence, thank you!

We’re all delighted you enjoyed your visit, especially Hannah who seems to have really impressed on this one, and look forward you hopefully returning in the future.

Kind regards
Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing