We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lytham St Anne's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After reading the review of 'mr pleasure 0116' I felt the need to offer an alternative opinion. We (my husband & I & our 16 yr old daughter) live locally and after having to move out of our house but our next one wasn't ready for a month we stayed at the Grand Hotel for 5 weeks. This is a high class hotel with excellent standards - as for not allowing non resident children into the pool - only a bonus. If I wanted a pool full of children I would go to a local public baths. The fridge in the room always had cold water in situ. Staff were always courteous and on the ball - yet discrete. Food was consistently excellent and as locals we return regularly to dine.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was well appointed & sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Erika F

Thank you for your review.
It was a delight to look after you during your stay and is always a pleasure looking after you and your family during your many visits to Cafe Grand.

See you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    261
    77
    28
    6
See reviews for
305
665
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked a one night stay in a standard room in the Grand 22, the aparthotel of the Grand over the Easter weekend. There was parking on arrival at the Grand 22 and even through it was mid-morning when we arrived at the reception desk they were able to check us in. the lady on reception was extremely informative telling us all about the hotel and its facilities. Someone offered to show us to our room but we said we would manage. On entering the Grand 22 the front area had a nice airy feel and was well decorated.

As requested on room was on one of the top floors and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. It was a big room with a double bed and a nice modern bathroom with a big shower. It was nice to see towels and slippers as standard and a nice touch was the fridge with water and the coffee machine. The other very thoughtful touch was the small bag of chocolate eggs left by the hotel as it was Easter weekend. My only small criticism of the room was personally I found it quite dark with not such natural daylight, just a very small window which over looked the flats next door. The room was decorated in quite dark colors so just felt a bit gloomy but was don’t to a high standard and was spotlessly clean.

The hotel is in a great position just across from the beach and a 5 minute walk to St Ann’s and probably a 40 minute walk to Lytham. We had a nice lunch in Jacks bar on Wood Street where there seems to be some nice restaurants. We really enjoyed their Tapas which they have on the menu at lunch. In the evening we had pre-booked a table at The Zen Restaurant which I would highly recommend, the food was lovely.

We used the swimming pool at the main hotel which again was spotless and clean and a nice area to relax. I like the fact there were plenty of towels and I thought the water and coffee machine were a nice touch. The only shame was the sauna didn’t seem to be working or if it was it wasn’t very warm!

Breakfast the next morning was again in the main hotel literally 30 second walk away. On arrival a lady directed us to a table which we sat at, when we sat down a waiter came across and quiet rudely told us we couldn’t sit there as it was for four people which surprised us both. He then moved us to a table next to it which was set for two and asked us what we wanted to drink. When my husband said coffee he barked well exactly what type. We were both quiet surprised by his rude and abrupt manner especially as everyone else we had spoken to at the hotel had been lovely, maybe he was having a bad day!
We enjoyed breakfast and its nice that at a weekend it runs until 11am so you are not rushing too much. I like the fact the eggs and bacon are cooked to order and I thought the scrambled eggs with some smoked salmon was plenty in a morning. The buffet had a really nice selection of meats and cheese as well as well as lovely yoghurts and fruit, there really was plenty and you wouldn’t go hungry.

Apart from a couple of small niggles we really liked the hotel in fact so much we have booked another weekend stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear SamM2509

I’m delighted that you were well looked after you during your visit.

Whenever possible we will always endeavour to assist with an early check in as we are aware guests like to “jump” into their break as soon as possible.

Rooms are allocated the day before arrival, however when booking online there is a special request box that you can type your room request or any special arrangements you that you may require. We not always be able to 100 % guarantee a certain room but we will always do our upmost to achieve it.

Housekeeping will be delighted that you have pointed out that everything was spotlessly clean, they all work very hard and will appreciate your comments.

I’m delighted that you be staying with us again and look forward to welcoming to back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a place the Grand 22 is certainly a fab place to stay, the location ideal, the spa was beautiful, there was a wedding on the day we stayed we had front row seats on the lawn watching the wedding photo's being taken whilst we had a glass of wine. Anyone staying here would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear bev_moran123

Thank you for your recent visit and taking time to post a review.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your time people watching on the terrace, I agree it is a fabulous place to be when the sun shines!

Please tell all your friends about the hotel and we all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We've just stayed at The Grand Hotel, Lytham St Annes, for a 3 night break and have had the most wonderful time. What a fabulous hotel!
We had considered a few of the seafront hotels in Lytham St Annes, most of which looked a bit tired and in need of an update. When we looked on Tripadvisor, The Grand Hotel was rated No.1 and all the reviews looked great and so we decided to give The Grand a try.
We booked a superior double with sea view and our room was absolutely beautiful, with a huge bed, fabulous bathroom and fabulous sea view.
The hotel is immaculately clean throughout and maintained to a superior standard. All of the hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. We had planned to perhaps eat in the hotel a couple of times and then maybe to eat out another night, but the hotel restaurant was so good, we just ate there every night. The atmosphere, service, menu and food were amazing.
We will be recommending The Grand to all our family and friends - stay at The Grand and you will not be disappointed.
By the way, the hotel has a large gym and a beautiful large swimming pool. We did not use these facilities ourselves but they looked very good indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley_seddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear lesley_seddon

Thank you for choosing us for your break, I’m delighted that you had a “wonderful time”

Its great that you chose us after looking at Tripadvisor, so I would like to say a big thank you to all our customers who made us the number one hotel in Lytham St Annes and enticed you to come and stay.

Its also fantastic that you decided to eat in Cafe Grand on each night of your visit, It shows that the cafe Grand team have ironed out some technical difficulties that a previous reviewer mentions which occurred on the summer menu launch.

Thank you for the review and we all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I am from Lytham St Annes but now live in the Northeast. We were visiting friends for a night out.
Cafe grand was my most favourite place to eat when I lived in Lytham.I wasn't disappointed in fact it was better.We had lunch in cafe grand and then me and my pal had a selection of small plates which were outstanding.Breakfast was lovely but could expand on scrambled egg & bacon eg sausage other eggs.
Cocktails are lush as well !

Staff on reception were really lovely and bar and other staff still great.

Overall excellent , miss you Grand :-( x

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackpool200067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear blackpool200067

It good to see you back in St Annes and back visiting us at The Grand.

Why to you arrange for a group of friends in the North East to come and stay for a weekend over the summer.
We’ll book a big table for you in Cafe Grand and you can make great use of the leisure facilities. Show them the area, have a walk on the prom and maybe even hire a beach hut for the day.

Go on get it booked and we’ll look after you!

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel 5th,6th and 7th June and booked an evening meal in the Grand Cafe on the 5th after the good reviews we had read.
First thing we noticed was how noisy it was. When the waitress arrived she 'stumbled' taking the order, getting her English wrong. For starters we ordered breaded chicken and shrimps with toast - the chicken was good, but they had forgot to toast 80% of the one slice of bread! We ordered a rump steak at £20 and a fillet at £26, both were overcooked and ruined - although there wasn't a lot of rump steak to ruin!
The waiters and waitresses were inattentive, and only showed interest when we complained. It was obvious that some of the waitresses did not understand English fully.
We had similar service issues at breakfast.
I would not describe the Grand Cafe as a restaurant, but as a cafe, with cafe standards, and you must complement The Grand on getting the name right if nothing else.

The rest of the Hotel was what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Jacksongs

I’m sorry to hear that your experience in Cafe Grand was not up to expectations.

My only defence is that we introduced our summer menu on the 4th of June which coincided with the installation of a new till system!
When change occurs inevitable mistakes happen and I do apologise.

Brian and Sam who lead the restaurant team have been made away of your review and are analysing the service procedure for any areas that may need attention.

However the chefs do disagree when they hear that they have overcooked steaks, they cook all the steaks to a strict temperature control procedure to ensure that they are perfectly cooked
to each guests requirements.

However I will discuss you complaint with them so they are aware and review their technique.

Again I do apologise for the less than expected experience and hope that you would consider us for future visits.
If you do decide to re book please inform me and I will ensure Brian and Sam give you their personal attention in the Restaurant.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had room 11 in Grand 22 which is their new hotel/annex, next door but one to the original hotel. You can use all the facilities just the same and the breakfast is in the main hotel too. They have started serving scrambled egg and bacon as well as the continental fare. Breakfast was very good with high quality produce. Our room was modern, clean and about the right size. The bathroom only had a shower and I would have much preferred a bath. Also no bidet. There were robes and slippers for our use. The two suite rooms at the front with the balcony/sea view look fantastic but cost £190 per night!! There is a lounge area downstairs with computers and free internet access, also with a lovely sea view. It could have done with an ice machine as we took our own drinks down to the lounge but had to trek up to the hotel for ice. We didnt use the pool etc as have been before, instead making the most of the beautiful weather we were lucky enough to be blessed with.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Bar1

Thank you for choosing to stay in Grand Twentytwo.

All rooms in Grand Twentytwo are equipped with robes and slippers.
The robes are located in the bathroom and slippers in the wardrobe, I do apologise if housekeeping failed to put a fresh set in for your arrival.

I have also taken on board your comments regarding an ice machine, we will be developing the lounge area in Grand Twentytwo and I see this as a good addition.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we all hope to see you again at either venue in the near future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
959 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing