We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small touches make it a notch above the rest”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small touches make it a notch above the rest”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Grand for a business trip. The room was clean and well fitted, but just getting a little tired. The room had a fridge and had a selection of cold drinks and snacks included in the price. What impressed me the most was there was a nespresso machine. Gone is the nasty sachet coffee and having to boil a murky kettle. So each morning started with a nice proper coffee.

Breakfast was nice, if you wanted a full English with all the trimmings, good luck but there is a good selection.

Evening meal was very good, slightly on the expensive side but the steak was cooked perfectly. A small issue when coming to sort out the payment the waiter got some things wrong but was sorted out without fuss.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Adrian C

I’m delighted that you enjoyed the Nespresso machine, I just have to convert the traditional tea drinkers next. 
Thank you for the visit and we hope to see you at the hotel when you next travel on business.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    262
    80
    33
    6
See reviews for
314
670
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our one stay at the Grand was perfect. The receptionist was very pleasant and most helpful as were most of the staff. We will certainly use the hotel in the future and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear eric w

I’m delighted to hear you had a “perfect one night stay” and will return in the future.
I also appreciate your recommendation to family and friends, it’s our best form of advertisement, thank you!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My son and I had a Sunday lunch at The Grand hotel I don't know which course I enjoyed the most, the lunch was excellent the pudding Chocolate mouse was to die for. the only problem was our bill they had charged for three meals instead of two, I rang the Grand and they sorted the problem out. I definitely would go there again, the hotel is very classy with a great staff very relaxing, for a great enjoyable meal out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear sandy diner,

I’m glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch in Cafe Grand…. Chocolate pudding, yum, yum!
It’s also good to hear we rectified the mistake we made over your bill in an efficient manner.

Remember The Cafe Grand team will be ready and waiting and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager

P.S.

Don’t forget we also have a Cafe Grand TripAdvisor site that you can post your experiences of Cafe Grand on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We did not stay here but ate a light evening meal outside on the terrace. The food was exquisite both in taste and presentation and we shared the best Eton Mess I have ever had. I cannot fault the staff, food or location and will be back very soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MsPeppercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear MsPeppercorn,

Thank you for posting a review from your recent visit to Cafe Grand, I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and will return soon!

Don’t forget we also have a Cafe Grand TripAdvisor site that you can post your experiences of Cafe Grand on!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altrincham, cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be well run with all the staff extremely helpful and obliging. Our en suite room on the third floor was first class. Included in the room rate was a top notch breakfast and, again, all the waiting staff couldn't be faulted.
The location right on St Annes front is ideal and it is a perfect location for travelling a very short distance to Blackpool or Lytham. We have been many times over the years and have never been disappointed. I see that some guests have been complaining about the lack of availability of twin beds - we had a large double bed made up as a twin which we found absolutely fine. So discuss when booking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapyarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear soapyarnold,

Thank you for the review and especially your kind comments towards our staff.

I also appreciate your comments about the twin bed, maybe we have started winning over our guests!

Kind regards

Derrick Holland

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teeside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Short stay in Lytham St Anne's, first visit for some time. The hotel and area did not disappoint and lived up to all our expectations bar one. We could not fault the hotel in any way apart from the fact that there was no air conditioning n our room which for a superior room in a four star hotel we did expect. Even with the windows wide open the room was very hot and had some noise from music due to wedding celebrations taking place, resulting in a lack of sleep which took the edge off what was otherwise a very relaxing stay. We would stay again but only out of season or if air conditioning is installed.

Room Tip: Room 107 very nice but can have some noise from music if there's a wedding reception and you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear KTCOM

Thank you for taking tine to post your comments.

I can inform you that we have already had a survey carried out with the intention to install air conditioning throughout the main hotel during 2015.


Please keep an eye out on our website, follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook and you will be kept posted with all our regular news.

In the meantime if you would like to return to the area sooner our annexe building, Grand Twentytwo, does have air conditioning in all bedrooms.

Kind regards

Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for several years now and a recent change in the policy for twinned beds has made me edit my review, I want to bring this to the attention of the many trip advisor users who require twin beds.

Some rooms that used to allow for twin beds (meaning two separate beds) no longer allow for this configuration. These rooms have been renamed "Grand Standard Double" and "Grand Superior Double", the latter listing continental twins (one bed with two duvets). This is of great disappointment to me since I tend to travel with friends, so require two separate beds as part of my accommodation choice. This new policy would mean over a 50% increase in the cost of my stay simply because we are not travelling as a couple- so I will have to reconsider future visits. Such a shame as this was previously a favorite hotel of mine and I would expect I hotel of this calibre to accommodate people not wishing to book the more lavish rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqworld_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear freqworld_traveller

For the benefit of yourself and other guests I would like to explain our twinning policy.

All Standard Double Rooms (1.5m double bed) can’t be twinned.

Superior Double Rooms (2 metre double bed) can twinned in a continental style using to separate quilts.
These are super king sized beds that afford plenty of space to sleep separately.

Sea View and Deluxe Rooms within the main building are available to twin in the traditional style, separating the beds.

All rooms grades in Grand Twentytwo can’t be twinned.

The cost of a booking a sea view room starts at £125 per night including continental breakfast and VAT. The superior doubles rooms £95 per night.


Kind regards


Derrick Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
980 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing