We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lytham St Anne's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the fabulous Grand Hotel as part of its romance-themed package. We were immediately impressed by the warm welcome given by the lady attending Reception who then showed us to our room. The room itself was absolutely exquisite, prepared to a faultless standard. It was spacious, clean, and had tremendous views across the beautiful Promenade and the sea. The layout and colour scheme of the room created a strong impression of style and class, which would later turn out to be uniform throughout the hotel.

Exquisite touches in the room included a bottle of Champagne on ice, Cokes and water in the mini fridge, and strawberries with chocolate and other dips brought up soon after arrival. There was also a Nespresso machine which delivered the best-tasting coffee ever enjoyed in a hotel room.

Meals were absolutely superb, enjoyed in the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel restaurant. Staff were attentive and polite at all times. Breakfast was equally as impressive, offering a Continental breakfast as well as a generous and very tasty serving of scrambled eggs and bacon. Before departing we spent time in the spotlessly clean leisure area, which includes a large pool, sauna, Jacuzzi and gymnasium.

With St Annes being my hometown I've always wanted to stay at the historic Grand Hotel. My wife treating me to a trip there for my birthday has finally made this happen and we will definitely be back. Whilst adopting contemporary flair the hotel has also retained many original features, thereby proudly integrating its long and rich heritage. The hotel dates back to the end of the Victorian era, and it's so good to see that it hasn't lost its 'soul' in recent times. The traditional and the contemporary successfully co-exist at the magnificent Grand Hotel.

My birthday stay at the hotel was superb from start to finish, and has left me with an exquisite memory of my special day. We look forward to many return visits to this amazing gem on the beautiful Fylde coast.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TheTideWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear TheTideWatcher

I’m delighted that you had an “Outstanding” visit on your return to St Annes.

It’s nice to hear you enjoyed our romantic experience, this package is always available to book online, along with many other offers which feature in the offers section of our website.

Regarding Coffee, I’m pleased you enjoyed the Nespresso as have previous reviewers, has our switch from tea making facilities finally been overcome!

Happy birthday and thank you for the five star review.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

822 - 828 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Started well with very friendly and helpful reception staff, even showed us to our room which was spacious, enormous bed, nespresso coffee machine, good bathroom and even comfy chairs to enjoy the view over the front to sea. Great breakfast, everything fresh, well presented, again very friendly staff and although classed as continental, the chef willingly cooks fresh scrambled eggs and bacon. Spa and pool were spotless, drinks, towels & gowns available, good individual shower rooms.
Had some meals out, plenty of good restaurants nearby within walking distance. Had a really good meal in the hotel restaurant, limited choice but such good food, well presented, again very friendly staff. Bar is very modern with good atmosphere. Overall an excellent stay, good value for money, the hotel has obviously had a big investment to update it, but their excellent staff leave such a good impression. Definitely on the 'will return to' list.

Room Tip: Enquire through reception when booking, they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpd1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear bpd1968

Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding our staff.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit, we seemed to have excelled in every way, well done team!

It’s good to hear that you have put us on your “will return list” and hope that you visit again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Middle of a golfing trip and we wanted somewhere central.
This was a find. £100 for a twin room including breakfast. Plenty of parking and right on the sea road.
On arrival the staff were helpful and pointed us in the right direction for the local bars and an Indian meal.
Rooms were spacious and very well appointed even including a Nespresso machine that was very welcome first thing the next morning.
Went early to use the Spa and even there after a swim and steam you could help yourself to a Nespresso.
Now onto the breakfast. One of the best we have had anywhere in the world!
Fine choices of local produce and probably one of the best bacon sandwiches ever.
Please keep it up as this place deserves to do well and we will all be staying here again in the future.
Congratulations on proving that top notch service and accommodation doesn't have to cost a kings ransom!

Room Tip: Couldn't fault this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Richard S

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent visit.

I’m glad you appreciated the free parking here at The Grand we have plenty of spaces, enough spaces for each room, an understated extra, especially when it comes to the high summer season.

Were also delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast selection, we work hard on improving the selection we have on offer whilst emphasising on a more health approach.

Overall I’m delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again whilst playing golf on our great “Golf Coast"

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at a very special hotel. A Wonderful Welcome from reception staff. We had a snack in the grand cafe at lunch all staff again very friendly and professional. The food we tried, leek and potato soup and fish finger sandwich and two lattes what a delight. .Our room was spacious and very quiet just what we requested when we booked. We had two fabulous evening meals in the cafe grand which were excellent .The breakfast was continental lots of choice of fresh fruits and toast and pastries but not a problem because you can order bacon and eggs and all cooked fresh to order. We can not wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Shelia S

I’m delighted that you were well looked after during your recent visit in our “Very Gand and Special Hotel”, the team work hard on trying to deliver good service and will appreciate your comments,thank you.

Thank you for posting a five star review and we al hope you return and visit again soon.

kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ten people, seven adults and three children all loved our time at the Grand. We stayed for two nights to celebrate a special birthday. Our welcome at Reception and the friendly efficient service from everyone - restaurant staff, bar staff and housekeeping was exceptional. The rooms were delightful and all had seaviews as requested. Everyone was keen to make sure our stay was a happy one.
The children loved the pool and again were greeted warmly by the man on duty.
Breakfast was enjoyed by all, as we as a family particularly love the continental style with numerous choices of fruits, yogurts, croissants etc. We also ate one lunch and one dinner in the hotel. Great food but this was our only criticism - there was no children's menu and the food that appealed to youngsters was minimal. Consequently we ate our second lunch and dinner at other venues.
However I would not hesitate to recommend the Grand and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are excellent and the family room comprised two rooms and a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twopats064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear twopats064

Thank you for bringing your family to the hotel, I’m delighted you all had an enjoyable time and were well looked after by the team.

I pleased you found the breakfast selection and Cafe Grand good quality.
Regarding the children's meals, in future we can always do a half portion of a main meal or create something special if required.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

A note to future guests “Sea view rooms can be viewed and booked direct online”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed there for a weekend at Blackpool in June with 2 young children and some friends. We stayed in the Grand 22 anex. The rooms we good, could have have been a little cleaner but that's being picky, large and well equipped. The hotel itself was lovely as was the service and helpful staff. The only negative was breakfast, the hot service was very limited, just bacon and scrambled eggs, and a little chaotic going up to get some with no real queue system, I would expect a little more for a hotel of this calibre. Never the less would not hesitate to stay there against, highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Moc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Moc1970

Thank you for your review, I will ensure housekeeping are aware of your comments.

We do only provide a continental breakfast, the healthy modern approach!
However we have recently introduce the grilled bacon and scrambled eggs as an added value.

This addition has been well received, especially as the chef cooks everything fresh to order, however it can get busy at times, all you need to do is take a seat and we will bring it over to your table.

Thank you for recommending us and we all hope to see you and your family at the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at this lovely hotel on lots of occasions, the staff here are excellent they go
above and beyond for you, we ejoyed a very good lunch, the Restaurant team are lovely people
and nothing is any problem for them. Dinner in the evening was fantastic and we all enjoyed our stay very much, thanks to Jenny for all of her kindness and Ahmed for such great service as per normal, the young blonde man who cooked our breakfast was very polite and asked if eveything was ok, we look forward to our next stay. We highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: we like 111, 303, 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Gillian S

I’m please to hear you had yet another “lovely stay with friends”.


I would especially like to thank you for singling individual team member for praise, it certainly gives them a boost when they read the comments.

However yet again all the chefs are claiming to be blonde haired, does anybody know this elusive chef, I have my thoughts but does anybody know his name? A bottle of prosecco to anybody who finds out!

Thank you for your review and recommending us to others, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#6 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
452 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £80 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing